August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ten Second Evasion

by atrodo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ten Second Evasion is a puzzle game. You have to, for each row, make a path from the left side to the right side. You will automatically be taken to the next puzzle when you solve a puzzle. After the last puzzle, which I have not verified is solvable, the game will be blank.

Use the arrow keys to move the cursor. Select time slices on the left to place them on the right. Joining paths are possible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#123Innovation3.68
#529Theme3.21
#848Mood2.33
#945Humor1.47
#1003Overall2.55
#1004Graphics2.12
#1067Fun2.17

Comments

as3boyan says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:28am

Game is not so easy to understand.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:33am

This goes waaaaaaay over my head.

joekinglake says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Took me a while to understand the game, but once i got it i really enjoyed it. Mind bending! Great job. Could definitely do with some audio, but otherwise fantastic.

doonay21 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Way too complicated. I am sorry but I have no idea what should I do. Maybe because I am still tired after this Compo ;)

loxo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Great fun to play puzzle game! I like that there is no pressure of time. Sound effects and maybe some animations would be nice.

Spencer Alves says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Very clever!

Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:21pm

It took a while to figure out how this was supposed to work. The game seems to be more about trial-and-error than about actual puzzle solving.

sxaktosxafo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:22pm

It is hart to get into the game logic, but once you are, it's great!

Recid says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:04pm

It's so hard :'(

xhunterko says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Um. What the hey is this? A better explanation of the controls would be helpful.

anjack says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Great idea for a "10 seconds" game! You are literally trying to put together 10 seconds from the components on the left. Very innovative!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:01pm

It did take me a while to understand the game but it turned out to be a kind of interesting puzzle game. It quickly turns very complicated and I am wondering if this puzzle is an NP-complete problem or if there is some strategy I am missing.

Tainted_Code says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:51pm

It's a bit complicated, but it seems a lot of effort went into developing it, good job!

munchor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Interesting new concept, didn't fully get it, you need to explain it better, but still 5/5 Innovation.

lekochen says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:08pm

A very good puzzle game. Well done.

CustomPhase says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Very easy and simple game, but controls, man. So bad. My page constantly scrolls up and down from pressing arrows

Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:04pm

I tried, I'm sure there's something to it but I can't get my head around it. Seems like it could be interesting.

Xatulu says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:02am

Hard and not really puzzly, or maybe i am just too stupid for it ^^

blay09 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Took me a few seconds to understand what I have to do, but then it became a nice puzzle! Very nice take on the theme.

SnoringFrog says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Well, once I thought I figured it out it was pretty cool, but now I have a level that, as far as I can tell, is complete but it's not letting me advance. Because of that, I ended up just quitting before the end.

Maybe I'm just not understanding something about the win conditions, but here's what I had: http://s17.postimg.org/nrmpzkp67/Screen_Shot_2013_08_29_at_11_12_26_AM.png

Darien says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:23pm

It's a great base for a puzzle game. It would be a huge help if there were some clear indicator of which pieces had already been placed; there are already boxes there, maybe just place checks or dots in them to show they're used.

Wertle says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 5:10am

I think the fact that it automatically goes to the next puzzle before you even place a piece makes it confusing to understand the mechanic. You need a little more time for the player to register that they have done the correct thing. I think the mechanic is interesting and has promise, it just needs a lot more feedback to help people learn the interface and know when they are doing something right/wrong. Good job.

urth says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Took some time to understand.
I like the puzzle but it needs some color coding and other helpful aspects.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]