August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Little Square and the Circle Clan Invasion

by Idovoodoo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Had a fun time squeezing a busy weekend around this LD. As with many people, lots not implemented and lots of glitches but that's the way it goes. I will sort out the source and a mobile version when I have recovered. Thanks in advance if you give the game a go!

~Idovoodoo

The Game
--------
The <<Forgetful>> Little Square has got his memory back for a 2D gravity (meh) based platformer with a defend-the-tower twist.

Time moves quickly in the world of The Little Square:
- 1 day = 10 seconds
- 1 week = 1 day
- 6 days = 1 year

The Circle Clan are invading via portals so blast the hell out of them.
Destroy the portals, defend the bases, kill them all!

Base 2 spawns on day 2 (Base 2 spawns on the underside of the island)
Base 3 spawns on day 4 (Base 3 spawns on the other island)
Portal 2 spawns on day 3

Controls
--------
A - Left
D - Right
Space - Jump (you can double jump by pressing Space in the air)
Mouse - aim
Click - shoot

Issues
-----------------
It is possible to double-jump off the islands into space and the game to carry on.
Enemy collisions sometimes glitch
Still using the concept gravity and player rotation system I created at the beginning. Never managed to fit in an update to this.
More message updates needed
Portal spawning mobs sometimes glitch
Difficulty/health/damage etc needs tweaking a lot!!

TODO's
------
SORT OUT SOURCE
Third base spawns but is not active
Third portal doesn't spawn
Missing base status info on screen
Missing minimap
Repair bases not implemented
Game doesn't really end in a year like I suggest on the start screen

UPDATE v0.1
-----------
Fixed invincible second portal bug
Changed damage/health values

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#404Fun3.10
#550Humor2.24
#588Audio2.48
#626Innovation2.86
#647Overall2.97
#735Graphics2.59
#809Mood2.41
#1060Theme2.44

Comments

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:06am

I like the gravity system, and the concept is not too bad. I wish you could keep the fire button pressed though, as my finger got tired quickly.

Blue Steel says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

I can't play it I only have one arm.. :(

Kwrky says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:17pm

It was fun, crazy. When I went underground it was a bit tough to control with xy flipped. Then the game just kinda stopped? Good fun! Not sure if I am misisng something.

Idovoodoo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:25pm

@Blue Steel Sorry dude, it is not very accessible - bad game design on that part.

@Kwrky It is possible to double jump off an island into space and for the game to carry on until the bases are destroyed. Also, sometimes the enemy spawns get stuck, and when one gets stuck - they all do!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:58pm

Solid platformer!

Flai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:58pm

It was pretty fun at first, but got a bit boring quickly. Pretty okay.

Spotline says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:59pm

The gamefeel is really enjoyable, too bad the gravity thing isn't used more than this

Omar_q8 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:01pm

the game is some silly crazy fun, but i don't understand the meaning behind the theme interpretation, do things happen between days? good job though

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:17pm

I like this game!

blay09 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

I liked the gravitation physics. The portal on the right seemed to be invincible?

KeithE. says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Game isn't loading. I get an error saying Chrome couldn't find www.idovoodoostudio.co.uk

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32pm

A nice idea that could of used a bit more time. I found it quite fun to play, it would make a good coffeebreak game

Static 64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:36pm

It was okay. The mechanics are interesting, but the balance feels off. It took forever to kill anything.

Infernal says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:53pm

It was fun for a bit. But after already suffering a hand injury, these games that require you to click per shot or hit a keyboard key per shot are very tiring.

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:28pm

This was cute and fun!

manuq says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Very fun! Loved the approach you gave to the theme, and the gravity. The controls and key dispositions could be less complicated. But I guess they will be configurable when you release the second version :) Also please make the square shoot keeping the button pressed.

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:47am

Nice. Pretty neat how you could go around the whole thing.

Michcioperz says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 11:14am

Nice game, but I can't really move. The square moves where it wants, and A and D only open Quick Find in my Firefox.

Afal says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:31am

"The server refused the connection."

Almax27 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:55am

"Firefox can't establish a connection to the server at www.cse.dmu.ac.uk."

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 7:58am

Yep, looks like http://www.cse.dmu.ac.uk/ is down.

shard123 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Still down I guess, wish I could play, looks fun

Blinked says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Yup, still down... I'll try again later.

Idovoodoo says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Sorry all, the server was down over the weekend :(
All working again now though.

zzForrest says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:18pm

This is a very confusing game, which made it too hard. I couldn't tell what the heck was going on.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]