August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Quartz

by Vavassor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

About-
---------------------

You are deep inside the earth and you need to get out. You have a power that can help you, but it will only last for 10 seconds before running out. Spend your time wisely to solve the obstacles keeping you trapped.

Verified working on Windows 7 64-bit and Ubuntu 12 64-bit

Tools-
---------------------

Language: Java
IDE: Eclipse
Graphics: Paint Tool SAI
Music/SFX: Ableton Live

sound effects didn't actually make it in time, I made maybe about half of them but it sounded confusing with only some things making noises, so I removed all of them for consistency. Enjoy the music, though!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#63Mood3.68
#125Graphics3.79
#213Audio3.18
#240Fun3.34
#264Overall3.38
#337Innovation3.28
#389Theme3.34
#773Humor1.89

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:36am

Can't get it to run, opens for just one second then closes.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Unable to launch it. It immediately crashes with a java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
May I recommend JarSplice? (http://ninjacave.com/jarsplice)
Also, java executables are generally multi-platform (not windows-only)

Vavassor says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I initially used jarsplice and didn't include the natives for non-windows by accident, hence the link error on non-windows OS's. The current version ought to work.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:26am

Very nice!

The platforming controls were a bit difficult to use. There was no sound, but the artwork was gorgeous. The concept was interesting and unique.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:18am

Nice art! like the platform game, good work :D

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37am

I loved the dreamy and mysterious environment. The music and graphics were beautiful. Awesome! :D

EvilObjective says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:44am

I really like the artwork and the sound. Cool concept.

lcass says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:18pm

lovely game.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Very interesting game concepts. I like the music and graphics as well, reminds me of Cave Story. Thumbs up.

lazyeels says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Wait, what's this? Looks and feels interesting and moody! I enjoyed the ambience and overall experience, perhaps tool many keys. You could just use one for the specials and cycle through your abilities? Brilliant work for such a short development time.

Vavassor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Yeah, I kinda offered a lot of controls because I knew you would have to move, jump, and use the intangibility thing all at the same time which can be awkward, so it seemed like it was better to give people choice to find something comfortable. Maybe that was unnecessary, though.

johnfn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:12am

Wow, beautiful visuals and audio. Great mood, and fun platforming with a clever twist. Great scores across the board! My main complaint is actually not your fault at all: my Macbook can't handle more than 2 keyboard-keys being pressed at the same time, which makes this game really hard and awkward to play. I would suggest changing the special key to shift, which doesn't count towards the limit (and I can't imagine anyone complaining about doing so).

Still, tried to score you as if that wasn't the case.

Tym0r says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:14am

launches but closes again after 1 sec. win7 64bit.

zn01wr says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:18am

The music creates quite a dark mood, which fits well with the drawing. Good work :D

Beanalby says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:20am

I really liked it, interesting mechanics and exploration.

dook says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Couldn't get it to run either. Windows 7 with Java 7 installed :/

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:18pm

I can't play it too,after one second game is exiting.

Aslai says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:33pm

This entry was beautiful. I was incredibly frustrated by not being able to jump while ghosting, but it was otherwise an perfect game.

Vavassor says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:48am

Regarding ghosting while jumping: basically when I had it work that way there wasn't anything to prevent you from jumping while inside a wall and you could use it to glitch through walls and floors. I know its kinda annoying to ghost too early and have it cut short your jump arc, but I didn't figure out a good way to fix it in time.

Endurion says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:16am

Won't run, opens window and closes:

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: Gyp/jar
Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: Gyp.jar

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Arg, I cannot play either. I tried it with a 64bits widows 7, java 7. Here is the trace:
Exception in thread "main" java.util.InputMismatchException
at java.util.Scanner.throwFor(Unknown Source)
at java.util.Scanner.next(Unknown Source)
at java.util.Scanner.nextFloat(Unknown Source)
at entities.Entity.load(Entity.java:38)
at engine.World.loadLevel(World.java:102)
at game.Game.newGame(Game.java:66)
at game.Game.<init>(Game.java:41)
at engine.RTSTest.start(RTSTest.java:71)
at engine.RTSTest.main(RTSTest.java:292)
AL lib: (EE) alc_cleanup: 1 device not closed

Toadpud says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Very well done!

jplur says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Lovely artwork and atmosphere! It fit the theme well although the pace was a little slow. Pretty nice overall. Also, the parallax background was a great effect, nicely polished ;)

Aug 31, 2013 @ 10:19am

Beautiful style! Very cool concept.
I got stuck because it seems I cant jump while invisible, so I'm not sure how to continue.
Great work though!

naufr4g0 says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:28am

I can't play the game.
From command line I get this error:
----------
Exception in thread "main" java.util.InputMismatchException
at java.util.Scanner.throwFor(Unknown Source)
at java.util.Scanner.next(Unknown Source)
at java.util.Scanner.nextFloat(Unknown Source)
at entities.Entity.load(Entity.java:38)
at engine.World.loadLevel(World.java:102)
at game.Game.newGame(Game.java:66)
at game.Game.<init>(Game.java:41)
at engine.RTSTest.start(RTSTest.java:71)
at engine.RTSTest.main(RTSTest.java:292)
AL lib: (EE) alc_cleanup: 1 device not closed

BlackBulletIV says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:16am

Very nice concept, good graphics, mood, and music. I did find the puzzles a bit frustrating, and it didn't take long to get stuck, but nice overall.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]