August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Anhedonia in Memoriam

by agumaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Adventure platformer. You are a little robot seeking for happiness, but if you are not charged in 10 seconds you die in depression. Figure out how to escape this sad world.
Use only arrow keys.
All bugs fixed by 30/08/2013

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#41Mood3.80
#114Audio3.42
#202Graphics3.56
#220Theme3.53
#428Overall3.18
#539Humor2.25
#572Fun2.91
#735Innovation2.74

Comments

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 5:58am

Aw, sad robot. Love the color palette, reminds me of old CGA games.

vitou3d says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19am

Interesting music, good way to use the theme, and easy control there. Good game. By the way, I'm having a bit of problem getting this started. It takes some times to load.

TaleLore says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Collided with the air and got stuck at some points, otherwise pretty fun.

withoutpillow says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:01pm

great artistic style and music. really like the color palette. to bad i suck on these kind on games, would really like to see the game world get expanded in some game where i didn't have to worry about time-limit.

AlvaroH says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Great game!

agumaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:55pm

thanks a lot people ! withoutpillow, its would be an amazing idea :D .

Clavus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:24pm

Nice artstyle. Gameplay is nothing too special. Got stuck a few times during room transitions.

agumaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:44pm

i had fixed some room transition bugs minutes ago :)

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Ah. This was one of my concepts too! I love the colors. Colisions and physics are not too great though.

Loren says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:00pm

really night look, dig the music too!

Capro says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:30pm

I love the weird graphics and music. You should improve the gameplay and controls.

mtrc says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Superb graphical style and mood. Really atmospheric, a joy to play! I found it pretty hard as it went on, but yeah - develop this further!

agumaster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:10pm

thanks a lot mtrc !

agumaster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:59pm

people i fixed a lot of bugs, there are not room transition mistakes anymore :)

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Nice little platformer.

Having the movement keys stuck on entering some screens is annoying. Cost me a second whenever it happens.

cafeine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Top notch graphics and sound, physics are a bit wonky, and the game forgets that I have a movement key pressed when transitioning from room to room, but the art style more tham makes up for it. The robot is sooo cute!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Very nice combination of art, gameplay and sound. Creates a nice, sad mood.
Also, impressively balanced level. Challenging, but in that way that made me play it again and again because I knew I could do it.

Main critique is that he didn't reach the moon at The End.
Also, when travelling between screens, the game forgot that I was holding down a key, which is really annoying.
In GM, a way to fix it is to make a persistent object, and give it some boolean variables remembering whether it was pressed in the last room. (I remember having this problem in an earlier game ;)

agumaster says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:31pm

ZeppelinCaptain, thanks a lot ! im going to fix that these days :s . Game maker´s fault XD

folmerkelly says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:11am

That is a good friggin color palette.

It was a bit of a chore to play, not the best collision detection and some bugs here and there, or maybe just small niggles rather than actual bugs, but looking through that aspect of it, definitely potential here.

Shugor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:16am

I really liked the use of the theme here, it made for a pretty challenging game at several points. I haven't completed it yet, but it's a very nice game from what I've seen~
I really liked the mood and how many areas there were to explore (if you could get far enough). The controls were a minor problem, especially when switching between rooms. Save points could be nice too, but I assume the game isn't really long enough to merit those. Really cool game overall~

epiplon says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:16pm

The best thing I can say it's the mood, while I try to imagine how is it to live as a sad robot with only 10 seconds of battery. But I felt that the game lacked some objective, a reason to keep going. Or maybe I'm not too fond of exploration-only games.

And well, people already told you about the bugs. Also, he lost his momentum on room transition.

agumaster says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:51am

now i had fixed the key detection problem while switching rooms!

koe415 says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 5:34am

I love the music in this game. Understated and it compliments the mood nicely. Large exploration area, fun/challenging gameplay and the story made me root for the sad robot. Very unique experience. Very well put together! Cheers.

agumaster says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:10pm

thanks a lot koe415 :)

RoyBatty says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Beautiful game.

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

Elrobo says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Loved the music. The character and some of the other art were really nice too. I didn't get very far but a nice chill experience.

Aug 30, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Very cool, nice graphics and sound. Sad robot really makes me feel sad, too. Thing is, I can't really help the poor guy... so sad... :(
The game is good, though!

agumaster says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 12:39am

thanks a lot martin ! :D

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 7:32pm

Very nice entry, the gamplay is engaging and all but I'd say the strongest aspect of the game is the atmosphere which is supported by the great audio and visuals but specialy by the sense of mystery in the story. I first thought I was in another planet as the robot and scenario are very otherworldy but in fact we can't be somewhere else than on Earth as I'm sure that's the moon in the sky. That makes me wonder, what the hell happened? where are the humans? Is the robot the last survivor? what's his goal? etc.

agumaster says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 1:10am

thanks a lot lokarunith! thats a deep question that i never asked to myself XD. But you have given me really nice ideas for a bigger game :) . I never thinked of another planet, but its an awesome idea dude :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]