August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

In The Ocean Blue

by Tyu - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In The Ocean Blue is a game based on decompression, when divers have to wait a certain amount of time at a certain depth before they can swim up again, in order for their body to get used to the pressure difference. If they don't do it, their lungs may explode because of too much pressure.

Space to wait (and start decompression) + left and right if you wanna move.

_________________________________


First solo LD... done!

For a first time using Game Maker in a jam, I'm kinda satisfied with the result and how I learned a lot of things. But still, the game isn't fully completed, it misses an intro sequence, a game over and a victory screen, and it isn't polished at all. Soooo it may include some bugs, the big pile of tentacles may catch you before you get on the surface, there's no sound at all and other stuff like that, sorry about that.

Next LD entry will be better!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#148Graphics3.69
#341Mood3.03
#796Innovation2.66
#837Humor1.77
#847Theme2.83
#976Audio1.25
#1003Overall2.55
#1178Fun1.66

Comments

ashdnazg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31am

Very nice graphics,
But the gameplay mechanic felt a bit too slow for me.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:40am

I love the graphics, but there's no feedback to know if I was playing correctly. Do I just hold space for 10 seconds when the edges of screen flash red?

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:13pm

As someone else said it seems like there's little to no player feedback to know if I'm doing things right. Still though, nice first entry! I liked the graphics :)

small trouble says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Graphics are very good, but the character controlled very slowly and it didn't explain the mechanics properly.

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

I didn't get what I was supposed to do. The mood was quite good.. the game definitely would do better with some proper audio, though.

Tyu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:23pm

> ashdnazg
Yeah, I wanted to create a lot of stuff happening in the background so people wouldn't get bored and would pay more attention to the environment, contemplating and all, but I didn't had time to fill the level with lots of elements. I'll speed the game a bit in a post-compo build.

>TakeNapEveryday
Urgh I thought I had fixed this. There's a bug I apparently still can't get rid of. Normally when you don't play correctly your diver is supposed to die a short time after the red flash stops. But here it works only the first time... Thanks for making me notice this, I'll try to fix it!

m110 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:14pm

The gameplay seems a bit too slow, although I loved the background graphics (is this R'lyeh? :D). Adding some kind of timer for that 10 seconds might be good idea. Also, bubbles! :)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Nice graphics and animations!

Riley Hume says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Like everybody else said. The graphics are lovely, but your person swims very slowly, and I wasn't really sure what to do...

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Fun, Hard to tell when you were "In Danger" - Found screen flashing red but pressing space didn't stop it and I died. Mechanics not explained too well :) Not bad though, nice use of effects for Game Maker :)

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Very interesting idea. :)

tigers says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Interesting game, but I didn't have any sound on my machine? I imagine with some ocean sound, claustrophobic breathing I would've been completely immersed. /pun

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Very good presentation. Moody. Pity that there is no audio.
The game should better explain if the player is doing right or wrong at the moment.

Tyu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:51am

Thanks for all your comments!

Concerning feedbacks and instructions, I tried to make them as subtle as possible to fit the mood, but seems like it didn't do very well... I'll keep that in mind for the post compo version!

> tigers
Yeah, I didn't have enough time to make sound, but that's totally how I would have done it! In the next version there'll be sound for sure!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:58am

Was very confused... But nice art!

Oxygamer says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:39am

I like yor concept. But tha game process is slow, want to move faster.

gritfish says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Interesting idea... was there some cthulu stuff in the background, or was I reading that wrong?

namrog84 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:17am

What 'small trouble' said
audio? bubbly bubbly

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:23am

A very nice entry for your 1st solo LD. I think I got the idea you wanted to put in your game, even if it lacks, well, everything you said. The graphics are quite nice too, so keep going and come back for the next LD !! :D

Sascha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Nice mood and graphics. Gameplay is a bit lacking, but some UI elements like a timer would have been great.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]