August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

GitGirl - Conflict Resolver

by ddionisio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Ever wonder how conflicts are resolved in a git repository? Well if you play this game, then maybe! It only takes 10 seconds-ish.

Controls:

Arrow keys - Movement.
Space - Jump. Double jump. Wall jump.
Z - Throw bomb.

*Update*
- Added Linux build. Let me know if it doesn't work, I can't test it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#158Graphics3.66
#193Audio3.21
#296Overall3.33
#298Mood3.08
#324Humor2.67
#506Fun2.99
#622Innovation2.87
#921Theme2.71

Comments

ThirteenWB says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 12:58am

If I wasn't making my game by myself, I would probably run out of time just trying to resolve those pesky conflicts xD.
Looks awesome, I'll be back once voting starts!

demiurgo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Are you using Unity right?
If you can, export a linux version too.
I would like to try the game :)

bonsairobo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:24pm

I like this idea. Wall jumping was kinda weird but otherwise, cool!

crashbanito says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:28pm

I really love that art style. I would really love to see this expanded with more levels.

My only problem with the game was a bug with the physics on the second level (bomb kept floating left instead of falling down, but was resolved when the level restarted). Also I feel like the wall jumping could use a speed boost.

sgehlich says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:28pm

I love the graphics, but the gameplay is way too slow :(

Jishenaz says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Cute. My only problem was that movement was a little slow. Otherwise, I enjoyed it.

GFM says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Really short, but I liked the level design. Those rotations were really nice! :)

ddionisio says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Linux build is up, let me know if there's an issue with it. I tried with a binary build on windows and it works...hopefully it's the same for Linux!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 7:24pm

I love the character.
The gameplay is nice, it could be fun to have some action to do with the bomb to exploit the 10 seconds limit.
The game theme is nice, reminds me of super meat boy.
Also the "Conflict resolved" tune has a really low volume.

skywing says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Its tough starting over from the beginning when you lose, and the speed isn't quite as fast as I'd like it, but I can't hate any platformer with walljumping.

markengley says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Cool little game. Really nice drawings. Found the platforming a bit awkward, but I liked how you used the rotation mechanic.

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52pm

I... don't actually know what a git repository is... so the allegory's nuances were sort of lost on me. Cute graphics though.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:52pm

Played it through, not bad! I was expecting more puzzling with the bomb, but it's fine how it is, nice character! shame the game is so little, could have been fun to see the pixel characters little larger.

JimMakesGames says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:54pm

A quite challenging platform game. Controls are tight and the jumping is tricky but manageable. The gravity changing is a nice mechanic.

I like the character. Anyone who carries a bomb on her head is badass. Graphics are wonderful and the music is most pleasing. It was a bit short with two levels and it would be great to see it expanded on.

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Short, but shows the promise in the idea. I am not a big friend of platformers, but I really liked this one. Please go on and create new levels :)

imef says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Quite a nice platformer! The controls are fluid and the graphics are nice.

bisk8s says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:21pm

NICE! Well done! Nice game nice music! I loved to play it! One of the best for shure!

Latcarf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:24am

The Linux build seems to work but (at least on my computer) it's so slow that it's unplayable (about 1 or 2 fps, even on the title page).

Erkberg says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:20am

Stunning visuals and music! Nice gameplay too with the rotations. Walljumping felt a little strange and the character moves a bit too slow, but apart from that this is an awesome game.

nicotuason says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:22am

Great character design! The jumping feels a bit floaty but the level design kept it interesting.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:34am

nice intro graphics but the controls were a little wonky -- not sure how to get past the first level -- nice entry

ddionisio says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:53am

Thanks a lot for the comments guys, really good feedback! So the general consensus is the movement is slow.

I'm wondering now if the slowness of the character is due to low framerate...I'm going to see if I can have the option to turn off the background effect. That for sure is a performance killer :P

larb says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:01am

The wall jumping felt a bit awkward. But, great art and music. Some real talent here. Great entry!

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:10am

I like your trippy background and hardcore midi.

Tortche says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:19am

The wall jump and relative world are really cool ideas.

evilDan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:32am

Cool! Love the start screen and the screens between levels. Also love the gravity change.

