August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Smoggy Seconds

by TheCze - Jam Entry

You are managing the rescue forces of a troubled City. Every 10 seconds a new wave of cars will enter the city and every 10 seconds a new emergency will appear. Send units to accidents, prevent the fire from spreading and see that traffic flows before smog engulfs the whole city.

==INSTRUCTIONS==
Keep smog level beneath deadly levels and stay in positive cash to hold of defeat.
You need to build firestations and hospitals before you can send out units.
Each car that leaves the city will lower the smog level and earn you cash but each firestation and hospital have an occuring cost so don't overexpand!



I hope the windowed version helps people that are having problems running the game. If you are still having troubles and are playing the windowed version. Please tell me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#89Innovation(Jam)3.52
#407Mood(Jam)2.58
#440Graphics(Jam)2.73
#453Theme(Jam)2.75
#493Overall(Jam)2.65
#533Fun(Jam)2.23

Comments

madk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:19am

The Java program doesn't start up for me. I'm on Win7.

nastynate says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:20am

Does not run for me, unfortunately. Nothing comes up after executing.

Danex317 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47am

It works fine for me. Also Win7. Takes a second to load up but it works.

soerensen3 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Same for me. It just won't start. (Win7).

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50pm

On OS/X i get:
Exception in thread "LWJGL Application" com.badlogic.gdx.utils.GdxRuntimeException: Couldn't set display mode 1280x720, fullscreen: true
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglGraphics.setupDisplay(LwjglGraphics.java:150)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication.mainLoop(LwjglApplication.java:131)
at com.badlogic.gdx.backends.lwjgl.LwjglApplication$1.run(LwjglApplication.java:114)
Hope this helps!

Entity2D says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Unique and interesting game, it would be much better if you could zoom in and out with the mouse wheel, and scroll by moving the mouse to the sides of the screen.

SneManden says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42pm

I really liked the graphics. However it could use some feedback to the user, when you click a fire or accident. The map was a little boring, given that it is large and just lines.

However, great work - and very hectic!
(worked fine, Linux)

Arrow-x says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:44pm

I love the Graphics and Intresting Idea

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:50pm

I got this to run just fine. It might be less confusing if you started with some buildings. I really like the pixel perfect graphics. Makes me want to do some 2d art for a change.

elementz123 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Took me a while to figure it out, but very interesting concept that was quite fun. It would be a lot more manageable if you were able to zoom out far enough to see all of the action instead of having to scroll the screen all the time. Overall good game!

loxo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Nice game, only sound effects are missing. And I would like to see a smaller map at the beginning. Windowed version is working for me (OS X).

kristof says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:32pm

I really like the idea. But I thing the map should have been a bit smaller. or give the player more money from the start. I could not really keep up with the fires.
But still a very nice entry!

Starspell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:06pm

I can't seem to play this one. Even tried it from the command line and it seems to do nothing on my Win 7 laptop.

Zerkruemler says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:59am

Very cool idea, but I think the playfield is too big and the game is therefore unnessesarily hard. I was not able to get in the positive. I would like to see some increasing difficulty level (starting low)

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:14pm

too big and too empty map. but the moving cars and explosions look really cool. would like to see you make more with the concept.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:05pm

I can see what was meant to be in this game but unfortunately it falls a little short on promises :( A mini-map would've been nice, along with a soundtrack - and more reactive controls.

Keep trying though, I like to see ambitious projects such as those :)

lopiky1 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:28am

fun :D

mollymus says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 11:42am

I felt like the map was a bit too large, and I would've really liked a minimap! Also felt like the game got a little messy, but I think the concept is pretty neat and with some polishing I think this could make for a pretty decent time waster on mobile devices?:) (I see you're using java, so check out libGDX for mobile deployment!)

nilo says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 10:25am

Nothing happends when i run the jar

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]