August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

No Time for Nibbles

by larb - 48 Hour Compo Entry

No Time for Nibbles

Controls: WASD or arrow keys to change direction.

If you remember Nibbles/Worms/Tron light cycle games, this game is like that. With a 10 second time limit on life. Eating food increases life time. Crossing a path decreases life time.

Tips:
- DO eat food.
- DON'T cross another worm's tail.
- DO try to make another worm cross your tail.
- DON'T leave the designated area.
- DON'T eat poop.

Browsers:
- Chrome 29 works and has sound!
- Firefox 23, works, no sound.
- IE 10, works, no sound.
- Safari ...

If the game doesn't fit nice in your browser, you can zoom with Ctrl+ or Ctrl-.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#99Fun3.58
#239Overall3.41
#383Humor2.58
#501Mood2.80
#640Audio2.39
#656Graphics2.73
#749Innovation2.72
#840Theme2.84

Comments

TheHermit says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:08am

For your list of browsers: it didn't get past loading on Opera, due to an issue with window.requestAnimationFrame.

Worked fine in Chrome though!

nek says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:20am

I find this game strangely amusing and want to see a multiplayer version some day.

PaidGEEK says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I adore the simplistic graphics. Game fits well with the theme and it's quite fun. Good job.

Danex317 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:49am

I am getting a 404 from Dropbox.

Raiyumi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58am

Same here, 404 error.

Blinked says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:05am

Same, I'll check back on this one later.

Zephyr89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06am

Same as everyone else. Dropbox 404.

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06am

Getting a 404 as well. contact me @stalkjimmy on twitter if it starts working. I will check back often.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:22am

I get a 404 error on Dropbox. ;_;
I'll check back tomorrow.

larb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:26am

Huh. Sorry everybody. Not sure what happened. I got the 404 too, checked my dropbox, and it came back up right away at the link.

dancingflame says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:03am

The game is quite interesting. Never thought of having so many worms on the platform at one time.

Diventurer says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Neat! I like how you made Snake multiplayer basically. I won't say that the game fits well with the theme though, it's very vaguely interpreted. But it's a nice game!

tigerj says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:59pm

I revisited today thanks for updating us on the 404!

I really like the game (it worked in chrome but wouldn't load all the way in safari for me)

I love snake (especially on the nokia phones of yesteryear)

so much fun. great work and nice game. I like the colors too.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:21pm

This is a pretty cool snake game, the music fits really well. I feel like I'm looking through a microscope and just watching these things poop and grow...I'm pretty sure those red things are poop :P

One odd thing is when I eat one of those red things, my snake will grow into odd shapes. Not sure if it is a bug or feature.

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Very good 10-seconds version of the classic Snake game!

Neil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:53pm

I enjoyed this a lot! Graphics are nice and simplistic, music is cool, and gameplay is fun!

Katamori says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Addictive and simple! Love the music, too.

KeithE. says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Really fun variant of snake. I would love a local mp version of this!

BeardoGames says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Just... wow! The game was intriguing enough from the screens for me to open it using a different browser that Safari, and I'm glad I did! Beautiful in terms of the minimal graphics, the color, and the overall spareness of the design. All that and it was super enjoyable too!

HauntedSoul says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Very cool graphics and sound! Also neat take on snake, would also be interested on trying this as multiplayer.

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:12am

Sweet, I haven't played anything like this in years. Pseudo-multiplayer too, pretty awesome.

X-0r says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:24am

Oh my... a TRON / Snake crossover? How cool is that? With actual poop! Adds a lot to the realism, and I really mean that, even if I still chuckle from the idea of death through poop^^

namuol says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 5:21am

Great feel to the game, lots of stuff going on but simple to understand, easy to pick up and play.

My best time was 35 seconds, but I have a feeling I could do better. Great fun!

Sep 3, 2013 @ 6:12am

Fun!!
Simple mechanics and graphics that goes a long way.
Great work!

Capro says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:21am

This is very good. Great job!

fferro234 says ...
Sep 16, 2013 @ 4:44am

Nice snake like game. I liked the graphics and found it humorous that the snakes poo out other squares.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]