August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 Second Happy Rocket

by Starspell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Lift your happiness to the stars!

This game made me learn a ton about making games with box2fp as I had never used physics like this in a game before.

Whilst not a traditional game it is fun for a knock-a-bout. Hope you guys like it and that you find it fun too.

-------------
Suggested Challenge
-------------

Try to lift as many weights successfully as possible. The current record is two weights by sirtetris. Trophy to the victor with screenshot proof perhaps? :)

-------------
Creative Mode Update
-------------

Creative Mode has now been added by request. In this version you no longer have the 10 second time limit in which to complete your rocket. I've made them totally different files with different links for the sake of the competition. DO NOT RATE THE CREATIVE VERSION - that's just for happy exploding fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#71Fun3.67
#112Innovation3.72
#224Overall3.43
#278Humor2.78
#313Mood3.06
#366Theme3.36
#602Audio2.46
#888Graphics2.33

Comments

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:12am

Haha, cool. :D The intro part is super helpful and the game itself is really fun.

A minimum of random inaccuracy of the rockets would have been nice, though. Once you figure out one rocket will go up perfectly straight it's too easy to win.

Lidfrid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:14am

I was like: "yeeeeeaaaah"
A score with the height reach, would be nice!

sirtetris says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:29am

Happyness payload plus 2 weights: http://i.imgur.com/Ie3uoMm.jpg graciously chills its way upwards ... :D
Who manages to lift more weights all the way up?

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:56am

Hah, Good idea =)
It's really fun I think!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:06am

Great concept, managed to get to get to the full height with some trial and error.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Cool game with nice concept.

ShitAndSon says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Really nice ! Original and addictive.

motty says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Awesome game, awesome LD entry. Can't fault any part of it.

robbe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Really well done, pretty original!

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:12pm

I won! :D

I really wish that overlapped parts became glued to each other.

berkano says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:13pm

That was neat! I'm not very good at paying attention to instructions, but it became clear what to do after a few tries. Nice job :-)

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Good to see someone using a tutorial. The game was fun and the idea was rather cool. Graphics were simple but served their purpose

MrBlade says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Great job! I love this game! I wish there was a way to "fuse" small squares with the thruster rects. Anyway, awesome work. Great physics, nice graphics, glad you made sounds to. That added so much to the game. KEEP IT UP!

Vasileiadis says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:25pm

YES! I MADE IT I BEAT THAT CURSED THING!
Dude I was going at it for a good 10 minutes - this *is* rocket science :P
Really fun & catchy! If you ask me, do something with it ;)
There you go - my first 5* for Fun & Innovation :D

Gabriel says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:38pm

LOVED IT! Managed to get to the top, but taking two extra weights? IMPOSSIBRU! Sirtetris, you must have used some really obscure form of witchcraftery with that record of yours! hahaha

Hey, Starspell, you know what would be great? A 'creative mode' with no time limit. I'm really curious about what I would be able to build if I had time to play with some more complex structures! :D

Congratulations on the entry, loved it!

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Thanks for all of the wonderful comments everyone! I'm glad that you are all enjoying it so much. I think a creative version would be pretty fun as well to put up so tomorrow I'll post another version without the time limit for fun.

mboaj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:05am

Wow! :) This is really a great idea :) I love the whole building and the whole emerging gameplay that comes out from two block types! :) Congratulations!

TammiLion says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:45pm

I made it on my third try, lucky me haha. It got stuck after that and the exploding sound kept playing which was actually fun, felt like firework was exploding all around me.

Urfoex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Made it to the top ^^

Placing things is a bit off. When I click the box will appear one px to the right.

Also: one box, one smiley, one rocket -- takes ages :D

Gabriel says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Haha, the creative mode is so much fun! After like 10 minutes of careful, pixel-precise box positioning, I managed to make a flying wall made of like 30 rockets and boxes that reached like 1800 ft, then some minimal alignment error caused a chain reaction making the whole 'ship' crumble on itself. The best part was the smiley's face when things started getting ugly. hahaha So fun!

About the error in Super Fair Trial Show, from what you described it really sounds like a graphic card issue (that huge blue square was supposed to become invisible through the use of a certain shader, that's why I think that is the problem). But thanks a lot for trying to play and reporting the problem! :D

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:31am

Good fun to play around with, I liked the addition of the creative mode despite lacking the theme.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:04am

Ok I'm terrible at it but it's really good. I enjoyed the creative mode more, but the 10 second version is till good. This could end up being a really really good game, with more rocket parts and such. I hope you keep developing it.

Mago says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Very oryginal and fun game.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

This was really fun to me. I like the build-n-run concept quite a lot!

Starspell says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Cheers for all the wonderful comments guys!

Purplescape says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Awesome game! It took me a while to make a rocket that got to success, and that was with no weights. It was a lot of fun

timothyolt says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:46pm

4 weights on creative if it counts for something. :P
http://imgur.com/uKMlWLf

Mlle Eole says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:59pm

"Less is more" good lesson. :)
Simple and fuuuuuun ! :D ~~\o/

Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Found this game to be SOOO fun! It was awesome! I featured it in my LD27 compilation series if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/FJWNdgd85u0

Jacob123 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 12:27pm

Hard game but really fun. I try to spam a bunch of thrusters on the bottom of the screen.

Aslai says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 12:48am

I got it with three weights :)
http://puu.sh/4k5CJ.png

SneManden says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 11:27am

Very fun game! And nice tutorial in the beginning.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Nice game, I love physics games!

flap says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 10:48am

If we could links between rockets and weight, that would be perfect !

Starspell says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Thanks for all the feedback and compliments everyone. I'm glad everyone has been enjoying the game. I do intend to spend time developing it into something more after the competition.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]