August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The 10-Second Rule

by hissssssssss - Jam Entry

Everyone who's been to school has heard of the 10-second rule!

If a piece of food hits the floor, it's totally OK to eat...for 10 seconds. Any more than that, and it's inedible garbage that should be thrown out.

Put the food that falls down back on the table by dragging it with the mouse. If any food becomes rotten, put it in the trash. Be careful--the trash can only hold so much!

The game ends if you have too much rotten food on the floor, or if you put too much rotten food on the table.

===========================================================
*** EDIT 09/06/13: ***
I fixed a typo that was killing performance in the normal version, and added the .py source for the normal version as well (requires Python 2.7 and pygame), plus removed a few unnecessary packaged files.

In better news, I also got the post-compo version up! As promised, it comes with a title screen and better usability, the sound that I messed up right before the end of the jam, and a better food-spawning formula to fix the difficulty a little bit. Give it a try, if you prefer!
(The sounds are modified versions of sounds taken from freesound.org.)
*******


Notes:
The distribution file is huge and terrible because we were forced to check out of our hotel room, so I had to freeze the script quickly. Some unneeded python files are in there, so I'll remove them as soon as I can.

I'm happy we finished this game at all! Usually I enter the solo division, but my sister came halfway around the world to see me, so we entered the Jam in between family events and heavy traveling. She'd never made a game or anything before, so I put her to work making the food and rotten food animations. Thank her for those!

I borked up a bunch of stuff in a mad rush to the finish, so look forward to a post-compo version that adds sound, a title screen, and improves performance.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Theme(Jam)3.73
#136Humor(Jam)3.00
#214Innovation(Jam)3.15
#458Overall(Jam)2.73
#491Fun(Jam)2.38
#513Graphics(Jam)2.44
#518Mood(Jam)2.14
#1156Coolness48%

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:47am

hahaha, I like the concept ;)

-ENDESGA

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:55am

The link is not valid anymore guys : Not Found Sorry, but you are looking for something that isn't here.

hissssssssss says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:29am

archaeometrician: Sorry, the link should work now!

Asar Dhandala says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:43am

Great work! Enjoyed.

immanuela says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:53pm

5 stars for innovation, love the idea!

timothyolt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Absolutely love this take on the theme!

Brejlounek says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Great idea! Score 8500... The one eating is a reeal pig. Or he eats too much. :D

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Great idea! I like it, and a great take on the theme. Too bad it was unable to record via fraps for my LD27 video compilation series :/

Starspell says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:54pm

The overall game is fine and it's nice to see a different take on the theme. However the difficulty curve is not great. It takes forever for enough to be falling that it becomes interesting - and then in a split second it's just raining food!

I really like the graphics and you know it could have needed audio. I also found it difficult to put things in the trash... wasn't sure where to click for that.

hissssssssss says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Starspell: Thanks for the feedback! Yeah, I definitely needed some less-linear math on the difficulty curve.

To put items in the trash, you just drag them onto or above the trash and release the mouse button. If you're too far to the right or left, it will fall beside or in front of the trash instead, so you do need to be accurate. Chicken legs are (by design) the most difficult thing to put in the trash because they're the widest, and strawberries are the easiest.

Sheep says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:05pm

The idea is funny, but that's about it. The gameplay isn't challenging enough.

Gazok says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:26pm

None of my food hit the floor. I'm a veritable food ninja.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 6:33pm

It's more like the 30 second rule in my house.

Really cool idea, nice one :)

CiderPunk says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:44pm

the progression could have been a bit better, too easy for too long then impossible with very little between

Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Great interpretation of the theme! The problem with this kind of gameplay is, though, that it's a bit of an all-or-nothing affair. Assuming the player has a roughly fixed cleanup rate, they will keep up until the incoming food rate gets higher than that, and then things go south very quickly. I got to 7800. This would be better on a touch screen!

Livsk says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Good game, but the graphics might be better.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Haha, the idea of the game is really funny! :D

zequack says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Nice take on the theme :)
The beginning is kinda slow though.

jwolf says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 3:02am

Nicely done. The trash over-flow was a nice touch.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]