August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Time Syndrome

by autlos - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well, this is my idea for this theme. Jumps are overrated, why every sidescroller implement them?

There is one single level as the game mechanics & time limitations aren't flexible enough to think in more challenging levels.

I made the game using LibGDX, bfxr, TiledMapEditor, Paint.NET and InkScape.

Music by _ghost. Feel free to fork my bitbucket repo.

Of course, I love feedback, so every comment/critic/suggestion is really appreciated.

I can finish the game in 4.23 seconds, and you? :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#286Audio3.00
#384Innovation3.20
#393Fun3.11
#484Humor2.37
#548Overall3.06
#566Theme3.17
#602Mood2.67
#789Graphics2.50

Comments

Acrimiens says ...
Aug 25, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Nice Game!

Zekyon says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48am

Wow, it was hard. A funny game!

Kevlanche says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:17am

Probably my favourite game so far. It took a while, but I beat it! I have two small suggestions to make it even better; 1: Don't restart the music all the time. When you play many times the restarts gets annoying. 2: lock the win screen in place for a few seconds. I beat it many times but though I lost since I was spam clicking and the win screen dissappeared immediately and the game reset (as if I had lost)

autlos says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:41am

Kevlanche
"Probably my favourite game so far." Oh! You almost made me cry. That's why I love making games.

I feel more or less proud with the result. But you are right, some improvements should be done. I would like to make more and more levels for it now I've got time.

I'm afraid I didn't see your point 2, because you are right. Thanks for the advice :)

Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:45pm

Haha.. that was fun.. and hard....

Gaspard_ says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:44pm

As everyone said Hard&Fun!

xgeovanni says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Reminds me of a level in Donkey Kong Country Returns.

Oana says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Man the game is hard! But I really really like it. It's more like a puzzle game than an action game, figuring out the patterns of the aliens.

Latcarf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Difficulty is a bit strange, it's quite hard to get to the gun, but then it's very easy.
Also for the compo you're supposed to do the music yourself.

autlos says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Hi Latcarf, thank you for you feedback. Yes, you are right, it's easy after you got the gun.

About the music: "Fonts, drum loops, drum samples, and sampled instruments are allowed IF you have the legal right to use them."

And I DO have the legal right to use it.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:20am

Doesn't run.

autlos says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 10:38am

Hi almightzentaco. Have you got java 7 installed?

So sorry for that, it seems you are not the only one who can't run the game. I'm trying to fix that.

antonijn says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Liked the gameplay a lot in the way, although it took me a while to figure out how to play the game properly. It's a shame there's only one level, but then again, I think the point is to beat your own score, isn't it?

Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Nice! I really enjoyed this one! I liked having to play it over and over and memorize the exact timings of all the enemies to make it through. I managed to beat it!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:28pm

I'd like that! Nice difficult

Linusson says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:44pm

I missed the space bar feature the first time I played. That made it pretty hard, I must say. :D

Really fun game, I liked the timing stuff and that you could use the slow down feature at different places to get different results. Fun idea and well done! :)

Aug 30, 2013 @ 4:45am

Great music, and I agree that it's really hard!
Though the aliens did not have to disappear as soon as it touches the edge of the barrels if you just drew the aliens on a lower layer than the barrels.
It was quite fun! Great job!

Sep 5, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Nice entry. Admittedly not my kind of game, but I see how some (or a lot of?) people would enjoy the mechanics. :) Also nice tutorial.

AlexFili says ...
Sep 14, 2013 @ 9:31am

Great music. The actual gameplay is interesting. The AI patrols are a bit annoying but they do have a pattern. The slow motion ability didn't really have a lot of use, but it's definitely nice to have. Good attempt and nice use of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]