August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The 10 SEC War

by sockfolder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TLDR: This is an RTS where you only can 'see' and control every 10 secs.

Hotkeys: M to move. K to attack (kill). P to patrol. H to halt. Click or press 1-4 to use the actions on the bottom.
(Press Z to cheat and have full vision.)

Goal: Take over all the blue planets.

Attack planets to control them.
Upgrade planets for more building spots.

At any construction location, you can build either a mine (Extractor), a military installation (Starport), or a research facility (Spire).
Extractor: Gain ORE and make/improve Scouts (laser ships).
Starport: Make/improve Battlecruisers (missile ships).
Spire: Gain SCIENCE points and make/improve Overlords (bomb ships).

STORY:
(Totally ran out of time on putting this in the game)

After endless research, humankind has just discovered Subspace Envelope Communication (SEC), finally obtaining FTL communication. Colonization and wealth reached new heights, but with great profits come great conflicts.
Eventually tensions boiled over, resulting in what became known as the "10 SEC War".

The SEC technology uses subspace currents to transmit communication at FTL speeds. However, these currents are only periodic, allowing communication only briefly every 10 seconds. Normally, this is unimportant, but in war, every second matters.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#295Innovation3.34
#416Graphics3.12
#435Overall3.17
#479Mood2.82
#497Theme3.24
#717Fun2.73
#802Audio2.03
#833Humor1.78

Comments

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:00am

Awesome graphics and controls - would love to see this polished with some tutorial.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:35am

Cool game!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37am

While I think the idea is cool the whole stop start thing made it a little bit hard to play : (. I like it though man!

fferro234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:58am

A tutorial would help the game, but the mechanics are solid once you understand what is going on. Really cool game.

sockfolder says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:23am

If the start and stop gets annoying, you can play it on 'cheat' mode by pressing Z. This will let you see and control all units in real time like normal RTS's. The income will still be every 10 seconds.

yetatore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:27am

Its uncommon to see an RTS in a Ludum Dare. The game is fine, but a bit difficult, maybe because I dont play RTS games usually. I detach the controls, are very well done.
Good work, and have fun!

oajfh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:56am

Very impressive to have pulled off an RTS in the compo, and the AI is decent too. Nice graphics and pretty fun game, although not exactly easy.

Canobie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Wow, awesome!

Thermite says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:40am

Nicely implemented, although a little awkward to play with the stop/start. Good work overall!

Moof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:49am

Very nice, I enjoyed this a bunch!

tigerj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:22am

I like the cheat mode. I really would like to see this developed more after the comp. It's a real solid concept.

nathanhoffer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:40am

Neat idea! Woah is it hard to get started, but I did enjoy it.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:54am

Original content, but so freaking hard :(. Requires a lot of thinking. Enjoyed it a lot. (5/5 on theme and innovation)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:31am

Nice take on the 10 second theme, very interesting

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Interesting game, very hard, but I like it. I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation, if you'd like to check it out :), http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7GZNeIKxvyg

davidwparker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:01pm

I really liked the concept, but it was really hard/fast. I think the countdown bar should have been bigger, and selecting the individual buildings was pretty hard. I got owned by the AI pretty bad.

Well done overall.

alts says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:32am

I am terrible at RTS games, and got wrecked by the AI. I'm sure bad players like me would have appreciate either an introduction to the mechanics, or a more gentle difficulty curve. There does appear to be quite a bit, mechanically, going on in this game, and I'm really impressed. The sprites are all also really nice.

grayhaze says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:49pm

I like the idea, but in practise it proves to be confusing and makes the game feel broken. Removing the ten second mechanic and polishing this outside of the contest would make for an interesting little RTS though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]