August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fire, Fire, Burning Bright

by Bensonance - Jam Entry

A really simple and stripped down survival game. You play as an omnipotent camp fire -- provide for your survivors to keep them alive!

Drag resources off the campfire onto your survivors to provide the resources they need. Change the type of resource being distributed with the mouse wheel. Hover the mouse over the fire for advice on what the survivors need. You only have 10 second day cycles - so be quick!

We produced this in about half a day - we'd loved to have more time to work on it :'(. We were planning to have predators to stave off, carnivorous plants - but alas... ;?

Next time! Give it a play and let us know if you see any potential/have any ideas for it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#133Graphics(Jam)3.85
#196Mood(Jam)3.17
#210Audio(Jam)3.06
#319Theme(Jam)3.00
#332Innovation(Jam)2.88
#336Humor(Jam)2.25
#393Overall(Jam)2.89
#481Fun(Jam)2.42

Comments

Jayjay says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:26am

Very cool, but unfortunately I couldn't rate as the graphics weren't displaying properly =[

Specs:
Win8 64bit, i7, Intel GMA 4000

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:39am

Very nice graphic ! I had some difficulty dragging and dropping the item on the characters, sometimes, it would duplicate the item on the ground. Neverthless, nice idea, hope to see a version with predators in it !

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:52am

Fun concept. My mouse-rolling to change the resource was a bit slow / unresponsive sometimes which of course didn't work well with the time limit :D The game's a good idea though - it'd be fun to have more issues to tackle as the days progress.

immanuela says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Agreed, the graphics are really good here!

JellyMan64 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Loved the game, 10 second days made it challenging. Good Job Guys!

vanderZwan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Got the same problem (and computer setup, no surprisingly) as Jajay :(. So all I can really say is that the sprites look nice and that the concept sounds good.

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Nice work! Sometimes their statuses wouldn't change even after I gave them a resource. I really love the look and the concept!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Interesting take on 10 seconds, though the game itself wasn't all that fun to me. But since you guys did this in half a day, it's very impressive. The art is great as well!

TomCooper3D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:49pm

i couldn't understand what i was supposed to do
really nice looking art though

CmdBrewsky says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Really great job guys! the graphics are amazing and great concept.

kannas says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Nice graphics, and interesting game. i'd like an omnipotent campfire too :3

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:30pm

I have seen that concept before but I really like your art. One of the character animation is a bit off though - the blond one - you could try to fix that if it is a minor bug and update it.

murilo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:34am

Nice! But I couldn't do anything besides giving them food, even on the next day. I really like the graphics!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:05am

Great artwork. Interesting gameplay, good job!

UnixXNova says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:48am

Great game i but i didn't understand the concept straight away

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:54am

I see a potential for a good game with a little more work yes :)

Aslai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:20am

The graphics were pretty nice, and I laughed a bit when I ran out of resources.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:35am

Neat graphics, great mood. Pity there isn't much gameplay content.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Awesome graphics had a bit trouble to find out how to change resources. Cool work :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:48pm

good job

EggDestroyer says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Good job and great graphics, nice audio atmosphere, but I didn't understand how to play (I cycled through resources and gave them, but I didn't get how to have more resources or why my guys kept dying). Some tutorial (and another way to cycle through resources) could be cool for polish :)

Markavian says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:59pm

Wasn't feeling the gameplay so much.

alexandervrs says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:11pm

The gameplay needed a bit of a ramp. Was pretty much overwhelming as you started. The graphics were cute :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]