August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MOONTRIP

by chocobyte - 48 Hour Compo Entry

MOONTRIP
================================
Multiplayer Galaxy Jumping Game
================================
At the backyard of a laboratory of
crazy scientists the spectacular rocket
flight to moon was not only shut down
because the also famous so called 'technical
difficulties' but the latest gravity
experiment went completely wrong!
Rocks are flying everywhere! This
is the chance to start your TRIP TO MOON!
================================
Controls: W A S D to move
================================
LUDUM DARE 27 ENTRY BY CHOCOBYTE

Runs best on Chrome! But Firefox works just fine..!
www.chocobyte.com

Attention:
If there is a huge lag at game start,
dont worry, it is level data which is
received from the server!

Please report technical problems.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#419Humor2.50
#687Graphics2.68
#757Audio2.15
#900Innovation2.48
#1067Fun2.17
#1086Overall2.40
#1188Theme1.39
#1337Coolness44%

Comments

Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05am

I'm not sure if it was part of the game or if you run into difficulty, but I can't do anything except from moving from left to right and jump. The space launcher doesn't seem to work so I cant go anywhere like on your screenshot. The graphics are nice and I love 2d 3d perspective !

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Sorry, no Chrome here.

chocobyte says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:55pm

archaeometrician, there was a problem that a file on the server was wrong, because it pointed unluckily to localhost and not the right url: www.chocobyte.com! Thanks for your kind words I really appreciate it!

AmyDee says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:41am

Most of the time I didn't really know what I was doing, as the jumping was hard to control deliberately, but after I just held the up key and wiggled around I eventually made it to the goal.

I liked the little splash of humor but I couldn't find any "actual" ending to it. The game part of it could have used more depth and/or clearer controls, however the actual experience of ascending to space was surprisingly compelling. Keep at it!

Marcellus says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:35am

At first I found controls VERY frustrating, then, after reading comments, I found that holding W really helps a lot.
I reached the top, tried to jump over the three and stuff, and was about to leave, but another player came in and we could try to go toeather.

Unfortunately, he left after few missed jumps.

I think this game purpose can only be fully understood while played with other people

Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:20am

very frustrating at first. But multiplayer fr the LD is rare so good job and after a while i manage to climb on the moon and didn't regret it. Nice game.

udo says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:33pm

This doesn't load for me - anyone else having the same problem?

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:38pm

This is not how jumping mechanic should work... And wheres the 10 seconds theme in here?

Kohijin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:44pm

It feels clunky and weird, but I am still very involved because it just adds to the game's charm. Also pulling this of with HTML/JS with the multiplayer bit (which I have yet to try) is quite an achievement!

Bmanrules says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Nice game, Controls were a bit unresponsive at first, and game was difficult. Not sure how it fit in with the theme, but still nice

XaiZil says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:53pm

It was verrry tricky trying to get up there

davidwparker says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 10:02pm

Didn't load for me either...

vikingpotato says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Didn't rate. The loading screen looks fine but the game doesn't ever load

chocobyte says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Maybe the game was already full loaded but the "Loading" Text just didnt disappear. I saw this problem in Firefox.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Didn't load for me using Chrome.

Almax27 says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Unfortunately, I didn't manage to jump higher than 2 "blocks" xD

Spaceoff says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Looked great but unfortunately I couldn't get it to work, even on chrome. Hell I even tried it with a canary build of chrome, and it didn't even load.

I got it to load once but no controls were responding and switching tab permanently froze it.

porglezomp says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:04pm

The page isn't loading for me.
I'm using Chrome on OSX.

Blue Steel says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:48am

Doesn't load for me on firefox

Blue Steel says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 2:51am

never mind just took ages...

Empyrealhell says ...
Sep 8, 2013 @ 8:27am

Where was the theme?

Sep 8, 2013 @ 9:20am

First impression: the sprites are awesome, the tree in particular. It would be nice if there was a consistent pixel size, so objects in the distance wouldn't look more detailed just because they have smaller pixels.

The platform physics are glitchy, which makes this frustrating. Try adding some acceleration, to make a parabolic jump instead of a linear one. You might also want to add some code to make the player stick to the moving platforms, because they keep moving away from under you. Here is a very good article: http://higherorderfun.com/blog/2012/05/20/the-guide-to-implementing-2d-platformers/

... Whoa, reading the comments, it's multiplayer? That's impressive for a weekend game!

chocobyte says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 11:39am

Hey Frozen Fractal, thanks a lot for your feedback! You are right, the movement could be improved a lot, thank you for the useful link! I actually started a player-stick-to-platform script but it turned out to be not stable enough to make it in the game, as time was slowly running out ;)

01rafael says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 12:04pm

thanks for web version! )))
great graphics,
sorry, but controls is to hard, not good collisions with islands, not exciting jumps, try to rewrite this features

Pickens Inc. says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Quite confused :) like the idea, but really no idea what to do D:

Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:37pm

Heh, strange game... but not really bad! :) Pretty cool in a way, but the music is a real pain! :(

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 3:50pm

A very strange game. The platforming overral is flawed, but but on the other hand the moon was drawn nicely.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]