August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Deadly Sunrise

by jayhC - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You, vampire, will burn in the cruel light of sun. The sunrise has begun and you have not much time. Get to the cave at the end of the level and try to avoid too much brightness exposure, otherwise you will burn to ash!
Not only will the full sunlight make you burn instantly, but exposing to light for more then 10 seconds will make you burn to ash aswell. So decide wisely if you want to rest in the shadow, since the full sunlight is approaching...


Features, that didn't make it into the game:
- Background music
- More levels
- Powerups (speed, freeze light, advanced sunprotection etc)
- Infinite game mode


Tools used:
- Flashdevelop
- Flashpunk
- Paint.NET
- Ogmo Editor
- Pickle
- Bfxr
- Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#87Overall3.69
#110Fun3.56
#193Graphics3.57
#220Theme3.53
#271Mood3.13
#316Innovation3.31
#324Humor2.67
#654Audio2.36

Comments

nek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:13am

That was really playable.
My only concern is it's too hard (but I think that's by intention).
The idea of vampire running from sunlight is fun but 10 seconds mechanic is a bit vague.
It lacks music but the graphics set the mood well enough..

Overall it's fun and I can see me finishing the game if the levels complexity raises more gradually.
Good job!

tobbez says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Really liked this.

Good difficulty (and increase thereof), and the combined mechanics of life and the sunrise worked out well.

It would have been nice with some music and a "real" ending.

Jacob123 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Really fun game. I love the mechanics and I really like the visuals. The game is a little hard though. Maybe that is my lack of skill. Overall nice job though!

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Nice graphics and good implementation of the 10 seconds theme. I like it.

syawqy says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:57am

I don't like it when holding jump button make you jump continuously, that make timing and positioning harder, especially when you don't have much time to think

but beside that this is a solid entry

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:37am

I really like general concept about vampire and sun.
Good job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:01am

Very easy to pick up and fun to play, good work.

Eddy93 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:52pm

I liked this game, everything worked and it was fun to play. Love the graphics too. I only miss some backgroundmusic. But Good job!

dudsen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Cool Stuff. Pretty hard, cool stuff. Love the "need to run away to stay alive but need to hang out in shadows as well" mechanic!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Nice blood sucking platformer :D I love it.. second level is really hard because sun is faster then regeneration in some points ^^

wulfdesign says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:49pm

I love the theme implementation... though play was a little hard... I did beat the tutorial level! would have played more if I thought I could possibly make it on the next levels... great job in the 48hr solo compo. would love to see this game up on a site... (possibly have stuff easier on lower levels and spikes etc later...)

wulfdesign says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:52pm

hmm... also be cool to see an endless runner mode... just keep ahead of the sun... :)

namrog84 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:50am

loved the idea of health and shadows
Vampire!!

bitserum says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:59am

The idea is great, a vampire hiding from the sun - pure awesome. The graphics are nice too, but the controls are a bit iffy and they make an already hard game harder

yetatore says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:38am

Overall: Pretty well done game.
Flavors: Character, color palette and shades.
Pains: Audio (to high).

=D

Zccc says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:56am

I don't know why people think it's hard, I completed it really fast! Excellent game, loved everything in it!

siat says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:25am

Fun game, but the controls were difficult. I kept jumping right into silver spikes :(

aayars says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:29am

High marks for innovation!

0beah says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:49am

Great controls. Nice artwork. Little too hard tho.

atgaubatz says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:06am

Nice! Quite challenging.

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:40am

Great work. The aesthetics and incorporation of the theme were great. I didn't think it was too difficult, like some others have mentioned, but I did have problems a few times with the character jumping when I didn't want him to. Maybe something with detected key down where a key press would have been better? Not sure how what your tools look like, so that could possibly have been out of your control to a degree.

Anyway, I really liked the game. This was a really cool interpretation of the theme I wanted to do early on, but didn't, so I'm glad someone did!

mamoniem says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:49am

Nice game, i like the idea of increasing in the shadow. well done !

Anachron says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:51am

Great graphics/mood and the 'darkness heals' idea gives it a nice puzzle twist. Second level is, in my opinion, harder than the third. Great great!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:57am

Cool! Beautiful colors, interesting gameplay. A chip with a cloak - very funny. I like it!

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:13am

I really liked this game! The runaway from the sun was so awsome! But it was kind of hard so i didn't get that far... hehe! But i like your idea very much! The mood is nice too. But i would like some music to set the mood even more =)

Larzan says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:50am

Wow, great grafix style, like the "vampire burn in ten sec. idea"!
Well made game.

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:36pm

I like the way you approached the theme :) Very nice.

