August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Usain Bolt Simulator 2013

by danielcmessias - Jam Entry

'HERE IT IS! The most highly anticipated uber-realistic simulation game this year. Praised for it's groundbreaking graphics, immersive gameplay and beautiful storytelling it truly is a game to be remembered'

Quote from a critic, 2013, er, ok it was me...

Look, if you've ever wondered just exactly what it was like to BE Usain Bolt the day of the 100m finals in Beijing, his preparations, his journey, and most importantly, his running, then your completely mental, but I have the game for you!

Controls are either in game or self-explanatory; 10 levels to be completed in, yes you guessed it, 10 seconds or less (The Usain Bolt lifestyle), 100 seconds of gameplay programmed by a lazy developer with no artistic talent.

Enjoy.

(P.s. I've included the source code because why not, but it's ugly, this is a textbook definition of a game that's been thrown together, and is the pinnacle of inefficiency, so don't take anything away from it...)

(P.p.s. I don't know how well the game will run, and I haven't been able to test it on Mac/Linux, it's Libgdx Java so it should run just fine, but just a word of warning)

**Updates**
0.1: Level 3 Updated to be more clear about how brushing teeth mechanic works

0.2: Level 5 Updates to be more clear about how the controller works and the crosshair moves slightly quicker as many people find it way too difficult.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#35Humor(Jam)3.81
#40Fun(Jam)3.65
#54Theme(Jam)3.69
#124Mood(Jam)3.38
#221Audio(Jam)3.03
#245Overall(Jam)3.21
#256Innovation(Jam)3.05
#453Graphics(Jam)2.69

Comments

djbriandamage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Loved it!! Very funny and lots of variety. A really original game.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Good idea, love the minigames, but the plaque is too fast for me :(

cardboard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:46am

I love it! It was just hard enough to keep me playing until I finally beat it. The graphics fit the game wonderfully. Also, the variety in the games is fantastic. Great work.

thetheodor98 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:27am

The game didn't start on a Mac OS X Lion 10.7.5 Macbook air!
I saw a frame for a couple of milliseconds then it exits!
JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
_NSJVMLoadLibrary: NSAddLibrary failed for /libjawt.dylib
JavaVM FATAL: lookup of function JAWT_GetAWT failed. Exit

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31am

Hmmm that really is shame, with no Mac myself at this time I can't really diagnose and fix the problem, which is a real shame, but thanks for notifying me the game won't run on Mac!

MvdLaar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:34am

I laughed really hard, it was fun! The plague was a bit unclear, maybe some more visual feedback of what you're actually brushing.

Bekokstover says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35am

Hm that means I can't play it. A shame, since I made a Usain Bolt game as well! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-27/?action=preview&uid=26481

RHY3756547 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:35am

Most realistic Usain Bolt simulator I have ever played. The xbox minigame was a controls nightmare, but other than that it was fantastic!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:37am

Fantastic idea, I love it! But i have problem to move crosshair in level with X360 pad :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:39am

Nice job! Funny. You made me want to finish the game even if it's hard. Graphics are not that bad i liked it.

myachin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:40am

game didnt start. may be my videcard is too old...)
i hear music, but i see nothing.

Mekuri says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:41am

Finally beat the game! A fun idea. Was the toothbrush level supposed to be as easy? I simply held the brush over his mouth, and the game did the rest :P
Anyways, I had fun playing, good job.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43am

D: chicken nuggets? really?
Pretty funny overall.

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:43am

I liked the game, I got up to the part that requires a gamepad and then lost because I didn't have mine plugged in. I liked the art and music mixture, worked well together and gave it a good humorous feel to it. Overall good job.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46am

My only gripe with this is the fact that the hand for the first minigame sometimes gets lost somewhere outside the window, funny compilation of mini-games though, didn't know Usain Bolt lead such an interesting life!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:46am

^^ Use the on-screen controller to move the crosshair!

nSun says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:49am

These ugly graphics are so lovely ! Realy enjoyable !

Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:54am

**Updates**
0.1: Level 3 Updated to be more clear about how brushing teeth mechanic works

0.2: Level 5 Updates to be more clear about how the controller works and the cross-hair moves slightly quicker as many people find it way too difficult.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Best game i've played so far

Fireblend says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:13am

That crosshair is waaaaay too slow. Anyway, it was fun and pretty funny up to that point. Good job!

anmorales says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:14am

Weird :P it was really fun nice job!! It is a bit hard, I like it

VeloSpectre says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:50am

Funny idea for a game. I like the mini game choices. kept me wonder what was next. Xbox mini game was pretty rough. A faster cursor speed would help that.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Well...that was...special :p.

voidstar69 says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Cute collection of mini-game, a bit like WarioWare. I couldn't get pass the chicken nuggets minigame, playing on my laptop with a trackpad. I think I would beat it with a mouse plugged in. :-) Well done.

sittaman says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:14am

Amazing stuff. I couldn't pass the brush teeth minigame but the game is outstanding. Also great music by Kevin Macleod, love his work. Five Stars!

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Very funny. Xbox game got me though. :P

Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:42am

ahahahaha really good concept and funny

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]