August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

QuickSwitch

by Noah Ratcliff - Jam Entry

Controls (Keyboard):
-A and D to move left and right
-Space to jump
-Shift to sprint
-T to toggle sprint
-K to set checkpoint and enable easy mode
-J to remove checkpoint and disable easy mode

Controls (Gamepad):
-Left stick to move left and right
-A to jump
-Right trigger to sprint
-Right bumper to toggle sprint
-B to set checkpoint and enable easy mode
-Y to remove checkpoint and disable easy mode

To run the game, launch "Ludum Dare 27.exe"

If you experience errors when launching the game,
try running "oalinst.exe" to install Open AL.

If you have any other issues, leave a comment, or send me an email at fussycashew@gmail.com.

If you are experienced in MonoGame and would like to port the game to your platform, please download the source and do so! If you do, please contact me so I can add the port to the LD page.

As usual, don't press N while playing the game (seizure warning).

Also, last minute change; I forgot the rules to the Compo and added Royalty Free music from Incompetech to my game. At this point the music is really part of it, so I've entered the game into the Jam instead of the Compo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#35Theme(Jam)3.78
#74Innovation(Jam)3.57
#137Overall(Jam)3.46
#191Fun(Jam)3.17
#226Audio(Jam)3.00
#430Mood(Jam)2.50
#459Graphics(Jam)2.67
#1377Coolness41%

Comments

livedarkness says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:51am

Awesome job man, looking forward to your android submission!

lesterpig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Nice work, but very hard... Need checkpoints ;)

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Innovate as hell and fits the theme pretty well (another time limit, but used clever).

ChrisGaudino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Fun. I couldn't make it very far without easy mode though.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:21pm

I love those colors and style, but It is so difficult!

reheated says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:49pm

This game is fun and addictive. But so hard! I nearly gave in on the first jump. Fortunately I feel like my skills have improved playing this game.

tobbez says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Doesn't seem to be possible to get further than 160s (there are two dead ends and neither is far ahead to keep you alive until the next switch happens.

Nice idea and realisation though.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Finally I get to play the other game with the space inverting mechanic! I've been looking forward to this :)

I still quite like the concept. Fits well with the theme and is pretty innovative. The graphics are appropriately abstract for this kind of game.

I have no idea what happens after 2:10. It just stops?

I liked that I can use my gamepad - more games should do that.

The music fits the game well - pity you had to enter the jam because of that though. It seems to change when I press B though? Oh, and it stopped at some point and never came back.

Apropos B - did you think about setting legetimate checkpoints in the level? Using B feels a bit cheap, but it's much to hard not to use it.

A few small gripes:
- Fullscreen please! I have a very high resolution and your game is tiny on my screen.
- Why do I have to use the mouse in the menu if the game is controlled by keyboard/gamepad?
- Why would I want to turn sprint off?
- A few more places where you need to chose where to jump would've been nice.

Pretty solid game all around. Good work!

PS: I'm glad that you still love me despite my poor performance :'(

Meep says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Very nice mechanic in this. :) I loved it!

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Was a tad bit frustrating. Also, the download is way too heavy!

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25pm

This was really special. I remember seeing a gif of it earlier and thinking I wanted to play it. I liked the sounds a lot and the difficulty option was appreciated! I couldn't get very far but the idea and execution is (insert good word here).

f345an says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Really interesting, quite difficult though.

Clurect says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:03am

It was fun, really hard to play.

Phobos001 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:12am

This game was absolutely infuriating, but I still enjoyed it. Never got to the end, I got sick of being sent to the start. I know there was an 'easy mode' but I saw it as 'press me if you're a sissy'.

Wertle says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:03am

I think the mechanic has a lot of potential, though it took me a few runs to figure out which clock I should be paying more attention to. Windows kept trying to thwart me by asking if I wanted to turn on sticky keys from all the shift-pressing, which would break the game when i went back to it. Curse you, windows!

Sinuath says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:07am

i straight-up dug yo' game dat shiznit was tha shiznit son! tha graphics n' sound was pimped out but tha concept was just phat, especially how tha fuck you use tha maps ta make it mo' interesting.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:31pm

wow! really challenging game

onzephyr says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:58am

Difficult but well done game. I enjoyed it.

Sink says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Neat stuff! I liked the concept. Really cool idea. The only gripe I have with it is that the controls could have been a bit better. Other than that it's awesome! Music is nice and the graphics being simplistic really helps the game play, good job!

Aske says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 2:14pm

Great game and great concept, but next time could you maybe try to export to Linux and mac? ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]