August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Unbelievable Adventures of Kamil the Cat

by kacperski1 - Jam Entry

The Unbelievable Adventures of Kamil the Cat is a short story about a cat and his unbelievable adventures. I can only say that these adventures include things like eating sandwiches, so you can guess it's pretty awesome.

We wanted the game to be a lot longer but we didn't have enough time :I

Anyways, have fun!

*********
UPDATE #3:

- Finally fixed performance problems on low-end PC's!

UPDATE #2:

- Fixed game crashing after 2nd death
- Fixed lives not resetting after death
- Fixed potential game-breaking bug with music

UPDATE #1:

- Fixed that the player could change game window resolution, which was breaking the game
- Fixed 2 phone sounds instead of 1 in 7th level

*********

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#33Humor(Jam)3.84
#85Fun(Jam)3.50
#115Overall(Jam)3.51
#132Mood(Jam)3.36
#154Graphics(Jam)3.76
#176Theme(Jam)3.36
#179Audio(Jam)3.18
#242Innovation(Jam)3.08

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10am

Really cute art style. ^_^ Rated highly.

Adjotur says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:10am

Loved it :D The graphics and audio really sold it for me, they created a great atmosphere that really went well with the storyline.

Teejay5 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:14am

Really like the art :D

mrcdk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:39am

Love this game! The graphics, music and sfx are awesome!

nikkesen says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48am

Very cute. Good mechanics.

MegaMasterX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:50am

Cutsie! Audio was fantastic too! I enjoyed this one.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:51am

Fantastic stuff, a really cute and charming style coupled with some simple mechanics that work well. Love it.

nSun says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:52am

Very nice overall.
It was just annoying that the recipe sandwich was hidden by the timer. Fortunately, this was not a difficult puzzle.

Diogo Muller says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:53am

Cute game. The music loop was a cool touch, but got old fast.

Fireblend says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:12am

This game had me grinning like an idiot throughout my entire playtime. Good job!

anmorales says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13am

Really really fun!! Great job!!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:48am

actually really enjoyed this.. its hard not to.. haha

VardGames says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:12am

I like the graphics.

brogrammers says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:27am

Cute! I arrived until the living room, then lost at the evil mobile. I liked the audio too.

euske says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:35am

Best. Game. Ever.

maxking1234 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:35am

Really good game! Love the graphics

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:42am

Haaa the cuteness burns.
The D: face at the end really killed me.

TeamFlare says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Loved a lot^^ Awesome game :) Sound effects are great :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Goood gaem

panurge says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:23pm

That was fun! Cute graphics and sound and a nice variety of mechanics.

cafeine says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Fun and very cute! Good use of QTEs (something I usually hate but here they didn't bother me).

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:50pm

This is great! I loved the story and characters. Very cutesy and silly.

Jimanzium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:34pm

I couldn't seem to click on the knife but the start was pretty cool and I still managed to have fun with it so good job

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:39pm

@Jimanzium - It's some performance problem on weaker PCs we can't get rid of. The game uses a lot of CPU in some moments (up to 16% on my PC, while normally it uses only 2-7%) in game with no reason to do so. We're trying to find what's causing this bug.

Broxxar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Silly and fun. Good stuff.

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Soooo cute cat! Really liked the art work. A very fun touch of the 10 sec theme =)

Catmoo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Awesome little game, I'm happy people took the theme this way! Kamil is super cute too! I think I'd make my sandwich in a different order though ;)

I did find myself trying to click on the letters on screen for ok, instead of typing it too :)

dancingflame says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:05am

Nice adventure game. I love this yellow cat (=^x^=)

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:10am

Nice graphics and audio. Good job!

Diptoman says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:05am

Very cute style! Loved the various mini games! The sounds complimented the game pretty well too.
From an artist's perspective, that was quite a lot of work to do! Congrats on this wonderfully cute game!

truiton says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Nice art, cute sounds :D

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:10pm

good job

TomboFry says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Fricking hilarious, especially the "HNNNNG" :L Highly rated!

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:44pm

I like brushing my teeth!

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:41am

Really Funny!

namrog84 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:29am

This is one of my favorite Jam games so far.
so cute and brilliant
I love having the story/adventure be told like this

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Hmmm, great idea, and it.. how it names? Och, fuck this!
Powiem Wam jak polak polakom,bez owijania w bawełnę - jest iście zajebiście! :) Pozdrowienia dla kota Kamila i dla gościa który grał budzik :D Świetna robota chłopaki!

MuciojadPL says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Sorry za te krzaczki, nie wiedziałem że tu takie niezdarne kodowanie znaków :)

Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:40pm

This is really entertaining. Cute visuals and nice humor. And your sound effects were funny too.

wally2069 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:20pm

That cat is in a hurry to make a sandwich

Almax27 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:13pm

lol at the 1 string metallica loop :p.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Very good

BenWhi says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Pretty fun! The only problem I had was with the sandwich-making, which seemed to be a little glitchy. But really good otherwise!

Mironix says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:06pm

oh i love it. mash mash mash mash - click click click click ;)

drkrunk says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Really fun! It was pretty cute. I kept messing up making the sandwich :(

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 4:15am

Cute and fun!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 5:12pm

It's a pity you only have 3 tries in total - it seems pretty glitchy to me sometimes (and I often fail 2 times right away on the "getting up" part...), but I really wanted to finish it. Luckily there are reviews on YouTube!

I love the humor. And the art style is extremly cute!

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Unique interface, cute art

blackotus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Very funny art!
The minigames were enjoyable.

Sep 1, 2013 @ 12:11pm

It make me pondered deeply!

hbocao says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:11am

So fun! Too bad I suck at QTEs.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 4:31am

really great graphics - nice effort

Sep 3, 2013 @ 9:23am

Haha! I LOVED that game, it's clever, original and whimsical! Thumbs up guys!

mollymus says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 8:29pm

I laughed all the way through the game!:D Might not be the most technically advanced game but honestly I think its the funniest game I've played so far!:D

jprogman says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 4:03am

Meow. Nicely done.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Who doesn't love cats! Different minigames every 10 seconds was a good choice.

Sep 7, 2013 @ 12:40pm

This game is super cute and super fun. I love all the different mini games you have done and I love the audio. Great entry. I featured it in my LD27 video compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3GXNOecUq9c

withoutpillow says ...
Sep 11, 2013 @ 9:13pm

funny, cute and the ending is perfect!

rpmoura says ...
Sep 13, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Really good! :) One of the best entries I played!

infernet89 says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 3:19pm

Really nice sound and art, i loved the beatbox-style of sound effects. I got some problem with the "make a sandwich" game. The instructions were partially covered by the "10 seconds to finish" meter.

michail says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 7:47pm

How am I supposed to wake up? I am hitting 'w' and 's' like crazy and nothing happens.

kacperski1 says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:41am

We've finally managed to fix performance problems with waking up and eating sandwich, so the game should now work correctly on low-ends!

@michail, @TobiasW - You can try to play it now if you want, because now it should work smooth as butter ;)

michail says ...
Sep 15, 2013 @ 11:44pm

I wouldn't consider my hardware as low-end ;]
Anyway, I've played it again and was positively surprised.
The game is pretty fun and humorous!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]