August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Space Voyage

by thedeadlybutter - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[FTL DRIVE] - Warp complete
[RADIATION SENSORS] - WARNING - 10,000 REM DETECTED

[Ground control] Major Bob you must fix your ship! The backup fault detector will help you determine what is broken, but you will only have 10 seconds to fix each part. To speed up the process use your Fix-I Gun 9000 on anything that is broken!

-- Controls --
WASD for walking around
Space for jumping (in low gravity of course)
Left click for firing the fixigun

-- Tips --
* Read the screens to figure out what computers are!
* Think what the pipe and wire colors could represent in real life
* You get 2 extra shots each round, use both shots if you have too!
* Don't pretend play spaceship pilot for too long Major, you have a mission to complete!

-- Other notes --
* I'm going to do a walktrhough for anyone who gets stuck, but the 2 beta testers I had play both were able to find everything so it's not impossible!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#661Graphics2.72
#666Theme3.06
#694Innovation2.78
#775Overall2.84
#838Audio1.88
#848Mood2.33
#1085Fun2.11
#1640Coolness28%

Comments

TheBlueRage says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41am

A neat idea! Reminds me of an old school game called "Bomb Squad" lol. Good stuff though, keep it up!

qrunchmonkey says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:49am

Nice concept but the extremely long level loading time kills the replayability for me.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:53am

@qrunchmonkey I guess that's the problem with working on good computers, you don't notice these things until people have problems. Sorry it caused that issue for you, I will look into optimizing the scene/level.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:13am

Ha, looking at the console with its 167+ buttons is a nice panic-event :)

jammy12789 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:11am

Good game love how the ship was about to crash into the earth! I didn't really understand the game. Also like qrunchmonkey said the loading is too long and kills the ability to play the game again!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:54pm

@jammy - I felt I explained the concept both through the intro and the entry page. Can you explain what you were confused about?

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Quite a fun game, at first I was frustrated that I didn't always know what the things were. But I realised after a few tries that it became part of the fun :)

MinionStudios says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Nice! hard to play, but nice!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 3:25am

Hard yet really fun game. Good job! I featured it in my Ludum Dare 27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GcXHrH6VSV0

Antidote says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 4:08am

Interesting game, I like the fixing stuff idea :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]