August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

This is Tio

by r1sc - Jam Entry

In This i Tio, you have to struggles your way through two ever changing worlds.. dodge lethal spikes, avoid foggy clouds and make daring jumps through light and darkness.



Use arrow keys to move, SPACE to jump

Every 10 seconds the world inverts and you must avoid the hazards in the respective dimensions

Just remember, spikes are deadly and you can't walk on clouds. Find the exit to win!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1845Coolness14%

Comments

bugninja says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 7:42am

First... this is awesome!

Second, this is just some constructive criticism and opinions:

1) I think that when you die, it should be a little more clear as to what just happened. If I fell, or was on a spike, I would like to know. I'm trying to move so quick that I'm not seeing what kills me when I'm hit and would like to know for the next run through the level.

2) I like the sound that tells me time is running out, but I think an on screen timer, or a meter/bar that goes down as an indicator would be good too.

Great work - loving what you have already!

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:46am

Nice! :D Was fun to play and I even found a glitch: http://youtu.be/idS1eUE3YPI ("Hm, can I get stuck here? Oh I can ... and now, wat? I'm out of here!")

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:52am

Interesting concept ! I like the idea that there are more than one dimension to complete a level. Maybe you could add some power up to change the dimension when you want instead of waiting 10 secs everytime you want to progress.

r1sc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Thank you for all the nice comments! Even a YouTube video(!!) this truly made our day :)

r1sc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Updated the game with some music. Unfortunately it doesn't loop as expected (there is a slight delay) but it's good enough I think. You can mute it with M if you like.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:34am

pretty cool concept.. plays out well.. i kept trying and failing a lot waiting for the world to change even if i knew i should wait.. =).. spikes are tricky in spots where you can technically land near them.. but could just wait.. that's my own impatience. i enjoyed it! would be nice if there was a visual timer.. then you could time jumps just in time for when the world changes & revolve the mechanic around that a bit..

Meedoc says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:34am

Nice entry! The concept is cool, the LD could be a bit more challenging though.

Some time I had the impression that the length of audio warning wasn't the same, which could mislead the player to anticipate a jump.

Anyway, by adding some content and gameplay elements, you'll have a nice game!

whiteravens says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 8:40pm

This is great, just put a timer shown on the screen, and feedback on what happens in the game.

Exergy says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Really good one. Liked the take on 10 seconds :)

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:46pm

A good take on the theme. The game looks and plays well, only the collision seems a bit dodgy.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]