August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Shoot10

by vani77a - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a single-button control vertical shooter, where you need to wait for 10 seconds to charge your laser, which last for 10 seconds.
Please read the, ummm, README-Shoot10.pdf
Source is included in the game folder (game.py)
As the file links to my Google Drive, on the page, click FILE->DOWNLOAD

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#700Theme3.00
#814Mood2.40
#906Innovation2.47
#1014Graphics2.11
#1085Fun2.11
#1111Overall2.32
#1563Coolness32%

Comments

cwkx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:27am

Congrats on completing, a good base.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08pm

nice game!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:13pm

It doesn't launch for me. When I launch it, it says that MSVCR71.dll could not be found.

triforcespark says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:31am

Nice game concept, but I'd want a smaller, less erratic hitbox, and some boss health status. And longer gameplay.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:15am

Nice entry! :) One thing though, I would link to the exe file instead of your whole googledocs folder :)

vani77a says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:49am

^ the other files are needed for the game to run :)
thank you all for the encouraging comments :)

mikegbrown says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:12am

@ZeppelinCaptain Same.

"It doesn't launch for me. When I launch it, it says that MSVCR71.dll could not be found."

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Interesting take on the space-shooter concept, I wish you had just had more time to develop the idea further and refine the idea, but definitely a great start.

ryebread761 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:03am

No menu? :/

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:28am

I think if you had finished the interface this would have been a much better game; as it stands, it's just too confusing. It's not bad, but it does feel a bit unfinished.

mklee says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:41am

I'm having the same error as ZeppelinCaptain running the game, I've downloaded the zip and everything. Are there additional files I need?

foumart says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:26am

Nice presentation of a boss fight. It has good atmosphere and mood. The control may be too minimal for a complete space shooter, but here it is ok.

Tanser says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:49am

Really nice, a bit blurry graphics though but great for compo!

Sink says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:21pm

Cool! Would have liked to see it a bit more elaborated. But a cool mechanic nonetheless.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]