August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Demon Soldier: menace from the outer space

by comrad_gremlin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a demon soldier who is boarding the alien ship. Sadly, you have only 10 seconds left to live.
Do your best with the given time, destroy the ship or perish.

Use drain ability to extend your stay on board and try to bring it down.

Controls are displayed on the screen, just press the corresponding button to perform the action.
Every action (except upgrading) takes 1 second.

Walking straight gives you more chances of random encounters.
Walking left gives you more chances to enter storage/recovery room.

Every action (room action or ability) requires 1 second to perform.

All abilities, except for attack, cost 1 energy.


Intro recorded with the help of audacity:
http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html

Sounds generated with sfxr:
http://www.drpetter.se/project_sfxr.html

The font taken from:
http://www.fontsquirrel.com/fonts/Ubuntu-Title

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#411Humor2.52
#774Audio2.10
#787Innovation2.67
#915Fun2.47
#968Mood2.11
#987Overall2.57
#1003Theme2.57
#1107Graphics1.87

Comments

Anheurystics says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:06am

A nice, fun little concept, and cute graphics XD
But maybe there should be a more comprehensive way of knowing how the player died, since sometimes the RIP screen just comes up without me knowing exactly why. Just my opinion.

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15am

Interesting concept

Jhelle says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Interesting concept. Would love to see this expanded into a full game. Good job :)

Schulles says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:19pm

The graphics didn't convince me too much and all in all I give this 2 stars.

optimality says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Love the voice acting.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Cool! I thought this was a fun one. I treid it a couple of times but I was never able to make it the whole way to the end. Good job!

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Nice concept ! But graphics needs to be better :/

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Fast thinking required ;) I love your paint style!

blay09 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Interesting, the upgrades are what makes it fun. Didn't really understand what drain actually did - it seems to increase the time, kill the enemy and sometimes unlock another option?

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:20pm

Nice concept and pretty well balanced for the mechanics it has. A larger and more polished version would have to cut back on the rng a bit.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:10am

i love the intro hahaa so fun. nice concept and funny game. i missed some music, but sounds are cool. Good job

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:06pm

For some reason this game reminded me of tamagotchi. Nice concept!

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:48am

Amazing voiceacting :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Hey guys!

Thanks for the comments.
@blay09 - drain gives you time by draining the alien souls, but it takes energy to use it :) it also damages an enemy for 1 hp.

Room options are unlocked after the alien has been defeated.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]