August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Sundial

by Recursiveanomaly - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sundial is a top down dungeon crawler where light is your best friend. Use the timepiece to collect light to ward off enemies for 10 seconds. Battle two different bosses on your quest to find the Sundial and restore light to your world.

The Web Applet can take some time to load.

Instructions:
Use WASD to move. Monsters hide in the darkness. Stay near they light. Lure monsters to the light if they get in your way! The game has three checkpoints, each unlocking a special item to help you.

Technologies used:
java
libgdx
artemis entity framework
box2d
box2dlights

Graphics made with:
paint.net
spine 2d
tiled map editor

Sound made with:
abundant music
Yamaha keyboard
Wind up music box for cranking sound
vocals
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#19Audio3.90
#68Mood3.66
#215Graphics3.53
#276Overall3.36
#545Innovation2.98
#685Fun2.77
#735Humor1.96
#883Theme2.77

Comments

Xatulu says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:24am

Liked the graphics and OMG the sounds are amazing, as well as the UI. Gameplay is hard but quite fun!

HeyChinaski says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42am

Great music, very dramatic. The game achieved a real sense of atmosphere. I particularly liked the writing on the floor. It was a nice way to guide you through the game. I think a little more work on the combat system is required. It's currently a little tricky to hit the enemies. I couldn't get past the ghosts after you find the light for your sword.

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42am

It was scary having monsters pop out at me from the darkness!

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:56am

The music is fantastic. I would love to hear it with more realistic sounding instruments. As for the game, my only gripe was that it was very hard to tell if there was an enemy coming for you when you weren't right next to a light until it's too late, even if you went slow, making the game very frustrating when I would get far and get attacked in the darkness repeatedly.

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41am

Good mechanics, well put together... nice job!

tinfoilboy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:51am

Very nice, like how it has a good lighting system, and the images are very high quality, nice job!

Reevezy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58am

The movement is very fluid, the audio is great and the game is fun, really well done for 48 hours.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:08am

Solid solid game. Awesome for 48 hours. You should totally continue work on this. The lighting effects were pretty and the controls where very fluid. +1 internets

Zelun says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:15am

Good stuff you have there! I only think that running from ghosts in a dark environment 'kind of' defeats the purpose of exploration. The music is pretty good!

Jan Marcano says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:06pm

The UI was really good. Neat game

Crowbeak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Thanks for sharing your game with me!

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Great music. Maybe just few more save-points should be on your way... it's boring to go the same path after death many times. Really good work!

torvik88 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:50am

Great atmospheric game, great light, sounds effects. I couldn't figure out how the sword functioned so i ignored most of the enemies.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:59am

Really good graphics and audio, nice athmosphere. It's very hard to get past enemies in narrow passages though.

emveyh says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Yay for LibGDX :) Cool game. I really liked the atmosphere and the music!

GrooveMan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44pm

The graphical effects are really cool, and running out of sun gives some serious tension. The zoomed-in rewinding animation feels unnecessary after the first time, though.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:57pm

That was pretty fun, looked really pretty with the light raycasting and the stopwatch concept was really interesting and really appealed to me. Nice job on that, shame about the ending.

TheMaster99 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Really awesome game! Sound was great, graphics were beautiful, and the ending was (imo) kind of humorous. Great job!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:17am

The attacks seems quite clunky. The light part is pretty odd and the boss didn't seem to do much. Nice graphics.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:43am

I found this game pretty hard, but I liked the idea and graphics of it. I featured this game in my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/okyxuWBF5Yw

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:30am

:D

blay09 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Amazing graphics and audio, smooth animations and cool music. I had a hard time finding my way around the darkness, but it was fun running from light source to light source trying not to get caught. The lighting system looked very nice and really helped the mood.

DesignerNap says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:12am

Have played this game probably more than any other LD game. It has just the right balance of difficulty and intrigue. First few attempts were fails and then once I found the watch I was hooked. really great work. As someone who wishes they put a retry option in their game earlier, I thank you for the checkpoint at the watch! great stuff, you should be proud.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:19pm

good job

motty says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 2:03am

Very fine effort. Very very playable. Thanks for this.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]