August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tetchy Mrs. Sheriff Saves The Day

by Pol - Jam Entry

- Tetchy Mrs. Sheriff Saves The Day -

Done solo in three days.
Each section of the game lasts 10 seconds or asks you to be quicker.

***

Music credits :
* country tunes come from FreeCountryLoops.com
* Other musics : http://youtu.be/OBwS66EBUcY & http://youtu.be/-72Lje6nwg0 (thx Gibs !)
* Various sound effects come from freesound.org
* Incredible voice acting from voxygen.fr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#30Humor(Jam)3.85
#34Graphics(Jam)4.39
#86Fun(Jam)3.49
#90Overall(Jam)3.57
#100Audio(Jam)3.47
#114Mood(Jam)3.41
#204Innovation(Jam)3.17
#453Theme(Jam)2.75

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:57am

Haha, this is awesome very stylistic art and quirky vibe going on.. loved the splash screen! xD Wish my game looked this good, really nice gameplay mechanics and animations (particually the blood on the game over screen). Rated this one very highly. :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:03am

Aaaannnnd now my fingers hurts.

domrein says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26am

Holy crap. Is this even possible to beat? (I really dig the animation)

everblind says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:27am

I rant and ... I don't know :(
good graphics! :)

SamC says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:28am

Fun game, nice art, very polished.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:29am

I loved the gameplay and the colorfulness! may I ask how did you manage to stay concentrated for three consecutive days on a solo project?

Pol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30am

Polished, heh ? Well don't look at the source. This is the worst anti-optimized flash junk I ever made.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:30am

I loved the gameplay and the colorfulness! may I ask how did you manage to stay concentrated for three consecutive days on a solo project?

eskivor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:32am

to sneak and to make a kamehameha are very fun in this game :)

Pol says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:36am

@brogrammers : well I didn't plan to work on it for three days in the very beginning, so the two last days were just some kind of perpetual rush :B It was hard to stay focused even though I managed to sleep a few hours every night, but motivation wasn't an issue, so I managed.
But the point is that even if I worked alone, I wasn't on my own. Tyu (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/tyu/) and Pereubu (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/author/pereubu/) were with me the first two days, and having someone to laugh with when high on caffeine is a huge help - even if it can make you lose the focus, of course.

Anachron says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:39am

Frantically furious frontier Flash game.

Lars Faust says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:32am

Very calm and relaxing interactive love story. 10/10.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:12pm

hahaha funny graphics and i like the concept, i like music too but....My fingers hurt!!!!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:24pm

The decent into absolute absurdity was awesome. Took me a few tries to figure out you had to press space to jump on the train. I kept outrunning it. Good game!

michail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12pm

The graphics are really good, but the gameplay is finger-hurting.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Quite difficult but enjoyable.

01010111 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:21am

I want to get further but MY FINGERS! Awesome art and sound!

lcass says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Epic idea butttt how does it fit with the theme?

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Very simple concept awesomely well exectuted. Loved the whole humor and graphic style. The death animations are just hilarious :)

soerensen3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Nice Art but how can you get onto the train, i was even faster than the train but then it overtook me again and i lost.

haxpor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Nicely done. At first I thought that I have to run a race with a train, but it turns out that I need to grab that ladder.

pereubu says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:35pm

<3

soerensen3 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38pm

ok thats the space bar you have to press

naufr4g0 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:52pm

One of the better 2-buttons-run game I ever played. Controls works fine in the game, but sneaking is really hard. Anyway is fun and polished!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:00pm

very artsy. too bad im not good enough to beat this ;_;. I like the more unique approach on controls. reminds me of quop or the nes olympic games.

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Haha! This is pure fun! But god is just too hard for me :D

Pol says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Oh yeah for thos who don't get the theme thing : each session of the game lasts 10 secs or asks you to be quicker.

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:22am

love the art style, and the ending is fantastic. very unique game. great job!

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:20am

Very cool. Graphics are awesome and the idea is rather unique

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:25pm

A nice little finger workout with a really cool story and art style. Great stuff!

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:43pm

That was absolutely hilarious. I love you.

Pol says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:50pm

You sure know how to have me playing your game. Well whatever, it's worth it.

spliter says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:24pm

This game is incredible. Loved the humour, the graphics and sounds and the gameplay.
Unfortunately I couldn't beat it, that last sequence I just can't reproduce on my keyboard (maybe I could do it if I had a flat one), but I had loads of time none the less.

Pol says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:46pm

Oh dang, I didn't think about the flat keyboard vs not flat keyboard thing. It must be much harder without a flat keyboard 3:
Guess I'll upload an easier version this week end for the people who, for any reason, cannot beat the game.

Blooperly says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:14am

Very nice! Haha a little hard to control everything though.

Suese says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:21am

Just couldn't make it past the first screen no matter how fast I went. Out-ran the train and it said 'too slow'. Looks good if I can get past that bit.

Pol says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:36am

*whispers in your ear* you have to press the space bar once you are at the ladder.

wine says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:44am

Epic!

SneManden says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:34am

Haha, wow that is some game! The controls and gameplay were crazy - which I think was intended - but it was really fun to play! Really humourus too!

The graphics and animations were simply fantastic. Really impressive.

Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:50am

Fun, amazing graphics and music! It *may* be a bit too difficult. Despite the explanation given in the comments(that each game section lasts 10 seconds) I feel the theme is not too strong with this one.
The game is quite well crafted though. The level of polish this game has is breathtaking. Top entry!

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:55am

Haha! very funny game with great graphics

timtipgames says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:57am

5 stars for fun :)

Pol says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:25am

Thanks for the feedbacks Tim, I tweaked a bit the easy version according to them. Now there's no excuse for not getting the spacebar thing anymore. And it's easyer to understand what to do when facing daddie Goddie. Just Sayin' Hehe.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:13pm

good job

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Superb graphics, especially the character design!

The music in the beginning is nice, but pretty short - it gets annoying over time, especially because you have to start again when you die.

Sadly, it's also a bit too hard for me. That combined with the restarting - I didn't get far :(
Could you make a gameplay video so that I (and maybe other inept folks) can see what comes further? I want to know what happens!

Pol says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:17pm

You got it.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Lovely graphics and congratz for the plot, the Miss Sheriff is a beautiful character. Also like the mashup that is the music.

gmaker says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 1:32pm

artwork so cute! i liked it! thank u for game! great job:)

Pol says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:31pm

I uploaded a video playthrough, it'll be ready in less than an hour. The link is already at the top of this page.

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:43pm

This... is genius.

It's so completely unexpected! I love it!
LOVE.
IT.

Everything's great.
Also. DAT ENDING.

Keep up the awesome work!

paulmcgg says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Funny, gorgeous, punchy game. Everything you need. :3

Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:32am

The graphics in this game is amazing! Love it! I featured it in my video compilation series of LD27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tyApng3Bq-c

Pol says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:03am

Yay ! Thanks for playing the game :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]