August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10-per, or something like that

by RadioLemon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My third Ludum Dare, and the most playable thing I ever made ever! This is also the first time I have designed levels for a game ever! First time putting sound in ever as well!

It loosely fits with the theme, because the gimmick of the game was suppose to be you making things change at a rate of "10 somethings per second", but I structured my code badly, and failed to implement!

I got SOMETHING done, so that is good news. Source is in with the .zip. The game is written in Java, so hopefully it will work on Mac and Linux (Sorry guys)

Next time: MORE PLANNING!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#353Innovation3.25
#795Fun2.65
#879Audio1.75
#966Overall2.59
#1157Graphics1.65
#1186Theme1.47
#1672Coolness26%

Comments

Anheurystics says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:02am

I like the concept, although I think there is a way to get trapped in the level (or do I just suck at it? XD)

vittorioromeo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:03am

The concept is cool. Unfortunately it doesn't fit the theme at all, in my opinion. Also, controls are very unfriendly, and I had to turn off audio manually (how about a key to turn it off?). The batch script doesn't work on Linux.
With better controls and additional polish this could become fun to play

namrog84 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Sound on walls was slightly annoying. I personally didn't like the sounds too much. How did it tie in with 10 seconds?

It was a neat concept, would have liked WASD controls, becaue arrow keys and spacebar don't go well together for me.

However, it was a really neat concept of puzzles! Could definitely expand upon this and make a real game out of it

zlowrance says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Fun game and I really liked the main game mechanic. Relation to theme wasnt really present but you covered that in your description. Would love to see this carried forward! Good job :D

Thermite says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:19pm

It's fun, but the mixture of mouse and keyboard controls was a little awkward.

Sheep says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:20pm

There were some nice puzzles in there. The graphics and sound effects weren't the best, but overall it was a nice game.

HunLyxxod says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Like the others, i like the concept but the controls are pretty bad. I can't use the space bar, the arrow keys and the mouse at the same time. I have only two hands.
Z and X to tag a block and to invert the gravity would have worked better.

drilltail says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Cool concept for a puzzle game!

In the future, try not to have controls that are in more than two locations reachable by a single hand (you have the arrow keys, space bar, and mouse)!

endermath says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:19am

Cool puzzle game. Could use a few more levels, but otherwise great.

skyr says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Nice little game. The puzzles where clever.

foumart says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:35am

Nice puzzle concept. I'm glad that character can't be harmed by the blocks :) but that can be implemented as another gamemode.

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:50pm

most def the most playable yet!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]