August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Subject 18120

by deammer - Jam Entry

Subject 18120 escaped the secret research lab, and it's hungry for blood, cheese and 'roids!

Basic mechanics:
- kill scientists for points
- pickup drugs to avoid losing health
- eat cheese to heal up

Made in AS3/FlashPunk.

Amy Saunders: animation and design
Brian Thompson: tiles and design
Anthony Coffey: animation, weapons and design
Maxime Preaux: programming and game design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#10Fun(Jam)3.96
#69Overall(Jam)3.70
#73Humor(Jam)3.43
#106Graphics(Jam)3.98
#233Mood(Jam)3.08
#373Theme(Jam)2.91
#375Innovation(Jam)2.77
#386Audio(Jam)2.51

Comments

Roffe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:32am

Ooh reminds me of Jazz Jackrabbit and Liero :)
Awesome game !

thephantom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:45am

great game
really liked the graphics and all this different weapons :D

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:45am

Really love the visual style. The controls felt great and responsive (especially jumping, which I appreciate!)

syawqy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:49am

I like graphic and variety of weapon, but I feel like the movement is a bit off

Big Dave says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:53am

Very fun. Didn't see a connection to the theme but maybe I just over looked it.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:08am

Haha awesome! The animations of the scientists are super funny. And destructible terrain! I kept playing for a while just to see all the weapons.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:12am

I like the wide variety of weapons.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:13am

Well done! The player control is excellent and the variety of weapons is impressive!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:14am

Ha, thisis great! Gameplay is nice, and the chractersare fun. Ilovehowit says "KILL" to start.

Having "shot" be on Enterthough is madness. I have to stop moving to actually be able to start contemplating hitting something

Szedouu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48am

wohoo awesome platformer game, I love it , nice job man! KILL!

rogueNoodle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:55am

Wow - really impressive! The animations and weapon variety are pretty incredible.

Falcon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:33pm

I loved the arcade-feel to it. Very fun.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Great graphics and really well made - particularly like the destructible scenery and the new bits coming down too

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Good idea, love the graphics

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:04pm

This is a blast! Love the gameplay, really tight. Graphics also :D bookmarked to play more

blackotus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:28pm

Very nice graphics, also enjoyed the weapon variety

rylgh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Nice! Fun super crate box-inspired mechanics. Nice art, loved the little taunting dance the enemies did when you died. Also agree that the KILL button was a nice touch, instead of START. Liked the destructible platforms too!
suggestions:
- less abrasive jump sound effect, maybe randomize it a bit too
- platforming physics could be improved a bit

deammer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:14am

Thanks rylgh! Those suggestions are definitely on the to-do list for the post-jam version :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Graphics are awesome, the game is pretty damn fun too.
Some music would have been nice though!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:16pm

So much fun play this, hehe. Rat destruction!

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:50pm

It's a pretty fun arena shooter. I can smell a Super Crate Box influence.

Suffers from a lack of music though, and the sound effects are too much like bfxr factory presets.

Chinchilla says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Lots of fun, love some of the death animations!

loxo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Very nice game, I like the awesome graphics and sound effects!

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:32pm

The humans in this game spontaneously dance every so often ... and it is pretty hilarious. It felt like the little mouse jumps up a bit too quickly as I was having a hard time hitting anything that was less than 3 or 4 tiles above me. I liked playing with all the different weapon types.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Any game with flamethrowers is a good game

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Very nicely done entry! Especially like the fact that certain weapons destroy the terrain, good twist!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Nice game! Sort of like super create box, though I was a bit shocked when I broke the ground under me!! I featured it in my compilation video of Ludum dare 27 games, if you'd like to check it out http://youtu.be/PSym67k7zBg

orunbot says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Love it. Gives me that "Super Create Box" feel. Great game

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:01am

The first comment mentions Jazz Jackrabbit, that's exactly what it brings me back to. Friggin love it.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Very, very, very nice feel to it. Really smooth.

For fellow testers: BEST PLAYED WITH A CONTROLLER. It was awkward to use Enter to fire on the keyboard, but on a controller - pure joy. Got 38K score :) doesn't seem like the difficulty goes up eventually.

Advice: 1) get a friend / pay someone to make a soundtrack (it was really lonely without music, I put the Jazz Jackrabbit 2 soundtrack) 2) break free from the 10 seconds theme 3) submit on Steam Greenlight 4) PROFIT!!!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:55pm

what AMAZING graphics!
And it does remind me of Jazz Jackrabbit as well, plus other old-school platformers!

Top marks for this, thanks for making it!

doonay21 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 9:20am

Holly f**k! I really love this game. It jumps just to the first place of my best-ld48-jam-game-ever!

bitowl says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 8:51am

You blocked your dropbox link (probably dropbox changed it links?) so we can just play the postcompo version on kongregate?

deammer says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:25am

@bitowl thanks for the headsup, i fixed that link.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]