August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.


Back to Browse Entries

10 Seconds to Save the World

by Bactopiad - 48 Hour Compo Entry


In "10 Seconds to Save the World", you must save the planet from a mutated octopus with a need for attention and good intentions. Jump over the acid pits, and leap over the tentacles! Once you grab the Earth, run back to the start as fast as you can!

This was my 3rd Ludum Dare, and my first Ludum Dare challenge. I didn't like the theme very much, and I almost called it quits. I am glad I stuck around though! I'm pleased with the results, and I can't wait for next Ludum Dare! It always seems to teach me something about game design, and myself. Try escaping the title screen for an easter egg.

Downloads and Links




Steve says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:40am

Very difficult, and the window is absolutely tiny. Solid platformer controls though, and it restarts very quickly when you die, so it doesn't get any less fun even if you keep failing.

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:41am

@Steve Yeah, about the small window: That shouldn't be happening. Sorry!

Suese says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:59am

I zoomed in an it looked pretty good. It was a bit too hard. Required absolutely perfection to complete the level. I gave up.

ranf says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 3:27am

That was quite funny and nice-looking. As far as the difficulty goes, I think it's really just trial and error through finding the right times to jump and the right places to land to make it there and back in time.

N0_Named_Guy says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:04am

I liked how this timed game didn't have a timer, like a number timer. The timing is set by the music, bravo! It gives a sense of urgency.

The controls are tight, and the game ran smoothly. About the scaling issue, well, bad stuff happens to good people...

I was kinda disappointed to find that there was only one level (after trying many times to beat that one level).

All in all, good job! I liked it, and you have my SEAL OF APPROVAL.

daOyster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:26am

It's cool

Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:28am

Can't see, but might be fun.

plop says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:29am

I like that the window is so tiny, whatsoever :P
Cool concept, with the music. A bit hard indeed - I haven't made it but I guess it's possible. It seems relatively polished. I like it :D

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 4:44am

Super tough, the music was a bit rough on the old earholes!

ananasblau says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:14am

Extreme fun, and the sound, you really got the urgency a 10 seconds game needs!

caranha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:42am

Sorry, I tried to play your game, but it would not run - I just got a blank screen :-(

Fireblend says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Nice inclusion of the theme into the music. Solid controls, although they're not enough to beat the game easily, other commenters weren't kidding! Good thing there's only one level :P Good job :)

Tetha says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Well done, I like including the theme in the music. I'm just not sure if it's beatable, if it is, it's very, very close or I'm missing a mechanic. Also I didn't find the small size to be a big problem, you used nice contrast in the game, so everything was easy to see :)

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:04pm

I don't know what it is about this game, I kind of enjoyed the tiny window xD
Still pretty fun to play. Good job!

loxo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Great game! I like the the use of the sound to indicate the passage of time and the simple graphics style. The physics is really nice too, I definitely need to work on that for my entry.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Youhou, I saved the world.

tylorlilley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:43pm

You know what? I actually dig the tiny screen. Maybe I'm weird. But it gave the game a very different feel graphically. and I liked that. Gameplay was solid, but much too short - there wasn't a lot there, but what was there worked. I also liked the "music" being a timer. Good job!

Gremlin says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Man, that's some really, really unforgiving jumping. It looks straightforward right up until you run out of time. And then you start realizing the insane moves you have to make...

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:07pm

@Gremlin It's not too hard once you get the rhythm of when to jump! I made sure it's quick to respawn, so it shouldn't eat up too much time. :-)

Mesene says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:33pm

I liked it, a single challenge than can be beaten in a few tryes :) it's a shame you couldn't resize it

flarb says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:36pm

I know it's a bug, but I think the fact that the game runs in basically a tiny banner ad is kind of hilarious. 5* graphics just for that fact alone. :) Making games microscopic makes them much more challenging! :)

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Holy crap this is tiny... Is there anyway to make it bigger? I can't play it as is. :-/

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:52pm

@BrainSlugs83 If you have Windows, search for "Magnifier" in the Start bar.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22am

I don't get why people think it's too hard, I think it's fairly easy. In fact, difficulty is quite balanced. A little challenge is nothing bad in my opinion.

Other than that, it's fun for a minute game :)

Boodog says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:23am

Pretty cool game except the window is really small and I couldn't beat the first level, it needed perfect timing.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:38am

This was simple, but actually conveys a genuine sense of threat and forboding. Great use of a scary organ sounds!

Erkberg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42am

The tiny window made it even more retro. ^^
I like the use of sound as the timer, but the difficulty is really high, gave up after almost beating it in the 10th run.

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:48am

The offkey music made me laugh :p I like it regardless of the tiny window, but will give it another play when it's fixed.

Vile Smile says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:59am


My only complaints are the tiny window and lack of content. It would have been nice to see some more levels with unique mechanics.

viinnyk says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:41am

the game gets easier if you just zoom in. Very nice, took a couple tries to beat. Maybe a post-compo version with more levels? :D

wally2069 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:02am

The tiny window resolution made it difficult to play

reostra says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:03am

That tiny window is killer; I can barely see what I'm doing. The audio does its job but gets very annoying very quickly. Altogether a fun platformer, though!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:15am

Took me maybe 20 tries or so, but I got it. Felt like the final boss level of a platformer game.

