August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

300000km At The Speed Of Light

by Calahagus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a two-player game.

The idea came from thoughts about realistic space games (of which there aren't enough, I think), and I considered the delay in receiving messages for unmanned drones. If you've got a robot drone 300000km away, it will take 10 seconds to reach it with any light-speed signals. Thus came the idea for this game. The gameplay itself isn't as related to the theme, but it's the thought that counts, right?

The game is a mix of strategy and third-person combat. Each player has a frigate (their King, effectively), and a number of drones. You can move one of these on your turn, to any adjacent or diagonal square. If you move your frigate, you lose your next turn, however.

The goal of the game is to capture the enemy frigate, either by brute force or sneaky tactics.

When one drone collides with an enemy, you fight! It's a fairly simple, 1v1 system. However, there's a delay on the commands you send your drone, based on how far away from your own Frigate you are. Each square (not diagonally) adds 0.5 seconds of delay. Fighting across the map would be 5 seconds of delay. That's just painful.

There are also special squares as well, which are randomly placed when the game begins. Asteroids add impassable space rocks to the battlefield, and nebulas block a large portion of the battlefield. Planning your position can be important!

Anyways, I hope you enjoy the game, either playing head to head with a friend or just messing around with it on your own. If you've got feedback on the game, I'd love to hear it!

CONTROLS:

WASD to move and Space to Select/Fire for player one.
IJKL to move and O to Select/Fire for player two.

You can also edit the controls when you open the game, under the "Input" tab

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#521Innovation3.00
#585Mood2.69
#652Humor2.07
#692Graphics2.67
#864Audio1.80
#1003Fun2.32
#1027Overall2.50
#1092Theme2.33
#1404Coolness40%

Comments

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:26am

The AI on the macbuild is a bit broken.

Calahagus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:06pm

There is no AI, the game is two player.

kunzbe says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:26pm

I loved the loading screen messages. I need a second player XD

eolhing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:28pm

I like the idea of the transmission delay, battles look more strategic this way. nice entry ;)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Fun little game, makes it quite interesting with controls having a 10 second delay, quite frustrating, but in a fun way :)

Wukkopi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Very nice idea! I had a bit of trouble to find out how to control blue player (IJKLO if i recall correctly). Controlling own spaceship behind lag is hard. I didn't have a friend around so i had to play against myself, but i think this would be funny (or frustrating) as hell with friend.

stephan_h says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Nice retro style, Calahagus.
Control of the ships in battle felt clunky and random. And it would be nice if you packed the useful information (multiplayer, input keys for second player) into the game screens itself.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:42pm

I can play reds turn but I was unable to play blues turn. I think its because the select button is not on my laptop key board. You should explain the controls in your entry(you can edit your entry ongoing fyi).

urth says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:05pm

With all the description you did not mention the control keys.
It is WASD and SPACE for player 1
And IJKL and O for player 2

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Nice, I have no one to play with it, but I bet it's pretty frustrating but fun to play with all the delays in!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:33am

I had no one to play with, and was confused on that duel part, but I included this game in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQmE1DEkQd4

vrld says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:40am

Very ambitious game for 48 hours.

foumart says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:12am

I was hoping for the kings to have battle engine too...

Sascha says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:09pm

Nice game to have completed in 48h! The delay is an interesting concept. In-game explanations of objects/ships and controls would have helped immensely, though!

Anoarith says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 1:30pm

I love the delay idea, however I'm afraid of a catch-22 situation. Maybe ships shouldn't be able to move back in order to avoid that.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]