August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Kougeki

by Valerien - Jam Entry

The controls are mouse-based !

The game plays in 2 phases :
1- Planning
Before a wave, you can set traps and give orders to your units.
2- Battles
Once a battle begins, you only have a single skill available to help your troops, otherwise your success boils down to your planning.


- NOTE -

The links provided will give access to the right builds of the game only right before the end of the jam - my collegue is currently working on the game's balance.

- About the design -

Our take here was to create a big contrast between long planning phases and very short, action-packed battles (10 seconds long).
The gameplay still lacks depth to my taste, but the two of us couldn't go much further in 3 days.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Audio(Jam)3.57
#84Graphics(Jam)4.10
#181Mood(Jam)3.21
#201Overall(Jam)3.31
#300Fun(Jam)2.92
#334Humor(Jam)2.27
#344Theme(Jam)2.96
#414Innovation(Jam)2.66
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

blackotus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:40am

I don't remember seeing a lot of Tower Defense games on LD, so it's nice to see this here!
The graphics are nice and colorful, and it plays well, too!
Moving the soldiers was a little clumsy at first, but it didn't take me long to get used to it.
Nice work!

Valerien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:47am

The game is still a bit rough around the edges, but we unfortunately didn't have the time to go much further !

Satyre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42am

Nice gameplay, I like the music and the graphics and how the whole asian style was used in this special TD.

bitserum says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:34am

Its really well polished for few days of work, not much to progress in game but very good job anyway.

FanFan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35am

Loving the color tones you used, although the game is kinda buggy (i lose one of my soldiers by accidentally clicking outside of the screen... Then i supitdly selects another soldier).

The "Hai!" still ring in my ears.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35am

The graphics are absolutely awesome. I think it doesn't have to be fullscreen though (at least the webversion is stretched to fill the window) because it just blurs the images without addint too much immersion (but thats obviously a matter of taste). The gameplay was ... aehm... towerdefense :)

kannas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:36am

nice game! i would have liked a bit more variety on units , but 3 days are 3 days :P awesome art and selection of music and sounds :)

Nerlin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:36am

Beatiful game! I like it.

Larzan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:38am

Great grafix, nice idea to put the tower defense into a japanese setting.

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:47am

Fantastic little game man. It is a little shallow as you mentioned but it's still great. I think you guys did well on your graphic style and the mechanic is simple and intuitive, it's easy to place things and change unit modes. Good going!
Also the audio for me was top notch!

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Nice graphics and audio.

Kimidori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30pm

great game! 5 stars! :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Well done ! I like this tower defence game, can't believe you made it so quickly! You rock! \m/

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Nice game! The art and the music really shine on this one.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Nice game. Defense mechanics are well designed and the art design is fantastic. I enjoyed it very much.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Cool sound and Graphics. I haven't really understood how the planning phase affects the battle phase.
Healing or upgrading my defenders would be nice.

killmonday says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Loved it! Highfive for TD and sound effects!!

sgehlich says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:02am

Great to see a Tower Defense game on here - I loved the graphics and the sound, but I would have loved to place more units :)

nicotuason says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Great defense game with fantastic art! This could be a really fun game with some bugfixes and more units/levels.

Valerien says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:50pm

@everyone thanks

We'd like to push it further some day, add content and mostly extend a lot the range of possibilities for the player, but at the moment we have 2 games in the making.

Kind regards,
Nathan

flavio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Waow, very nice graphics and sound design !
Upgrades and new stuff would have been a great feature !
Nice work !

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:06am

Amazing artwork, bravo you two!@!

Tegu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

The drawings and the soundscape are so beautiful. The game started a bit abruptly and I almost missed the first turn but fortunately decided to click around before hitting "Play" for the first time. It could be a bit more clear. Also it doesn't have any kind of instructions, but on the other hand it was fun to find out what it is possible (just click everything to try what it does). A restart option after game over would be nice since now the game has to be reopened.
I had placed the guys to each path and it was nice to see that they moved to help the other guys if they had finished their enemies. Also it felt a bit weird that the enemies retreated from the town even though all my soldiers were killed, but then I realized that it was due to the 10 seconds timer. In the next turn I just placed the traps but obviously they didn't help much.
It's amazing how cool games people can do in 72 hours. :)

canvapps says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 2:08pm

nice game! The graphical artist made a great job :)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:22am

Solid TD! love the artstyle.

The Evil Cult says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Nice game, really like the concept. I found that the gameplay itself was a bit limited and that my planning phases mostly just consist of me resetting my barrel trap for the most part. Would be nice to see a bit more feedback on what is incoming whilst you are in planning, and a few more options for how to arrange what you can bring to defend (rather than just bringing everything). Still, this was fun and the graphics/sounds were quite nice too! Would really like to see how this came out with a bit more time. Not a bad effort! :)

Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:53am

very interesting mechanics and good play on concept. good game!

bitowl says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:42am

Wow. that art-style is fantastic :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]