Took me a while to realize the music was the timer, but that was very cool. I liked that a lot.

Also, can't complain about your game's size... my last Ludum Dare game was in a 40 pixel wide window. :)

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:49am

Nice controls, interesting how small the resolution is, might have some interesting uses in a narrative.

ghRibacki says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:50am

The lo-fi graphics are very well and creatively done.
The countdown in music form is very clever!
Wish it had more levels. =)

cardboard says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:20am

I felt like I was speedrunning a game! My only gripes are the tinyness (which I am not docking score for) and the brevity of the game. A few more levels would have been very nice. :) I like the graphics and the gameplay was very solid. The increasing tempo of the music contributed greatly to the mood. Nice work!

Szedouu says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:07am

Great job, I love hard-level platformers, had to zoom in but everything was clean. good job!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:27am

I actually like the tiny window. Cool game!

RetroEpic says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:16am

really need to have jumping grace time in platforming. Otherwise I felt it was kinda disappointed that nothing happens after you get the world, I was expecting somekind of feedback, but after collecting the world nothing happens.
I like the smallness of the window it has some charm to it.

Nezzhil says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:36am

Very challenging! I tried non-stop until I finished the game >D

The animation of the tentacles are really cool.

I died a lot.

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:15pm

not too exciting or creative but very fun, difficult and addicitive! i also saved the world, jussayin!

Atmospherium says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Definitely difficult, but think with some refining on player controls it could be a lot of fun. The music was very effective at making me feel rushed.

rianoto says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Difficult game but fun and addictive.

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Honestly, too hard for me... but, cool game with a cool music!

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Very hard (at least for my noob fingers)... I understand that the tiny screen is a bug and otherwise it looks effective... sound was very effective too.

Good entry, and good luck!

nitrocrime says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Way to small, I can't see what I'm supposed to do.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Funny how ~10 pixels can make one so angry :D Didn't make it, always failed on my way back (if that was the aim of the game)? So it's pretty damn hard but I liked it! :)

Josh Riley says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:31pm

The music really adds to the sense of urgency. It probably also says something positive about your work that it's also still readable and playable at such a lot resolution. Good work!

wulfdesign says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:23pm

I love the banner sized game and simple but elegant graphics.
Good work!

Bactopiad says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:59am

Thanks to everyone for all the positive-and negative-criticism! It means a lot that you've played the game and taken the time to give me some feedback. :-)

netguy204 says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 2:26am

The window size ruins it, obviously. It's pretty hard to get over that flaw. But, good platformer controls (I think, anyway... assuming that pixel really was doing what I thought it was doing). Very very challenging. I didn't beat the level. I liked that the urgency of the music told you where the timer was. That was a good touch.

tigerj says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:23am

Was very hard. I also used the browser zoom and almost won a couple times. I bet I can do it and I might come back when I have more time to perfect it.

It's one of those games you have to be perfect at to complete, which as a niche genre that I am part of.

Overall good work (aside from the technical size challenges). it's not for everyone but I like it.

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Simple but challenging, a humble game has everything to be fun without needless props.

LordHellMaX says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:03pm

I'm really sorry saying this game was easy, I just realized you have to come back the the beginning to complete it! Wow, that's a whole new challenge haha!

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Really tiny window but nothing that the zoom key didn't fix. The controllers were really well done and the graphics were well made but very simple

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:52am

Zoomed in to give it a shot. Tight controls and pretty challenging. Well done :0)

canvapps says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Couldn't beat the game, but liked the idea of having to take the item and have to get back with the sense of urgency that the audio transmits. Would love to see this game in a bigger window and with more levels (and easier to beat! :)

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:45pm

I actually kinda liked the super small window =) Nice work the music and the game is really smooth. Good job!

xhunterko says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:49am

Ow that awful countdown music. Ick! Shame about the screen size bug too. Graphics aren't too bad. Really glad it was one level. I don't know if I could've taken any more.

Bactopiad says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 2:36am

@xhunterko Interesting that you didn't like the music. Cool to get another opinion. What didn't you like about it?

fferro234 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Yikes, that's hard. Which is a shame since the jumping mechanics feel solid. The 10 second time limit makes it very hard though, without trial and error to know where to just run and when you have to actually jump.

Latcarf says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Pretty good game. The sounds are quite painful to hear, but I guess that's intended. Also I don't understand why you can't fix the bug, you can create a Dropbox account and upload it here, you will have complete control of the HTML around it.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:35pm

This was great fun! The small window didn't even bother me, I guess it made me kind of nostalgic for old handheld games or something.

Bactopiad says ...
Sep 10, 2013 @ 8:53pm

The source (?) since it's required.

patrickgh3 says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:16am

It was fun gradually optimizing my path.

Jedi says ...
Sep 17, 2013 @ 12:34am

Well, it's a really a shame the banner ad is larger than the game, but you blow the window up and hey, there's a solid little platformer here! With nice music and nice mood to boot :)

The mood kinda reminded me of C&C, with the baldheaded maniacal overlord.

You must sign in to comment.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs ( and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]