August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds

by kannas - Jam Entry

The rule is simple: you can shoot after 10 seconds.
A minimalistic experience, that will show if you are a player of honor or someone that cheats at the first occasion (or that isn't capable to count to 10). The only control is the SpaceBar.

Have fun :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#8Mood(Jam)4.22
#46Audio(Jam)3.70
#54Theme(Jam)3.69
#85Overall(Jam)3.58
#120Graphics(Jam)3.91
#239Innovation(Jam)3.09
#297Fun(Jam)2.93
#349Humor(Jam)2.19

Comments

KeithE. says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:56pm

WOW! So much style. The gameplay perfectly fits the theme and everything from the great pixel art and unusual frame size stand out to make this one of the most unique games I've played so far. Great Job! This is my first game that I've given 5 stars to.

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:58pm

This is very well put together! It may not be a super exciting game... but it was a worth-while experience. I love the end results, and the square sun :P haha. Overall, pretty awesome! Nice job!

Draktharr says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Cool game, but is there a way to restart without having the full intro?

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Beautiful animations on the hat and cloth.. very impressive visuals and interesting take on the theme. The clean consistent typography throughout adds a lot to the aesthetic. Very well done, one of my favorite games so far. Rated highly.

necmelt2006 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Great idea! simple and good :)

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Short and simple, but really nice. Graphics and sounds are done/used very well.

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Excellent graphics and animations! This game is very reminiscent of the old Sergio Leone westerns. Great job!

thephantom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23pm

cool game with nice graphics ... cool game

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23pm

The mood is very nice. It's all made with good taste. well done.

proc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:23pm

I cannot get that you won screen for love nor money on the web version even when he pulls his gun a split second after me. Just me?

kannas says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:32pm

haha, actually there isn't a "you won" screen anymore. However i just modified the text that appears when you win to make it more clear :)

Ithildin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Nice mood, and great use of the theme =) . It takes a while to retry, though, which can be a bit frustrating.

Congrats!

hbocao says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Oh man! Your graphics is so pretty! I loved the mood. My only wish was for a old western music (like The Good, the Bad and the Ugly theme). I AM NO CHEATER. I just can't count in milliseconds! :P

proc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:47am

@Kannas Phew, I saw the text was different but thought my sense of time after playing so many 10 second games was forever warped.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:40am

i love the game, awesome

udo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:38pm

The mood in this was incredible.
Apparently I have a very bad sense of time, since I always either die "honorable" or a cheater ;)
Great work!

GarethIW says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Yes! The audio track is so atmospheric! Took me a couple of goes before I "got" what was happening, but the fact it wasn't explained made it cool.

mrspeaker says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:41pm

I love the aesthetics... perfect! This should have two player mode on the same keyboard though. That would be awesome!

kannas says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:59pm

@mrspeaker working on it tomorrow :3

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:49pm

This is a great take on the theme, different than most other games I've seen.
It's very stylish and good looking. I really like how there's more than one way to finish the game, and the quotes are really nice.

Simply put, great work!

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Lovely graphics, interesting idea

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:44pm

5/5 so polished. I really like the graphics, very well done! :)

pereubu says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:08pm

wow, awesome mood here. I always wanted to make the perfect cowboy duel game, here will be an inspiration.
Really nice job on the audio and art, I like it a lot

Sep 3, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Really amazing little game here. Love it and love the different endings!! I featured it in my Ludum dare compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yp9ky-3J3J4

kannas says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:49pm

wow, thanks man :D i really like the video :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:26pm

Love the mood in this. After trying a couple of times, I discovered that I am not a honorable man. Solid game :)

Sestren says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 1:31am

Excellent implementation of the "count to ten" style. Graphics and sound are very nice. Mood was superb.

Sep 10, 2013 @ 2:16am

i really liked the overall minimal approach. this was present in the audio, the core gameplay and the controls.

wilbefast says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 11:59am

Nice one :) A good idea well-executed. A lot of work clearly went into the choice of sound, it really creates an interesting mood. It's regrettable that the two bandits are carbon copies. Also: honourable win mo'fo's XD

uwap says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 5:43pm

The graphics are fine and all, but in my opinion it takes to long to get from the start screen to the actual match. good one though.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 1:52am

hmmmm very stylish feel. 5 stars

Vile Smile says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Very nice art and sounds. It set a very nice mood and is quite innovative.

BadgerPriest says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Gorgeous game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]