August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Terminal 10

by alts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

TERMINAL 10
===========

Terminal 10 is a game about falling out of a low altitude airplane.

You have ten seconds to grab and use a parachute before hitting the ground.

The controls will be explained as you need them.

Made using Love2d.
You can view the source by renaming the .love file to .zip, and unzipping.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#16Humor4.05
#57Fun3.73
#90Theme3.78
#142Overall3.57
#163Innovation3.58
#220Mood3.24
#348Graphics3.26
#648Audio2.38

Comments

ethankennerly says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:03am

Clever series of challenges kept me interested! If you continue to develop this, have you considered allowing a restart at anytime?

josefnpat says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:00pm

This was very nice! You should expand this into multiple levels with more silly things, like defusing bombs and such.

Tegu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Pretty nice! The parachute put on part immediately reminded me of Dance Dance Revolution (or ITG or Stepmania etc) but the order of arrows was different. In this case it didn't really matter though, as spamming one key is all that's needed here. On certain position the arrows were <v>^ while in DDR they're <v^>. It confused me at first. :D

leafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:01pm

alright I'm ashamed to admit that this took me like 100 tries to land successfully. cool idea. I like how the squash noise still plays when you land with the parachute open, but the black text covers up the player so you don't quite know what happened :)

Cotton says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Funny!You have a good sense of humor:)

munchor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:45am

The .love 404s, I can't play this on Linux then.

qrunchmonkey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:45am

Couldn't play this - the mac download gives a 404 error.

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46am

I get a 404 error when I try to download.

munchor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46am

The .love 404s, I can't play this on Linux then.

alts says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:25am

Hm, dropbox was having some issues. They seem to be resolved now, though. Sorry about that!

raincole says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:42am

I can download and play it.
"the parachute is safe" made my day.

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:53am

A really fun take on the theme. Took me a few (read: a lot) of tries to get the parachute on successfully. I guess what I've learned today is that putting on a parachute in free-fall is like playing DDR on a spinning mattress.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:16am

Very funny game. I second the guy who said that you should expand the idea with new scenarios.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I really enjoyed this one! "why will you do that"

vrld says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Oh god, this is awesful! It's punishing as hell ("why would you do that", etc.), but in a very fun way. I can easily see this as a full game in the spirit of McPixel. Well done!

Sephiroth87 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:19am

That was fun, loved the dialogues xD

link2x101 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:53am

"THE PARACHUTE IS SAFE NOW".
Simple, but hard, it still manages to remain fun.

The lack of music was a bit saddening, but honestly the game really didn't need it.

Personally, I think the game is perfect as is, but adding more levels might be a good idea.

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:59am

I like the humor in that one :)

BlackBulletIV says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:25am

Really like the minimalistic style. I have no idea how I'm meant to put the parachute on, but I quite enjoyed what I could complete.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:21am

Yep, brilliant humor. The game itself is pretty fun! Great job.

Ossi says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:27am

Very funny and creative game, love the silly mechanics of using the parachute! Great job!

codifeye says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:51am

Haha, brilliant. It took me a while to land safely, when I first saw the arrows for putting on the parachute I thought it would be impossible but got there in the end. Definitely a lot of potential here if developed further, nice one! :}

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:00am

Amazing! Perfectly fits the theme, beautiful artwork, great impact sound, and it's full of (dark) humor! Five stars!

Niavlys says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:39pm

How I am supposed to beat the DDR-like part? I can't figure out this one ^^ But I love the game!

Niavlys says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Haha, I laughed so hard sometimes! I would have loved a little more diversity in the sound and the crashing (like, bouncing to the left if I'm spinning to the left...) The minimalistic graphics are great. Very good job.

fullmontis says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:01pm

I laughed out loud more than once, so that's a plus :D I found it relied too much on trial and error but still, it was a lot of fun.

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 7:45am

Witty and clever from a mechanics perspective, and I got a good laugh out of the response to throwing the parachute. The graphics were cohesive, you put together a good game sir. My only complaints are that the rhythm section is hard enough without the arrows rotating, and all I get is a "success" when I finally actually did beat it.

Aifryz says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:02am

Nice game. I liked how you could for example throw away parachute, nice humorous element. Also the *splat* sound after success made me laugh. Good job!

DiscoFish says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:14am

Really fun game!

Valerien says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:24am

It's a clever little compo overall, and it feels quite fresh.

Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:06am

XD the parachute is safe now...
Awesome work!!

mcburrobit says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 7:11am

Awesome game, and neat idea, definitely one of my favorites thus far.

entrusC says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:18am

Really funny game - I saved the parachute more than once - yay!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:20am

A really good idea. The DDR with arrows is quite random though, i just clicked on arrows randomly and it worked. Very fun game, and nice graphics.

anotheryeti says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:39am

Liked the style, couldn't get past the DDR part to save my life.

EggDestroyer says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:00am

Very funny entry, good idea ! I passed the rythm part by randomly mashing buttons, it's a bit too hard IMO, and you could have changed the sound on success (polish things). But again, lots of fun :)

Sascha says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:45pm

"The parachute is safe now." Instant Humor 5/5 :D

Latcarf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Very fun and yay for DDR! :-)

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:43pm

haha, I love how success doesn't really sound like it. ;)

Really funny game Stephen, nice style. It took me a second to get the first a d challenge (tried hammering both, hitting them at the same time near parachute) but all enjoyable.

If I'm going to make a bizarrely specific reference (and it's some combination of the spindly art, pacing, & gameplay) it reminded me distantly of the final stage in the first Wario Ware game. Nice work.

cobrajs says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:04am

Pretty cool idea, and well executed too. Took quite a few tries to make it work, but that added to the feeling of accomplishment when I finally made it. It was pretty funny that the sound when you hit the ground with the chute is the same as when you hit it chuteless... like, did he still die? The ambiguous ending will keep me guessing.

shockedfrog says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 7:45pm

I responded to your comments on my game. :) As for yours, this is great! The humour and design are spot on. The DDR part was a bit too crazy (kinda easier just to mash the buttons than actually try to play it) but it's still satisfying to win.

Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:58am

Nice work! Definite five stars for humor and I'm a fan of "figure out these mechanics in five seconds GO!" types of games. Like a bunch of the other commenters I mashed the arrow keys to win the final segment. :) I wonder if the game could punish you for too many failed inputs, to prevent cheating?

X-0r says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 10:08am

The parachute is now safe! :D
Well, I should have thought about putting it on first^^
Not before tossing it away though. Oh well^^ Fun and short game! (Btw, is it just me, or does the guy still die, even WITH the parachute, just that the success overlay is hiding all that :P)

MrBlade says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:43am

SUC*FLOMP*CESS! Very nice work! Great noises, wonderful art, nice animations. Cool game!

recursor says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Finally! I did it. It took me several minutes until I realized I had to use the arrow keys to put on the chute :P. Really neat game.

PIXEL^3 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 9:45pm

SUCCESS! *hides dead body*
This game is the funniest game I've played yet. The crash sound was strangely satisfying, the commands for putting on and/or screwing up your parachute are great. The only thing I didn't like was that when I miss the parachute I have to wait to restart.

-AlucardX60

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]