August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The theft of the magic potato

by Dining Philosopher - Jam Entry

In this single-serving slow-paced tactical game of thievery, you program 3 robots in order to steal a magic potato.
The robots only have power for 10 seconds, so plan accordingly.

HOW TO PLAY: Every robot has an (internal) action queue. Left-click a robot to select it.
Right-click on the ground if you have a robot selected to add a move command to this spot. Right-click on objects to add an action (pick actions in the bottom right panel). Click on a robot and select 'clear actions' to clear its action queue.

Press the big green GO! button to start the operation.

Good luck! Maybe we made it a little bit too hard. ;)

NOTE: Apparently, sometimes the 'clear actions' button doesn't seem to work, we're working on it. Refresh the page and try again...
[Oh, and it doesn't work properly in Internet Explorer, yet...]

----------------------------------------------------
Code by Jelle (Javascript, HTML5 + Crafty)
Graphics, Music and Sounds by Anneroos (Inkscape, LMMS and microphone + Audacity)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#192Humor(Jam)2.81
#218Theme(Jam)3.26
#226Audio(Jam)3.00
#267Innovation(Jam)3.03
#276Graphics(Jam)3.31
#425Mood(Jam)2.52
#489Fun(Jam)2.39
#506Overall(Jam)2.61

Comments

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Those graphics are adorable!

KeithE. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Cool idea, I wish the interactable zones were highlighted in some way. Cute Music and art. Good Job!

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I couldn't figure out how to play, but thumbs up for graphics and music.

Liz England says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:47pm

This is a pretty cool idea, and adorable art. I couldn't tell if there was an action queue (guess not) and couldn't complete it, but I like the concept!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Sweet graphics and music! I also like the idea with the programmable robots.

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:56pm

It's like a real-time version of Gobliins. It's a bit hard to figure out how to plan everything, but I almost solved the puzzle I think...

I managed to piss off the bull, now to get the potato.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:44pm

never got the hammer bot to smash, cause he kept getting hooked on the collision. Enjoyed the game though. original idea and cute artwork

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:55pm

@Pinktreeleaf, because time ran out, there is little on which smashing has any effect. The collisions should consistently work fine, except visually.

@Liz England: there is indeed an action queue, but you cannot inspect it - only clear and append to it. I've updated the description to hopefully make things a little more clear.

Sebby says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:54am

Nice! Clever idea for a puzzle I think. Found it tough to figure out how to work the robots though, never managed to get the potato :(

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:56am

nice job. difficult though - I guess I had to get the red dress to enrage the bull, but the farmer kept stopping me.

Amber says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:57am

The robots are adorable! It's a fun idea, but sometimes the robots don't seem to do what I expect- for example, I kept trying to give the hammer robot an order to smash the shed, but he just ran all the way to the fence at the right and stood there instead. I also occasionally had some issues with the action queue not clearing properly. I could definitely see this being polished into a fun little game though!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:45am

@Amber: apparently there is sometimes a problem with 'clear actions', we're working on it. Refreshing the page should work.

@Dry Tree: I guess we made the puzzle a bit too hard. Maybe you can find a way to stop the farmer from chasing you? Find out what each robot can do on which things. Some actions do not have any effect (these options are just there to make the puzzle harder). Find the actions that do have an effect and combine them in the right order. ;)

Jod says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Loved the personality of the little bots, but had a lot of problems getting them to go where I wanted them to. Fits the theme quite well!

Tater_hater says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:44am

Gotta love potatoes!!!

Vaalen says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Your idea is really original. It's a bit difficult to see with which object robots can interact but the game is interesting.

Diptoman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Interesting idea.

dekart says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:34pm

I like the art and the music. Didn't figure out how to control these bots though

foumart says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Cool story, but could not take the potato :(gota try harder)

Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:53pm

The music is charming! So are the graphics! The puzzle is quite good -- once I'd figured out how to do it, it still took some time to get all the timing right, but without being overly difficult.

There are some small bugs -- I once collected water from the flowers, it seems. It would also be nice if you could see the actions queue somehow: as a list, or even as a series of lines and icons in the field.

Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:54pm

@Frozen Fractal: Thanks for playing! :) We know that there are some bugs... resfreshing the page is at the moment the best solution. ;) We were thinking about showing the action queue with lines and circles, but we didn't have time to implement it. Maybe we will make a post-compo version that fixes these things, one day... :)

loxo says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Great puzzle game with nice graphics and audio! It's fun to try out the different possibilities. Only the missing visualization of the command queue makes it harder than necessary. Overall a good game, I enjoyed playing and I hope you find some time to make a polished post-jam version!

Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Haha nice little game, nice graphics, cute music :)

porglezomp says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:28pm

The robots not being able to find their way around is a bit annoying, this'd probably more fun with smarter pathfinding and a visible action queue.

Sep 14, 2013 @ 11:58pm

hahaha very funny and interesting gameplay theme I like it!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]