August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Breakfast of Champignons

by Ravenous Games - Jam Entry

On the surface, Breakfast of Champignons is a game about serving food to hungry diners, but beneath this superficial exterior this deep experience is about serving a lot of food to many hungry diners. Made in under 72 hours, this game represents under 72 hours of work from the team of four at Ravenous Games. We hope you enjoy it, and learn and laugh with us as you discover the wonderful meaning of being a bad line cook, or a good line cook, or whatever.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Overall(Jam)3.87
#36Fun(Jam)3.68
#55Audio(Jam)3.68
#56Innovation(Jam)3.65
#57Theme(Jam)3.68
#58Humor(Jam)3.56
#67Graphics(Jam)4.19
#70Mood(Jam)3.61
#1129Coolness49%

Comments

Taylor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:35am

That was really good! One of the best Ludum Dare games I've played!

tacograveyard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:42am

Fun time management game. Music and sfx were solid. Early on I was under serving the food, burning it, under cooking it, and all sorts of horrible. Eventually got the hang of it though and served many yummy breakfasts. Fortunately I am a better cook in real life. Pixel art was top notch.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:46am

Great work!

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:59pm

That's one of the best entries on this compo its funny and it is fast I think it will be nice on mobile phones :) u should consider that ;)

Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:03am

This one was pretty excellent. I loved the art. The vomiting patrons was a nice touch. Good work.

alvivar says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:09am

fun++

Capro says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:40am

Really good entry! I love it. Good job! :)

dkilford says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Good game overall. I feel adding in another element of tension so that the player can't just cook the same combinations over and over would help encourage diversity too. Really good music and art.

KhaoTom says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Another cooking game, I love it! I like the plate temperature mechanic, adds a ton more depth than just watching the cook times. I could have sworn that lizard would have wanted raw food though :P

Blecta says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Very good entry, I loved it ! One of the best games I've played so far :-)

loxo says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Overall a good game. I liked it very much!

MuciojadPL says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Fantastic and very funny ! :D And amazing graphic, I love this style ;)

anotheryeti says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Really enjoyed the graphics, the gameplay wasn't superb, but everything else was.

blackotus says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:26pm

This was very fun!
I love the pixel graphics and the clients' reactions!
Sound is very good too!

Great job on this entry! :D

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 5:49pm

oh this is addicting. I had to pull my self away from it. would love to see this with deeper mechanics.

nice sound works, graphics and design.

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 6:36pm

better cook in real life but whatever, had a fun time!

designatius says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:16pm

The game is brilliant! Very well executed you guys rock! :P Awesome work

Raiyumi says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 1:07am

One of the best entries I've played so far.. pretty awesome game. :)

GaTechGrad says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Neat idea and well executed. I think if each customer ordered a certain meal, then that would add an extra dimension to the game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]