August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds of Light

by zerebruin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

LD 48 release is here!

/////// THE GAME ////////

== THE MISSION ==
Reach the end of each platform labyrinth with only 10 seconds of light power! Collect power-ups to master these mazes.

== CONTROLS ==
- WASD or arrow block to steer.
- Mouse 1 or CTRL (right or left) to activate Light
- SPACE to jump.
- LEFT ALT, ENTER or Mouse 2 to shoot.
- ESCAPE returns to menu

Menu controls are Mouse only atm.


///////// THE MAKING /////////

== TOOLS USED ==
Unity 3D (engine), Visual Studio (coding), NanoStudio (music), Illustrator (icons), Photoshop (textures)

== ASSETS USED ==
Font: JockeyOne (OFL, via Google Fonts)
Unity SnapToGrid script for level creation (via unifycommunity)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#521Innovation3.00
#603Theme3.13
#662Mood2.59
#698Audio2.28
#717Fun2.73
#718Overall2.91
#836Graphics2.42
#1404Coolness40%

Comments

plancien says ...
Aug 24, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I like your concept.
hope the game won't be too hard.

zerebruin says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:48am

There will be a 'frustrating mode' for those who like it hard, but also an easy mode with a minimap even, so everybody should be happy in the end :)

BubbleTea says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 11:12pm

I enjoyed it :) didnt want to try the hard mode to spoil the fun i was having >.> though, i would of prefered the light key being mapped to the keyboard or space button, it wasnt hard to get use to using the mouse key. well done!

avh4 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48am

The keymapping was a little odd for a Mac, I'd like to use right cmd/alt instead of click or left alt.

Overall fun! There seems to be a bug where I can't fall off and restart the level if I run out of light. Level five seems to be a big jump in difficulty.

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:02am

Couldn't really play it. i only have one hand.

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07am

I like this a lot. Weird music haha. The perspective was kinda weird for WASD.

Sebastian says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:07am

Nice, I love the light mechanic!

zerebruin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:19am

@Blue steel: WASD + ctrl + alt + space don't work for you? Download the Desktop version and you should be able to remap the keys to your liking.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:52am

Nice idea! but sadly the controls kind-of ruin it. forward/backward/left/right does not work whenit's in a different direction from the viewpoint :(

Aaants says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:53am

Cool game, nice work :)

Andrewves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:55am

The controls were a bit fiddly but didn't detract from the fun. Great concept.

Ghostik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:40pm

A lot of ppl have implemented some 10 seconds "light system" :D . Its funny. Simple but definitely playable!

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:05am

The controls feel a bit imprecise at times. But you managed to implement a lot of features in this short time. I definitely had some fun!

caranha says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Hey Zerebruin, thanks for the review!

I liked this game - it is a neat idea to play the game in the dark. I also liked the music.

I think that the "gun" felt a bit out of place. Instead of making the gun, you could have used Mouse button 2 to allow for Camera rotation - I think that would be much more in line with the kind of game you have here.

Also, I think it would be cool if the light faded in and out, instead of instantly turning on and off :-)

Thanks for the game, and here is a video review, I hope you like it!
http://youtu.be/y65ArTvquSA

blackotus says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Nice usage of the theme, allowing the player to judge when to best use his 10 seconds of light :)

I would prefer to have the fire button be on the central mouse button though, as in the web version, the RMB opens the options window.

stenol says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Great concept. The right button not working well for the web version. Great work!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 6:19am

Nice spin on ball-rolling games. I loved the idea of having the light. Great job. I featured it in my LD27 compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zzQ8TXQohmI

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]