August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Decay

by mamoniem - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Enjoy collecting the protons before the half-life ends !

The game might have a full version before the end of Sept. it will support :
- power ups
- completed leaderboards
- achievements
- more collectables
- different enemies

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#77Audio3.56
#81Graphics3.94
#282Overall3.35
#359Innovation3.24
#470Mood2.83
#538Fun2.94
#584Theme3.15
#808Humor1.82

Comments

Hexicube says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Game is nice, however it was a bit too big for my 1024x768 screen. Would be nice to have it scale to the screen size available for it if possible, not sure what unity can do.

mamoniem says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:18am

@Hexicube, Sorry for the size, I used to make my game jams entry with that size, just because there is not enough time to make it fine with all aspect ratios :) I will be improving this starting from next week ;)

thephantom says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

loved the graphics so much , hope to see the full version soon

Diventurer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:34am

404 error. I will check out again tomorrow. The screenshots look interesting!

Erhune says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:45am

404 error too here :(

mamoniem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:46am

@thephantom, Thank you, am working in a IOS version now. The gameplay fits a lot more in IOS. and after that there will be a web(may be Facebook) version ;)
You can keep following here :
http://mamoniem.wordpress.com/

mamoniem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:47am

@Erhune, Sounds that you are outside US. Lots of countries block Dropbox. Currently am in China, and i need to use a VPN Proxy to open Dropbox.

mamoniem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:49am

@Diventurer, the same reason, the game in Dropbox which is blocked in some countries.

xndr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:50am

404 error :(

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:51am

Received a Dropbox 404 error when trying to access any of the three download links for the game. Maybe too much traffic?

Will have to try again later since the screenshots look pretty cool.

oxysoft says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:52am

404!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:53am

Yeah, I'm getting a 404 error too and I'm in the US, in the same city as the Dropbox offices :)

mamoniem says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:07am

@Diventurer
@Erhune
@xndr
@Neo-Blue
@oxysoft
@Steve Cochrane

Thank you for the feedback, it sounds I got a problem with my Dropbox, for some reason myself too was not able to open it [404 :D]
Anyway, i updated the Dropbox links for the 3 version and all of them working now. Looking forward for your great comment to make "Decay" better for the IOS release ;)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:11am

Nice game! Love the idea, music and colors :)

Controls are a bit weird. I started dragging, but I couldn't sross the lasers. B ylcicking you insta-teleport, making dragging unecessary. But clicking can also insta-kill you, if you hit a wall. It's all over the place! :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:45am

Great presentation and great concept! However, I was a bit disappointed when I understood that it was not necessary to grab the particles with the matching thingy spinnin' around your atom. When I understood that, the gameplay lost quite a bit of appeal because you can basically chain-click the particles without taking your rotation or collisions into account, which requires a lot of accuracy and timing from the player.

I think the game would be much better if you couldn't grab, say, a red particle with your blue slot (or the orange body of the atom for that matter). Try to play it this way, you'll see: it's even more fun :D

Anyways, the look and feel and gameplay are amazing so... high rating! <3

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:13am

Stunning! I love this one, I will definitely trace your work to see the update of this one.

...oh, could stop only to comment) Now, it's time to continue)

Diventurer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:41pm

Right, now it works! This game is really nice, and I find it quite innovative. Never played anything quite like this before!

kbm0 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Huzzah! That is fun!

mamoniem says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:42am

@matthias_zarzecki, thank you. Some collisions need to be fixed beside i meant to make "2" ways of controlling, to give the player the ability of multi-method of achieving the goal ;)

mamoniem says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:46am

@Lightmare Studio, thank you. I was thinking in the same idea, but i found it will be too hard. So, i decided to add an (easy or hard) choice later in the IOS version.
For the colors, i already get pored :D am working in a game about colors almost 3 years now . It is called "Coated" :D

mamoniem says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:50am

@Alexander Ponomariov, keep looking ^_^

mamoniem says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:51am

@Diventurer, glad to hear that !

Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:13am

I came back because of the screenshots. :) Pretty cool and nice visuals especially. For feedback I kind of wish the boundaries at the edges of the screen were a bit easier to see since they can kill you, but I got used to it. I also had a few cases where I would collect all four pieces and win the level, but then a moving beam would hit me before the next level started and I would have to repeat the level. Not a huge deal though. Good job!

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:23am

Excellent design; it was a bit hard to figure out the mechanics at first but I got it down after a bit. Love the music!

mamoniem says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:14am

@Steve Cochrane, Thank you, i will try to find a better way to show the boundaries. the other problem i solved for the full verion now ^_^ it was my mistake to keep the game running and all collisions while displaying the win sound :D

mamoniem says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:15am

@Teejay5, Sorry for not putting the tutorial level. The music is free to use from the free sound tracks blog.

Neo-Blue says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:33am

Hey, it's great to see that the Dropbox link is working now. I'm glad I got the chance to try it out because this project is really cool. I love the color palette and the soundtrack. It's simple idea that's fun to play around with. Cool entry.

JHollands says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Is the second level bugged for me? The red lasers are in the way of the other orbs, and there's no way around them - can you turn them off somehow?

blay09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

I liked the graphic effects. It took me a while to figure out how it works, I thought I had to drag that thing around first. It was still a bit frustrating because I seemed to hit the laser without anything touching it sometimes.

mamoniem says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:29pm

@Neo-Blue, thanks for the pretty words. Hope you play the full version too :)

mamoniem says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:30pm

@JHollands, it sounds a lot weird. I have tested all the versions again and every thing work !!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Maybe I'm an idiot, but I couldn't figure what I was supposed to do on Level 2. Looks like the game would be really fun :)

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Could not pass level 6. To small margin, think I only managed to get the red one time. Nice visuals and music, just needs some tweaking with the gameplay. Good job!

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Simple and polished. Very good graphical decicions. I liked it :)

mamoniem says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:30am

@Zer0Kelvin, just collect :) and you have 2 ways to do that :
- drag the atom
- teleport it

;)

mamoniem says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:31am

@Brassawiking, thank you, am fixing all that right now, hopefully you try the complete version soon :)

mamoniem says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:34am

@blay09, yea, it needs a quick tutorial & collsions fixing ;)

mamoniem says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:33pm

UPDATES for the iPad version :
http://mamoniem.wordpress.com/2013/09/02/decay-develog-01/

EggDestroyer says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 11:08am

Nice audio and good graphism, the idea is fun but a bit light or frustrating : your main challenge is basically to find where to click, making the whole dragging thing useless as well as the wheel turning... and it's really hard ! But I still enjoyed the experience, I stopped at level 7 :)

Exergy says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Fantastic!!!

djamel says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Good job man, keep going!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]