August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Second Tournament

by Ray_Mickelino - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Mash the button as fast as you can to defeat your opponent. The faster you press it, the more damage you do. Win more rounds than your opponent to win the match. You can also play against the computer, who's pretty challenging. You can also play with 2 players, which is also really fun. It's a fun little fighting game that relies on speed. Please give it a try and tell me what you think. Thanks!

Controls:
WSAD, Arrow Keys, "SPACE"-menu Controls
"A" -p1Controls
"L" -p2Controls

*********************
* Soon to add! *
* Better music *
* More Levels *
* Story mode *
* Better Graphics *
* Referee *
*********************

Thanks for playing!

**UPDATE**
Now 2p mode has more characters and a character selection screen. It's also a little bit easier, due to complaints.**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#573Humor2.20
#789Audio2.06
#851Graphics2.39
#993Mood2.05
#1038Theme2.49
#1122Fun1.96
#1134Innovation1.94
#1151Overall2.13

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:17am

I keep getting this error : There should be 'TenSecondTournament_Data'
folder next to the executable
I use the Windows version. By default, when i extract the game, I get the TenSecondTournament.exe executable plus a folder named :TenSecondTournament.app I try to rename it to TenSecondTournament_Data but it doesnt work either. The game look nice on the screenshot, if you find a way to makes it work, please let me know.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Sorry about that. I accidentally uploaded the wrong file. It should work now. Thanks!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Also, I'm not sure if the mac and linux versions work. I don't have a system to test them on. If someone could try them and let me know, I would be very appreciative.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:11pm

It works really nice, so awesome!

N427 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Seems like it'd be fun with two players, it's impossible to beat the computer though.

flod says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:11pm

no web version?

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:17am

Sorry, I'm still pretty new at this. I'll work on a web version. Thanks!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:15am

Okay, now there's a web version.

VoidChronos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:23am

Kinda fun, but after around 2 minutes, still no luck in beating the computer.
Good job though.

Canobie says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:24am

Good graphics (for an LD game), good theme and good humor.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:25am

It has potential to be made more interesting with different keys/moves/fighting styles. I like the graphics. The models look neat and old-school like an N64 game.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:29am

I guess I made the computer a little too difficult. I'll make sure to fix them if I make a post compo version. Thanks for the feedback!

Fervir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37am

Haha I liked the punching.
Nice presentation and music.

Laelien says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:37am

Fun, but the game is a little too difficult indeed.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:26am

Great job putting this together! Love the n64 retro ish graphics. nice work :D

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51pm

ugh I suck at this game. I use to be so good at button bashers. You made me rage quit ray :)

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:50pm

It is hard, but it is possible. I've been able to do it a few times. Thanks for playing!

Jayjay says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:24am

It would be awesome if you could alternate keys to do left/right swings

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:50am

Oh yeah that would be cool. Good idea.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Really interesting idea

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Was never sure what button to hit...

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:26pm

I realized after mashing all the buttons on my keyboard that I had to mash the 'A' button for it to work. And then I won :D (Web version)

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Sorry. I didn't have time to work in a controls screen. I wrote it in the description though. Hope that you had fun!

mutilator says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:16am

wow this took forever to load, neat game though

Static 64 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 1:17am

It's okay, but too hard. It does give a real sense of accomplishment if you win, but mashing one button isn't that fun.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:27am

Okay, I made it a little easier due to many requests. The web mode has been updated, but the rest are from the compo. Thanks

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:48pm

It is impossible vs pc

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

@XaiZil Did you play the compo version or post compo. The post compo version is easier.

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I like the character choices. The computer seems impossible to beat in the original version, but much easier in the post-compo version. Cool idea

IHackedDeath says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:22am

haha, i likes this entry but it i finally got 100 hits in.
good game but pre compo was alright just a bit difficult.
keep it up was good

ratalaika says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:15am

good job

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Haha, this game has to be player 2P for it to be real fun...

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:26pm

sorry i had no idea what to do -- one charater was just doing a flurry of punches?

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:53pm

@SP0Cker2 Sorry. I'm planning on adding a controls screen, but the controls are in the description. Hope you can figure it out. Thanks!

Brejlounek says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Desktop version 1 player mode is impossible, web version link is broken. face textures are funny, music is a bit out of the rythm.

Skye says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:27pm

computer seems impossible to beat. Not super fun but also not super boring

Ray_Mickelino says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Sorry about that. The web version should be fixed. The computer should be easier in the post compo version.

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:00am

The characters are funny, I like the graphics.
Gameplay reminds of me Castle Crashers' "All you can eat" game mode.
One thing you could've done was to make you fight the different characters on 1P mode (one after another) like a tournment.
Pretty game! =)

KunoNoOni says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Interesting idea. Good Job.

MrBlade says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 4:35am

Hm, this theme seems to really play to the "button mashing" mechanic. Nice sounds. Good visuals. (My arm hurts though.)

TobiasW says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Thanks for your comment on my game! Yeah, the friends require a bit of deduction and careful observation. Tip: They fell to the darkness, like you do when you touch the darkness too long.

Your game is rather simple, but I imagine it's fun with 2 players - sadly I'm alone here right now. The computer is pretty hard to beat! I think sound effects would've made this a lot better.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]