Misfit says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Wow.. this is addictive! Awesome gameplay. Good Job!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Hoo I like the idea, nice approach. Timing the jumps was a bit hard for me because of the way it was programmed. But nice job overall!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Cool entry. The jumping mechanic feels very responsive. But it is extremely stressful with all these timers to watch :)

Ithildin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Great entry! The hide in the shadow mechanic is a clever plug of the theme, and the escape from the sun makes it quite challenging. Nice job!! =)

MidCry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Best game i played among entries ...
Face paced platformer with suitable control and fun theme ..
Wanna play more ...

team_cow says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Very addictive! The controls need a little tweaking to match the difficulty of the game.. Otherwise good fun :)

dismedia says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:22pm

Good concept -suits great to the theme .

everything is fine, except sounds :)
good job

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:53pm

hard, but fun. would love to see this with other vampire mechanics.

Ariake81 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:12pm

friggin amazing! perfect concept and very playable, id deffo buy that if it was on app store! best i've played so far....

jayhC says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:05pm

WOW. I didn't expect this many feedback already! Thanks everyone for the constructive words!

To be honest I was even afraid that this game might be too easy xD HAHA! I really didnt want it to be too easy, so I made a way too hard game I guess.
I guess, the jump mechanic and levels are adapted to MY playstyle (so it wasn't that hard at all..)


But I am really glad that is well received.
Thanks again for all the comments ;)

Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:16pm

This is pretty addictive! There are some features that elevate this over the run-of-the-mill platformer entry: for example, showing the distance to the encroaching sunlight is a nice feature. The increasingly difficult levels create a nice tension towards the end, and the levels are well-designed: I found that most of the difficult areas rewarded tactics rather than just persistence. The way you're chased by a wall of sunlight reminds me of "Eversion". (Though in that game it was a wall of darkness, so... a reversion of Eversion?)

The sound effects could be a bit less basic. The character and scenery art is pretty basic, too (though the all-black scenery works well, seeing how it's before dawn), but I love the background.

A fun, well-paced, polished piece.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Had fun playing this, it's challenging but not too challenging. So it's good!

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Loved the graphics and the movement, pretty awesome entry :P

65C816 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:04pm

It's so hardcore !!!!!

Supercannon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Very difficult to play. It would be nice to have some coast in the movement.

wintermute says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:10pm

I liked the idea and the gameplay a lot, levels are certainly difficult but smart. Theme fits ok but not grealy.
The input handling is also not perfect and it really lacks some background music, but this being said, very well made for being a compo game!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Nice platformer with an interesting, theme-fitting twist. I liked the graphics and the possibility to choose different paths. Good job!

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Very well thought out and executed game. Nice graphics, and clever gameplay. I found the jumping a bit frustrating, which made the game feel a bit unfair too quickly. The sun really gave a sense of urgency, which added to the mood. It was also nice that you added the distance as well. Nice job!

spitfire87 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:27am

Great idea and playable result. Really nice ofr 48h 1 guy compo. Just to criticise something, i prefer the 1 push 1 jump mechanics instead of the keep jumping while pressed. It killed me a few times :P

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

I love the game. Its really nice and well done. I love the idea and how the shadows recharged you, but sometimes it was hard to get to theme. Very good. I featured this game in my compilation video of Ludum Dare 27 games, if you would like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/okyxuWBF5Yw

sgehlich says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Great game! Very hard but also very nice concept and execution :)

leafo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Good mechanic, nicely put together. Great job!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Very difficult yet satisfying game, like the little character and the concept it pretty neat. Rated highly. ^_^

KeithE. says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:05am

very fun game. I liked that wasn't just a straight up runner and that I had more control over my character.

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Very nice concept and features!
Nice presentation on the game too. Good and challenging level design.

Nice work!

myachin says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 10:27am

great job!
one of the best ld27 games i've seen

Ariake81 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:06am

amazing! best of the jam. way better than canabalt(seriously, it takes that overall play style to the next level)... now kicking myself i did'nt come up with such a clever take on the theme.

megashroom says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 12:38am

Nicely done.
The graphics were amazing, the levels were genuinely difficult, but not in a way that prevented replayability.
The theme was pretty well accounted for too.
Overall, very good.

iiechapman says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Very solid entry, excellent use of the theme, great levels. Very well rounded. Love the way the theme plays into the mechanics.

flavio says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Really fun :) It is really hard from the beginning, but addictive !

Alink says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Very fun. Hard but very well balanced. Good levels with multiple paths. Really nice job.

Xaychru04 says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:28pm

I really like the idea, and it's very well executed, the pixel art is lovely, and the game is pretty difficult, but not too much. Good job! :)

bitowl says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 7:37am

huh, that was hard. But it's a lot of fun and the controls work really well.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]