August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Attack

by KayZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My (not really finished) game for the the 10 seconds theme.

In this game, a random feature is added every 10 seconds.

Features that get added:
* graphics (2 times)
* sound
* enemy units (2 times)
* achievements
Planned features, that are not included:
* attacking enemies
* scores
* AI
* boss(es)
* an actual end

The features are added randomly, so if you play the game more than once, it will probably be a bit different.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#818Innovation2.62
#851Graphics2.39
#890Theme2.76
#914Audio1.54
#915Humor1.57
#1055Mood1.76
#1133Fun1.92
#1134Overall2.21

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:15am

Nice work on the low-fi aesthetic!

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:20am

Nice idea and concept. Got random freezes a couple of times and had to f5

Mjiig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Seems like a great idea in principle, but I could never get more than one or two of the upgrades before the game froze :(

KayZ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04pm

The freeze is fixed now. Slipped past me somehow :(

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Liked the graphics, but was has this to do with the theme?

pvwradtke says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:12am

Like the idea of adding random features to the game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:17am

I really like the idea of a game building itself from a paper prototype as you play, and I don't think I've seen that before. Nice work!

nilo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Like the gfx when in drawings mode )(

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Love the idea. The graphics is really nice.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I actually think I liked the graphics more before there upgrade. The Pen and paper aesthetic just looked more put together. Good use of the theme, similar to how I used it.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Not bad but very slow. And why is my ship oscillating randomly around my mouse?

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:29am

Getting the graphics improvement was a nice idea.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:59am

Nice use of the theme but the more things I unlocked the slower the game ran so it soon became unplayable.

KayZ says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:53pm

@all: Thanks for your comments and especially for liking the drawings mode :)
@those where the game runs slow or the ship oscillates: seems like my game has some performance issues. Pretty weird because there isn't even much going on...

Sh1rogane says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Nice entry, i thought the first graphic was the nicest :) but this is an good idea, too bad that all features wasn't in

Joror says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Those poor trucks... Was funny how I vaguely realized that I had shading now, and then suddenly other things. Does not a conclusion/score/goal though. :)

proc says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:45pm

The concept is solid for the theme and I liked it. Not quite a game since I couldn't die from what I could tell, let alone win. Ran fine for me but I switched tabs and on my return I had a whole army coming for me :D Punishing me for diverting my attention haha.

davidwparker says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:39am

Neat idea- would love to see you continue to flesh it out more.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:09am

This was pretty fun it reminded me of that RPG game I played ages ago where more features got added as you found them in treasure chests. Is it possible to die? The trucks and planes and that seemed to go straight through the ship haha.

KayZ says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Yes, there is no dying at the moment. But with all this feedback I may start doing a post compo version of the game.

@Nick Weihs: Yeah, it's kind of influenced by Evoland and also Upgrade Complete.

Almax27 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:01pm

I got the sound but no image loading (chrome) :(

X-0r says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Yeah, comes quite close to "Upgrade Complete" indeed... Too bad your project wasn't finished, without dying, an actual "goal" and stuff, it felt more like a cinematic to me.
Having to draw each opponent in various graphic levels must have been quite some work.

As far as the "mouse oscillating" is concerned... I didn't check the source so far, but I believe it's some bugged <= vs. < check on the x-axis...

Arcana says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Adding features every 10 seconds is a pretty interesting and a very meta way to approach the theme. I enjoyed that.

The gameplay itself was a little simplistic though, some additional interaction or movement might have benefited it some.

For some reason the performance (on web) got really slow after a while, shortly after graphics and some enemy types were introduced.

tchem says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 10:52pm

I like of concept and art design, but will can be more fast. great work

ravine says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Interesting concept. I liked how new things wold be added every 10 seconds. Maybe if you had something that changed the game play a bit every 10 seconds, that might make things a bit more fun.

Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:27pm

The hand-drawn graphics are very nice (actually I prefered them above the 'better graphics'), and adding random features is also a nice idea. But since there is no ending or dying condition, it is not really a game yet... but good concept. :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]