August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Its A Whole New World In...

by Thepattybeast - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Its A Whole New World In... is an endless runner.
there are a set number of levels specified at the start of the game and it randomly switches between them every 10 seconds.

Hint: when creating you first game skip the game options(not the ones in the options menu) and just hit start

Controls:
Space = jump
Escape = pause

Goal: don't reach the left side of the screen

Video about the game: http://youtu.be/HPvXm7gWTsA

Libraries:
LWJGL - lwjgl.org
Slick2D - slick2D.org

see readme for more info and troubleshooting

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#629Humor2.12
#677Theme3.04
#781Audio2.09
#839Fun2.58
#929Mood2.20
#965Graphics2.17
#981Overall2.58
#1057Innovation2.17
#1281Coolness45%

Comments

Recid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:08pm

This music keep spinning in my head HAHA!

voltorben says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:10pm

can't launch. Mac os 10.8.2

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/thepattybeastlabs/ld27/LD27 : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)

Conry says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Oh man, now I've got this music stuck in my head... :D

itidus21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:13pm

The highest score I got was 5699. I like the way it records the high scores, and for that matter the menus are extensive.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:01pm

Simple game yet quiet fun !
Music annoying a bit.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Nice customization options

Stryphe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:10am

Nicely done!

kratorspore says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Failed to launch for me

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Can't get the music out of my head LOL! Funny game. Looks so simple yet it took some of my time. Good job!

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:40pm

The music was killing me! Gameplay was well done though, good job.

dcolgan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:14pm

I like your robot character. Endless runners are always fun, the music was a bit grating, but otherwise nicely done for 48 hours!

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:30am

dat music :D

imef says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 10:13am

Couldn't launch on windows. I unzipped the zip file and run the BAT file. I believe I have Java7 installed.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]