August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Picto-Tel

by deathray - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Picto-Tel is an online, collaborative game of telephone.
Players are challenged to either draw a picture or describe a picture, all in under 10 seconds. Test the quickness of your creativity or just browse the games to see the humorous confusion.

This game is a HTML5 + JavaScript single-page app with a PHP + MySQL back-end. The only library used is jQuery.

The only browser I tested on was Chrome (v28), although it should work fine in other browsers. The drawing does not seem to work on touch devices, but all the other features should. Please let me know if you experience any errors or problems.

Inspired by Broken Picture Telephone.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#359Innovation3.24
#402Humor2.53
#433Theme3.30
#511Overall3.10
#576Graphics2.85
#737Fun2.70
#1452Coolness37%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:58am

Hahah I got great fun drawing and trying to figure what the pictures represents. Nice game and great concept !

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:36am

I wish more people were online playing, this is pretty cool!

HippyJonYo says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:00am

Hah, in such a short time the pictures can turn pretty silly! :D

mklee says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:00am

Wow, this is pretty impressive technically to complete for Ludum Dare! It's a little confusing to join games though and I accidentally created a few empty pictures myself due to the GUI.

aeveis says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

nice asynchronous play.

dekart says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:23am

I like the idea!

Cosmologicon says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Great idea but it seems kind of buggy to me. I pick to continue a game and it says there are none available. I look at the list of completed games and there are dozens with only 1 or 2 turns completed. I can start New Games but that's not very fun. I'm going to hold off on rating.

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

drawing its deffinitively not my main skill... but I'd love to be good at it, because htis games is definitively well worked. It's understandable and looks clear and straight forward design.
a good one!

Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:10am

Good idea and a great achievement for a 48 hour game jam

deathray says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Thanks for the comments!
Sorry, but right now the game is temporarily down due to a database problem with my host. And there also may be a bug that is unintentionally locking the games, which is why you may see none available to join. Hopefully I can have it back up and fixed soon.

deathray says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Ok, the database is back up and running now. I'll keep an eye on the data to make sure the games aren't accidentally locked. If you encounter a blank drawing or text, just make something up so the game can go on!

Fervir says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:17am

This is really cool!! I wish there were more people playing this.
Having 10 seconds to decide on what to do gets some crazy things going on.
I really like how I can choose how I want to play.
Excellent job, one of my favorites!

dagothig says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:28am

Really cool idea, I'm really bad at it, but it's really slick

manuq says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 4:57pm

I like this kind of collaborative creation games :) Not sure how to rate them through, with LD categories.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]