Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 27

August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Can You Save Her? - wintermute - Jam Entry

Can you save your princess? You have 10 seconds to check if there is a corridor of grey tiles that can bring the hero (sword) to the end of the level (key), and answer correctly (move YES/NO with arrows, X to confirm).
Will you clear enough levels and reach an happy ending?

== NOTES ==
I fixed some bugs but I did not manage to put everything I wanted. Especially, I wanted to put an "endless mode", but I could not finish it. If you liked the game and want to know if I will never make the endless mode, follow me on twitter: https://twitter.com/winterismute

View wintermute's journal. | View all entries by wintermute

Ratings

#25Innovation(Jam)3.83
#72Theme(Jam)3.63
#166Overall(Jam)3.40
#204Fun(Jam)3.13
#248Audio(Jam)2.96
#286Mood(Jam)2.94
#554Graphics(Jam)2.21
#1422Coolness39%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00am

Nice game ! I love the concept of pathfinding and the way it gets harder and harder as the map goes bigger and bigger and start to shake. Cool music too ! 59390 points ;)

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02am

Pretty cool idea. There are some bugs (like if you press X twice fast to confirm, you get the double of points). The ranking sometimes hides part of the solution, when you get it wrong.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17am

Very nice idea! Sometimes the path highlighted at the end make some diagonal moves, so i thought that can be possible to pass in diagonal through holes.. but i was wrong :(

itamarcu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:13pm

78378!
Great game, and a very good implementation. Like others said before me, the diagonal movement in the pathfinding is a bit odd.

itamarcu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Also: Is it just me, or are you "punishing" players who abused the click-X-fast bug by making the delay between levels shorter whenever the players do that?

wintermute says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:04pm

To everybody, thanks for playing!
Only a clarification: diagonal moves are NOT counted, but during the visualization, they are visualized when there is a "turn", which means, instead of 3 tiles turning, only 2 (diagonal) are highlighted. I wrote the visualization separately after and I have probably made some pruning (diagonals lead to shorter paths). But I am 99% sure they do not count during the gameplay.
The weekend finished unfortunately so I don't know if I will be able to push updates, but I will certainly try to fix some bugs (DOUBLE SCORE??) before the deadline.

rujo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:00am

courious game that fits nicely the theme.

endermath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:50am

Cool idea! Especially good idea with the green skull to make it harder :)

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:37pm

A cool and unique use of path finding. Simple, fun little game.

Khopa says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Nice game :)
But 90% of the time you have to answer "No".

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:42pm

that green skull is torture :D

fun game though and nice concept.

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Really cool game! Love the green skull that cover the screen! :)
The game is really fun. I reach level 25.

Angrycrow says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:18am

I had quite a bit of fun! GG!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:20am

Ahhh so hard when the map gets big! X_X haha Was fun though most of the answers later on seemed to be 'No' heh. Only 9610 Points X_X Good game!

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:27am

fun :D

davidwparker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Okay, I really liked this one... you should rate more games so more people know about it. It's a great concept, and definitely something that could be explored in more detail.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:39pm

This is cool, worked out concept quick, nice idea

Literal Games says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Interesting concept, I enjoyed it! One thing that would have been nice was separate buttons for yes and no, instead of having to check which was selected before you pressed X everytime, especially since most were No.

N427 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Cool idea, pretty fun! Got really hard once the flashing skull showed up on the screen though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]