August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Tsuri

by jcvsmc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Collect Rain to Grow random Bonsai Style Trees.
Chain same color pick ups for multiplier bonuses!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#84Innovation3.79
#193Mood3.29
#369Graphics3.21
#383Overall3.23
#467Theme3.27
#524Audio2.61
#752Fun2.69
#778Humor1.88

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:28am

Love the idea of the characters being objects :)

rzfmzn says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Omedetou! :D

LiamJPeters says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:03pm

I really liked the procedurally grown tree and the rain noise. Would like to see translations for the symbols. I assume the blue on was the character for rain? Good Job!

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:03pm

The gameplay isn't that good, but I like the procedural trees and the calming rain sound.

Komradus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:08pm

That was really cool and kind of addicting, well done.

ananasblau says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:09pm

needs more particles and tweening and noise and lights. then it's japan :)

i like the idea though i'd rather see the tree growing as i collection, maybe even with an indicator of what part will grow next so i can collect more or less characters for just that part.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Would be a bit more relaxing and soothing without that collecting sound. Otherwise a nice little game. Watching that tree grow is really rewarding :)

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Wow, this is seriously original and just plain cool. I would call it more of a "toy" than a game per-se, but that doesn't make it any less brilliant. Really nice looking too!

nikkesen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Collecting rain for 10 seconds. Interesting implementation of the theme. Good UI. I enjoyed this, and appreciate that the tree is different each time.

cafeine says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Very cute, and a bit addictive.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Nice tree generating and good idea on using words as the graphics

Vectorious says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:13pm

I loved the tree generation and the rain sounds. I was hoping for a bit more out of the gameplay, but it wasn't bad at all. I wish the color multipliers affected the score, though!

Reaperguy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:01pm

The game didn't load for me

aquilicoco says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:14pm

nice game :)

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46pm

hahaha lol what? nice idea ;)

pbdiode says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Great job!

The only think I was a little confused on was what the different colored characters actually did.

But over all, very enjoyable to see the tree grow in the end!

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Quite peaceful and pretty. A very unique idea that uses the 10 second theme well.

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Wheeee! AWESOME! A 木 collecting 雨s! Love it! But I haven't yet learned and hence couldn't read the other kanji that appear so I first avoided them. :D

nhmllr says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:01am

This was more fun than I expected.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:05am

Well done. The bonsai growth at the end is very nice :0)

OneL3gend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Great and innovative idea. Had loads of fun playing it. only the graphics were rather pixeley and the sound got a litle unnerving at some point

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Nice tree generator. not so fun to play though.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Very cool tree growing mechanic :D I was childishly amazed by it every single time.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Cool idea, and I liked collecting the little ame's. I did find though after a while I was going round round with the mouse and getting a high score, so perhaps make the rain kanjis sparser.

Could see this as a cool way to learn Kanji.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Creative, beautiful and relaxing. Great entry. :)

ratalaika says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23pm

good job. original game

DoubleS says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I love the tree at the end. The collecting sound is a bit annoying but it's pretty good

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:17am

really soothing

KristinnEs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I replayed your game a few more times than I expected as it felt very calming :)

Good job!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I really like the style of this game! Especially the trees at the end.

A little bit of music couldn't have hurt additionally to the rain - try a generator like http://abundant-music.com if you can't make it yourself. The only thing really annoying me is the collecting sound effect - it doesn't fit, and it stacks on top of each other because you collect so fast. A drop in the water or something similar would've fit better!

And now excuse me please, I'll have to grow a few more trees.

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:13pm

This is absolutely beautiful and such a cool idea. I think this is possibly one of my favourite games I've played so far, very cool! Rated highly across the board. :)

Michcioperz says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Nice, it looks simple but ends cool.

zlowrance says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Great job!

Nerlin says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 2:07am

Great job! Idea is just super. Very well!

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 7:28pm

really liked how simple it was and the gameplay was fun

Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Really strange concept. I think it's too much random for me, maybe i would prefer if you somme level instruction like make a tall tree, make a small green tree etc.)

Zerkruemler says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Very cool idea. Also challenging with the multiplier. A nice little game.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Nice work! Cool concept. Nice sounds. Good graphics. 6/10.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]