August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

HowToBasic: The Game

by haloflooder - Jam Entry

*Moved notes to bottom of the description page!

*NOTICE*
Before you ask why the game doesn't make any sense. Please look at HowToBasic's youtube videos. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Mm_5Z__TjQ

After that, you will understand this game completely. This game was inspired by him.



HowToBasic: The Game!

Before you say "You're wasting pixels! Think of the starving children in Africa". You should try it.

I am remaking this game completely with better graphics, "story", and level designs!

*Will make post-jam version with all items unlockable*

I was originally going to do Compo but I ran out of time and I wasn't even close to being done when the 48 hour mark was arriving.

!!!FUN FACT!!!:
All the voices and sfx were done by voice!
How to do sfx: http://www.tinyurl.com/n25r564

Journals I made during this time:
http://www.tinyurl.com/lo4uy6z
http://www.tinyurl.com/katqgr8
http://www.tinyurl.com/n25r564
http://www.tinyurl.com/m3khrrk

Bonus:
http://www.imgur.com/VzuOtCb

*edit: Fixed reported bugs!

**Note: Sorry but only the egg is available due the lack of time and my schedule :(

***Hello Imgurians! OP has delivered!
http://www.imgur.com/gallery/gTs5W/new

****Easily ported to HTML5 (tested on Chrome/Firefox. Opera/Safari/IE users, please tell me any bugs you find)

*****The HTML5 version works on SOME tablets/phones. but I'm still going to try to port to android for the derps.

******Android version released! Only tested on my Samsung Galaxy Note 1

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#25Humor(Jam)3.91
#146Fun(Jam)3.29
#167Innovation(Jam)3.27
#280Theme(Jam)3.10
#313Graphics(Jam)3.18
#322Audio(Jam)2.74
#325Overall(Jam)3.04
#342Mood(Jam)2.77

Comments

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Haha this is great. It's certainly an interesting idea and I like the graphics.

Anoarith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Best game ever x).

Actually I'm stuck at lvl 6, is there a bug?

Also : when you try to select another item and then click somewhere on the screen, the game crash.

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Haha i love the voice. Love the YT channel too. Very funny game :). Lots of fatal crashes when clicking the buttons at the bottom though :(

haloflooder says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53pm

@KevinAlbs:
Thanks!

@Anoarith:
No, there isn't a bug in lvl 6. I just need to put a hint in there.
I just accidentally left something in that is basically a Pseudocode.

@joekinglake:
Thanks! I love the YT channel too. Yeah, I accidentally left something that is basically a Pseudocode in the game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:21am

When I saw the title I just had to play this.
How do I get the unlocks though?

haloflooder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:23am

@theholychicken:
If you read the notes at the top, you'll see. Basically, I didn't have the time :(

LPGhatguy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:44am

That was beautiful.

LikeTheMammal says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45am

Awesome. Love the reference. Fuckin' Eggs lol.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:52am

Hahaha, very creative game. Had fun with it, couldn't get past the 8th level (if that's even possible. I lost, so I won?)

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Okay, that was just some stupid fun. I'd love to see move of this.

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:29am

@Diogo Muller:
It's possible. Hint: Push the buttons in the right order

@dalbinblue:
Yeah, that's the point. Stupid fun. And what do you mean by move? A better fully grown version?

kivifreak says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:13am

It's smart to port it to Android, because Touch controls would fit it.

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:33am

@kivifreak:
Yeah, I know. I was planning on it (working on it as we speak)

Toshiro says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:03am

Seriously, is everything going well in your head ? That's juste WTF, I loved that ! :')

Lo-X says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:37am

Awesome =) I like that kind of WTF :)

Mago says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:51pm

OMG what a game. Crazy fun, I love it!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Really funny

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Ahah that's the spirit, smashing eggs everywhere.
I love the low res voice, really coherent with the graphics and the animation. And the intro is great.

zatyka says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:00pm

That was ridiculous, but I enjoyed it quite a bit. I'm looking forward to the redone version you mentioned.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Some levels were quite confusing. Still don't know why i won those :P

Misfit says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:59pm

This is hilarious. Best audio ever!

darkshadow says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:12pm

No idea how I won the move level, clicking the buttons or pressing arrow keys did nothing the first time! The rest of the game makes hardly any more sense, but the paradox level was funny!

haloflooder says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:36pm

@darkshadow:
If you look at howtobasic's youtube videos. You will find out why the game doesn't make any sense.

Toadpud says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Haha. Love it.

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:30am

I love it! It's so stupid like the videos. haaha So funny!

dekart says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Cool game

ratalaika says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:50pm

! Great job :).

DuduSAr says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:47pm

Haha XD

Almax27 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Love the reference, there's nowt you can't do with egg smashing.

The ending was cool too. Would love to see this extended to your full vision of it. :)

Antidote says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:01pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XA8jumdackQ - These are my first impressions on the game ^^

manuq says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:56am

Smashing controls :) Fun.

I think the intro will look better without many fade-in fade-out.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]