August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Midlands Noire

by Ysty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Midlands Noire is a game made in Unity set in a fictional austerity Britain in 2024, inspired by the "every ten seconds so and so earns this much" and "every ten seconds so and so many people die" statistics used commonly in the media. The gameplay is primarily based around exploration and the game has two endings.

This is the first polygonal game I have ever made, and I was quite rushed by the end. The game was a bit too ambitious, but I managed to implement most of what I was going for in a rough form at the very least.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#43Mood3.79
#314Humor2.69
#407Graphics3.13
#529Overall3.08
#674Innovation2.80
#674Audio2.32
#912Theme2.72
#972Fun2.37

Comments

adekto says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05am

mac version wont run

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:09am

Great job for your first polygonal game. It's kinda short but it was fun to realize there is no way to win. Good work !

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:39am

hm. This look very promising. I just not quite fully understand where is the "10 seconds" theme here. And i like how statue's shadow doesn correspond to the statue itself :) And the text is quite hard to see when youre upclose to the store.

Rave Radbury says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:40am

Fantastic atmosphere! I especially enjoyed the commentary on the storefronts. Congrats on your first polygonal game.

panurge says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:43am

Nice atmosphere and thought-provoking text. A few more sound effects would have gone a long way to deepen the mood but otherwise I really liked this.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:44am

love the aesthetics, the setting and the way you made me feel small and vulnerable. good implemented writing too.

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:37am

Great atmosphere and dialogue, pretty engaging.

Flai says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Great mood! I'm not sure either where the "10 seconds" is in this though :| The graphics were a bit rough too but still pretty good. Great job :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Very atmospheric, reminds me of "they live" as you walk about then as you get close the text changes.

gikdew says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:33pm

3d atmosphere is really good, you should improove the graphics !

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Great game, the way the text shows up on store fronts is a really neat idea, and I feel like it's a pretty deep/educational message given by the game, got a little confused at times when I was "earning money" and it went back to zero. Also when I click at the end and it says Click to End nothing happend, is it supposed to do that? Or is that just for the non-web versions? Great job either way!

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Brilliant.

carlsommer says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Great environment and an interesting pseudo-commentary. I also really enjoyed how the statue didn't correspond with it's shadow.

Ysty says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:49pm

@Beardbotnik Thanks! Yeah, the "click to end" thing is from the non-web versions. I'm pretty new to Unity and I didn't end up building the game to a web version until after LD48 had ended, so it didn't feel right to change the text (although I probably should have).

dkilford says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:40pm

Interesting idea, I was very confused throughout the game which I assume was the intention. I'm interested to see what you would have done if you were planning to add later on.

frogcheese says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Atmospheric, though it wasn't easy to spot the theme. The storefront effect was pretty neat.

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:57pm

a w e some.

zillix says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:55am

beautiful and morose. great entry!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Great atmosphere, and some nice detailing (statue's shadow, the second ending, ...). The mood was really eerie, excellent job for your first 3D game!

Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Interesting game. I really liked the mood. Though if in real life you ever find yourself actually starving to death because you lack money, you can always eat grub worms. They are freely available under rocks and cost no money!

kristof says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:09pm

I like the mood of this game. At first I thought I found a bug, when I accidentally fell out of the world. I was positively surprised that you had that in mind. Nice entry.

timothyolt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:42pm

The Linux version is not running for me, and it looks like the same is for the Mac version

Ysty says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:02pm

@timothyolt Yeah, sorry I screwed those up. I've redone them and they should work now!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:38pm

good job

Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:04am

Interesting game. Definitley had a very strong point to make, though as a non-European I had to do a bit of research to understand it.

Overall a respectable first foray into the world of 3D games :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Nice entry, interesting and strange, and also good mood !

Sep 1, 2013 @ 8:54am

look nice) Shadow have some idea)

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:29am

Reminds me of old doom levels I used to make back in the day.

Story is pretty cool.

paulmcgg says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Wow. Really like how you get the thoughts across. I feel awkward saying I love this game though (I do), tough stuff. :/

Capro says ...
Sep 9, 2013 @ 11:03am

Nice game with an interesting theme. Good job!

Cosr says ...
Sep 12, 2013 @ 2:06am

It's simple, but reasonably effective for what it tries to convey. The use of the money counter to sort of show what other have and then take it away from you was compelling.

The storefront text was pretty cool too.

jwolf says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 5:04am

Interesting and very moody piece. I think your message could be even more effectively presented it you built game mechanics around some of the examples...however, that would be a far more lengthy and ambitious project. (...and an entirely different sort of game, probably. Just an idea.)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]