August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

YellowBox Disposal Service

by TakeNapEveryday - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Have you located a live explosive device in your post-apocalyptic neighbourhood, but don't have any limbs remaining to dispose of it yourself? Call 1-999-288-7566-1111 with your voice-activated ToothPhone to have a certified YellowBox Bomb Disposal Bot delivered to your current location. It will seek out the nearest explosive device and attempt to safely disarm it. (YellowBox Inc. is not responsible for any injury or loss of life due to the behaviour of YellowBox Bots.)

Controls Help:
--------------
Depending on your choice of controls on title screen, use the left and right keys to move, up to jump, and tap the down button quickly to disarm the bomb.

Press ESC any time to go back to previous menu or retry a level.

Press ALT+ENTER to switch to full screen (Windows).

---

- I didn't have time to add music.
- The robot has no arm!
- Tools: Game Maker: Studio, Bfxr

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#231Fun3.35
#369Graphics3.21
#383Overall3.23
#525Humor2.27
#566Theme3.17
#579Audio2.50
#670Mood2.58
#769Innovation2.69

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41am

Nice touch to add a rewarding level :) Good control response, I love the sound of the little saw. A little bit short, I would have played more !

ratalaika says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:47am

I like it :), It runs well on virtual machine :P

manabreak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:49am

Solid work, I love how the physics are implemented. Reminded me of Elasto Mania a little bit. :)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:57am

Very nice physics, but the gameplay could have been a little bit more interesting

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Insteresting game! Very smooth and lovely gameplay, loved it! It was a bit too short though, you could have added at least a few more levels.

31eee384 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Cool player controls, but agreed, it seems like this could have been more than a simple platformer. Really cool player graphic, too.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:28pm

I love this one-wheel-yellow-thingy! :D Nice small game. You forgot to lock levels 2-4, I mean despite they have "Locked" image you can choose them.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Thanks for the comments! The need for more/larger levels is noted.

@doonay21: Oh yeah! Nice find. I made a mental note to prevent loading locked levels in the last few hours, but it must have slipped my mind. :P

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:30pm

wonderful game, thank you sir!

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Short and sweet, cool graphics!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:10pm

The movement in this is really sweet, it's a shame the levels are so slight as I was having a good time romping around! Level 4 should show there's a bigger game to be made out of the yellowbox controls

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:52am

Nice platformer. The tapping part seems unnecessary.

mollymus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:15am

I like the graphics! I just wish there'd been more levels, and I kind of wish moving sideways would be a bit more responsive:/ Nevertheless, great job!:)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:50am

Ha, nice idea! love the character and the disarm-mechanic :)

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Appreciate the polish even in such a short game :) Nice sync between the sound and the movement. I didn't understand at first how the jump height worked - I don't think it's exactly right to bind it to the speed, but anyway, after a while I got the hang of it.

Congrats, and looking forward to your next entries!

panurge says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:18pm

It was a little too short and simple which is a shame because the concept is nice and the controls and style are really cool.

OneL3gend says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Tried in chrome, the game ran alright, but bomb defuse was not possible.

xrm0 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Nice game

fferro234 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Nice game. Actually I like the last level the best, nice and colorful. I needed to mute my speakers though. That beeping sound is piercing.

Gonzo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Good level design. Too bad that there are only four of them, I would have liked to play some longer ones.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]