August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

OHNOES

by zedutchgandalf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

OHNOES!

You have ten seconds to find a way to kill yourself or terrible things will happen to you!

There are up to three different ways to kill yourself, so try some different things! ;)

CONTROLS:
Move: WASD/ZQSD/ARROW KEYS/XBox360 Controller DPAD or Left Joystick
Jump: SPACE/A on the XBox360 Controller
Sprint: SHIFT/L1/R1
Pick items up/Throw items: X (also on the XBox controller)
Restart the level: R
Show the controls ingame: ESCAPE (not possible with XBox controller)

Please rate and comment! I love your feedback :)
And tweet me (@zedutchgandalf) if you want me to rate your game! :D

- Robin Arys (@zedutchgandalf)
http://www.zedutchgandalf.be

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#73Humor3.56
#343Innovation3.27
#353Theme3.37
#655Fun2.80
#721Mood2.51
#820Overall2.78
#901Audio1.64
#947Graphics2.21

Comments

Zuige says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:31am

Haha, what a macabre idea! I like how there's not questioning the game. Just kill yourself quick.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35am

Funny. I like the cigar in the boss's mouth :p

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:47am

Strange but funny idea :) There should be some sound and/or music.

bnhw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:00am

Really couldn't figure out what to do on the second level!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10am

@bnhw there are multiple ways to kill yourself :) don't break your head over what is the 'right' one ;)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:38am

This was really clever and funny! I didnt expect such a good ending! Good game, made me laugh several times.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:19pm

Funny idea. I did find the controls to be a bit frustrating at times, but at least I managed to kill myself on multiple occasions :P
Some sound would make the experience even better!

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:05pm

I like it!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Silly that the only thing you do is have to kill yourself, funny game. I couldn't get past the 2nd level though :(

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Amazing. Could have used more ways to die after the window and hitting yourself with stuff, but it was hilarious!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:27pm

@RHY3756547 There are more ways to die than those two ;)

Foxtacy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Hahahahahaha, pretty nice,

Adding sound effects would make it nicer.

Also there could be other ways of killing yourself :)

Delca says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:20pm

I liked it ! Although graphics were simple and there was no sound, it perfectly conveyed the different situation each time.

mort96 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Loving the "congratulations! You died!". Great - and macabre - game!

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Funny idea. However i think the lack of sounds is really hurting this game

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:09pm

This game is funny : )!

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59pm

I wish it had sound and more ways to die, I only found out one way on the first level and couldn't get through the second one :(

I really like the idea and the theme :)

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:35pm

So good game! Really enjoy the gameplay, the sounds are weird but I like it!

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Very funny indeed. I found myself saying; "OK last level this time" a lot and then it ended :-) The graphics could use work and i'd like to see some audio but otherwise enjoyable.

ivo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13pm

kind of made it through the first level, didn't find out to die in the second. Love the Idea, though

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:15pm

I loved it, nice credits screen. Would have been nice to have some variation in the ways of dieing other than just dropping something on your head.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:23pm

@blay09 There are other ways, you just have to experiment :)

loolpolo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:28am

LOL, crazy but fun.

Gus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:32am

At first I thought it was unbeatable after the second level, but my friend did it, so I said "why not" and made it. (Best part was actually discovering that we suicided in different ways)
Loved the ending, got me by surprise.
I would recommend some sound and music next time ;D

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20am

Didn't worked for me. Windows 7, 64 bit, no Xbox controller

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23am

Ops, sorry. That was only a really slow start.. It popped up after a minute or two.. Very funny idea, loved how you tied the "kill yourself" theme even if it wasn't a winner! Too bad ofr the lack of sound..

Bekokstover says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:33am

Ha ha, nice one. I still died in the end! :D

ChrisGaudino says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Pretty funny. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]