August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Hedgehog Wars

by voidstar69 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

UPDATE: A post-compo version is now available on both Google Play and the Amazon App Store. The original compo version is now only available via direct download (see links).

The post-compo version now limits the number of blocks that can be dropped on each level, and shows the number of blocks left that you can drop. There is also a new fifth level, which is more difficult than the earlier levels.

----------------

The Hedgehogs are ANGRY, and they are ATTACKING!

These suicidal rodents have no fear of catapulting themselves into battle!

Our only defence is a SKY FUNNEL, capable of dropping wooden logs to BLOCK the flight of the catapulting hedgehogs.

Strategically arrange these in advance of the rodent's TEN SECOND flurry of attacks!

PREVENT all hedgehogs from reaching any of our WEAK SPOTS (the RED areas), and ensure that at least one of the hedgehogs is deflected to one of our STRONG SPOTS (the GREEN areas).

If you SURVIVE the ten second attack... your REWARD is to test your mettle in the next wave of attacking VERMIN!

Good luck Soldier!

--------------

Touch the buttons around the edges of your phone's screen in order to drop TALL or LONG logs, or to START the hedgehogs attacking. Aim to complete each level with the minimum number of logs. Most levels can be beaten by dropping only 3 or 4 logs.

To make it easier to see all of the levels, I have included a SOLVE button that will demonstrate the solution to the level. There is also a NEXT LEVEL button that will take you straight to the next level, without having to wait through the solution.

There are four levels in total. After the last level you will be returned to the game title screen. If you get these by beating each level, then you have won!

--------------

Development notes: this is my first Android game, and my first game made in Corona. I spent about 20 hours on this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#260Humor2.81
#478Innovation3.06
#626Fun2.83
#789Mood2.44
#792Overall2.82
#807Audio2.00
#836Graphics2.42
#959Theme2.65
#1528Coolness33%

Comments

Endurion says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36am

Sorry, no Android

tiffi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Pretty nice game. Great physics. A lil bit hard though

Ciaran54 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51pm

It was pretty enjoyable, and I could see a game like this going further ;) But there were a few frustrating things, like the level being automatically reset when you fail, and not knowing where the hedgehogs were coming from :P Also, the green areas didn't seem to do anything? But it was fun trying to build forts and trampolines to deflect them to correct paths anyway ;) I think with a little more work it could make a pretty decent full game ;)

Croze says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:27am

Don't have an android :(

vandriver says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Knowing where and how many hedgehogs were coming would go a long way to making the game feel more puzzle-like. Also then limiting the amount of blocks. Worked perfectly on nexus 7

voidstar69 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone. I also had the idea of limiting the number of blocks to make each level more tactical, but I did not get around to adding this in.

I like the idea of showing where the hedgehogs will be coming from - the player would be able to plan ahead without having to fail the level a few times just to find out what the pattern is to the hedgehogs arriving.

Now I've got motivation to improve this little game! :-)

Amber says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:14am

Hedgehogs are adorable! Keep working on this, I think it's a great start.

KevinWorkman says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:24pm

I really like the idea here, but as others have said, it would be better if you limited the number of blocks and showed where the hedgehogs are coming from. My tactic turned into dropping as many blocks as possible randomly and hoping for the best, which is probably not how you meant the game to be played.

The solution dropped by the solve button failed on the fourth level for me.

Overall, really nice work. I'd play a full version of this game.

voidstar69 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 8:53pm

The post-compo version now limits the number of blocks that can be dropped on each level, and shows the number of blocks left that you can drop.

The physics engine seems to not always produce the exact same result, so the solution for the fourth level sometimes works, but sometimes fails.

Thanks for playing it! :-)

Sep 8, 2013 @ 10:09am

Interesting concept! A bit like Angry Birds in reverse :) I found that just spamming a lot of blocks usually worked, except on the last level. Also the "Solve" button once gave me a solution that didn't work -- probably the pysics aren't 100% reproducible.

The physics are good, but the sounds are a bit harsh. Overall, with some more love, this could be a great game!

PaperBlurt says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Great job! Yet another game with hedgehogs (Sonic?)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]