August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Defense of the Empty Field

by Sonic96PL - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Zombies spawn every 10sec, something is happening every 10sec.
Defend your useless field, defend your TOMATO MAKER!
---
How to play and controls available in main menu.

I had to rush at the end, so it's a little bit unpolished, but I'm really happy that I've made it.

Share your score in comments if you want to :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#559Mood2.72
#606Graphics2.79
#735Humor1.96
#893Audio1.67
#992Theme2.59
#1011Overall2.54
#1035Innovation2.21
#1047Fun2.21
#1970Coolness0%

Comments

Moochoomon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:40am

Played the web version, it seems like an interesting concept.
I could not see any zombies though, I think they were invisible. It seemed like a very interesting concept!
7/10 Nice graphics overall

flamecow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:39am

I played the web version as well. The graphics style is very neat, a mixture of 2d and 3d fits the game well. I'm not sure how well this fit in with the theme, but I liked it!

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:46am

Zooming around the map with the sprint key pressed was mad fun.

Spelchan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:48am

Loved the use of the theme as the spawn rate! Game crashed before I ever saw a zombie, though.

Kaldrick says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:34am

I'm not sure what I did while running around (web version, no zombies spawned), but I liked the fists look ;P

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:19am

I played Web and Desktop versions and could not see any zombie, and nothing is happening :( I guess something gone wrong.

Sonic96PL says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09am

Ok. Something gone wrong. Trying to fix it now. I'm sorry.

IHackedDeath says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:11pm

actually really loved it, absolutely great idea

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Nice Defender!

Dioiminik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:34pm

I played the web version, which seemed fun but it hung up after about 20 seconds of gameplay. Good game though I enjoyed it :)

Schulles says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:24pm

With a great mood!

anticdope says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Good game. Did crash on me though as I was attempting to solve the potato gun reload mystery.

tigerj says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:03pm

This will be my example game when people ask me about mood.

Good fun game.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:06pm

I downloaded the game, and the zombies werent spawning at all.. or maybe they were invis?

Sonic96PL says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:13pm

OK, I think that most of game breaking bugs are fixed now. Game kept crashing because of stupid memleak. So enjoy it now :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Hello! I am making a sort of compilation of all the games I can. Your game is featured in this video! http://youtu.be/jImRVKjejj4

bugninja says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Loved how you had the keyboard / mouse controls point to an XBox controller, good chuckle. Liked slaying zombies too - wish their death sequence more clear - they just kind-of vanish so I didn't know if they were dead, but well done for 48 hours definitely.

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:35am

Hard to play the web version - enemies and controls were very 'floaty'. Decent game, though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Good concept but would have loved more challenging enemies

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]