August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

On the Dot

by Symmeteer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get from point A to point B in exactly 10 seconds. Navigate through harrowing environments.

Spacebar: start or interrupt a run
Arrow keys: move around during a run
Enter: continue to the next level

Tested on Google Chrome. Will check on other browsers in the next couple days.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#548Theme3.19
#582Innovation2.92
#819Humor1.80
#863Fun2.54
#915Overall2.67
#1070Mood1.65
#1100Graphics1.89
#1196Coolness47%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:38am

Oh this is just diabolical/impossible :P

kevinAlbs says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:45am

Haha... I played for a little while (getting as close as 9.9) and now I'm pretty certain there are no other levels. Original idea and fun for a bit!

Symmeteer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:17am

Okay, I did 2 small bugfixes: (1) after level 10 (that is the last level), it now cycles back to the beginning without freezing; (2) there were different responses for better times which weren't showing up properly - now they're showing up.

As to it being diabolical/impossible, however, nothing I can do about that now, sorry! :) But you can go on to further levels at any time - just press space to interrupt a run, and enter to go on. Thanks for playing and feedbacking.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09am

The game is fun but on level 4 for some reason it wouldn't count me as landing on Point B so I couldn't continue past that. Its fun for what it is. Good job!

FakeHair says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:18am

Beat the game! Found a bug that had me confused for a little while. If you press space mid level, you restart. From there, pressing any arrow key or enter will make you inch towards the second point without starting the timer. Doesn't really affect gameplay, as you have to start the clock (which brings you back to the start) but it had me confused at first. Great work overall!

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21am

Haha that earthquake gave me a fright XD. Really neat little game!

teddy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:23am

derp haha i hit the grass and flew off the screen then lost where i was XD

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Nice work!

FanFan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:13am

The graphics were simple, yet pleasant to the eyes. Some levels are impossible to get 10.0, or am i doing it wrong?

Tegu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Runs horribly slow on my machine. It seems to be very heavy for such a simple game. Tried on Chrome, Firefox and Opera so it's not about the browser. The slowness makes even the first map impossible to pass under 10 secs. :P

siat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:14am

Nice game, I liked the level ideas (the fast patches reminded me of Portal 2). Doing something to prevent camping near the target would be neat. Needs better controls for going between levels, I kept accidentally skipping levels by pressing enter and then I couldn't get back.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Man I could never get 10.0 X_X It was cool the different ways you were changing up the dynamics (swamp,grass,wind,etc.) and I liked the fact that even though I didn't get a perfect 10 I could still try the next levels. Good stuff.

IHateATMFees says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Very hard! After trying level 4 multiple times it won't recognize my player moving directly onto to target

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:26pm

basic good gameplay. the game is also beige.

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:54am

Cool idea. It'd probably be nicer if there was a larger hit area for the end zone, although that would remove some of the challenge. :P

I liked that I didn't have to get perfect on a level to continue. I would've rage-quit otherwise ; )

Jezzamon says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:55am

Cool idea. It'd probably be nicer if there was a larger hit area for the end zone, although that would remove some of the challenge. :P

The lack of music/sound effects was a little sad. Maybe try using sfxr for some simple sound effects next time?

I liked that I didn't have to get perfect on a level to continue. I would've rage-quit otherwise ; )

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:56am

Simple, but I guess you have some interesting stuff here too.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]