The player controls could use a bit of tightening but the overall feel is very nice.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:42am

Puzzle game. Simple control. Involving gameplay.

Travis Irby says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:02am

Really cool style and fresh platformer concepts. nice work!

Sakuyan says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:19am

I had fun playing the game :D

kayupla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:49am

really great universe! Visuals great! but the theme....?

Tanser says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:35am

The overall atmosphere is really nice and the graphics and music are great. Nice job!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:09am

The graphics and music are fantastic, but the platforming was reeeeallly slow to me as well as the wall jumping was a bit clunky imo. Good game though!

01101101 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:36am

The UI and music are really well done and polished, great job! Controls are a bit slow but it still plays fairly well. I liked the VVVVVV kind of gravity changes :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 10:51am

Love the character. It did feel a bit slow though. The jumping took some time to get used to but otherwise a solid game :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:42am

Cute little platformer, but I wish the girl moved just a *tad* faster. Its quite the well done game, and I included this game in my video compilation of LD27 games, if you wanna check it out :) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jQmE1DEkQd4

whiteravens says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I really enjoyed the sound and the Japaense game feel. :) You may want to make it a bit more faster, but still great work!

Ghostik says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:42pm

I enjoyed this one :)

Misfit says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Nice little game. Maybe jumping has something weird.

RennFarnell says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 1:19pm

I think you could have focussed more on the 10 seconds, relaly like the menu graphics and the controls were smooth =]

Typedeaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Loved the cutscene graphics, second level was pretty tricky

Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Top marks for Graphics and mood, this was awesome!

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 4:58pm

This was amazing, please do more levels :D

Diptoman says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Loved the art and the music in this! The menu graphics were very pleasing. Plus I have this weakness for wall jumping.
I know there wasn't much time, but it'd have been great if there were more stuff to abuse the 10 second timer.
Great job on this nonetheless. I'd love to more levels and strategies.

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Loved the art, loved the sound, found the jumping awkward but fine for a 48 hour entry! Level designs look interesting - would like to see this developed further!

PeaCe says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Nice!
The controls could do with improvements if you're gonna continue completing this game.

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 7:24pm

great little game, I enjoyed it a lot - despite being used to faster platformers (super meatboy and consorts)

well done :)

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Haaa. Really like the main character.

gre says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:27pm

Game mecanisms are good, especially the gravity rotation.
Gameplay is a bit hard.

Pinktreeleaf says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:58pm

loving the area flips and the cover art well and the bomb holding 10 second mechanic. Beat the first level and played a bit of level two. oh yea and the wall jumping.

RoseNinja says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Like the art style and character, good game. Well done

fgielow says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Great made for 48 hours.
Very well executed. Nice graphics and sound.

GaTechGrad says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Nice little platformer. The level rotation mechanic was a nice touch.

bassarisse says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:51am

I really liked it, but 2 things bothered me: the slow movement and the awkward way of wall jumping.

zatyka says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:55am

Very nice graphics, and fun rotating level mechanics. My only issues are the jumping control, and the lack of more levels. Nice job through!

Nick Weihs says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:19am

Wall jumping was a cool addition.

bobylito says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 9:20am

Very nice game.

recursor says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 12:30pm

The art for the little character is quite nice, but the gameplay feels a bit slow. I must admit I got frustrated trying to double jump and wall jump up to where I was supposed to throw the bomb. The wall jumps seemed to not always work like I expected them to. I also wish I had more than 1 bomb. When I finally made it to the platform, I threw my bomb in the wrong direction and was unable to get to it before it exploded.

TobiasW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:10pm

BOMBS - my favourite way to solve conflicts, haha :D

The music is perfect, and the graphics are cute. A little bit too tiny on my screen though, but that's hardly your fault!

I liked your screen-turning mechanic; that could've been explored a little more than just being a visual effect. I really wish I could make my double-jump after I made a wall-jump - I can do jump & double-jump & wall-jump, why can't I jump & wall-jump & double-jump? That killed my on my first play-through: I wanted to double-jump, but I wall-jumped instead, and then time was up.

I'll never view git conflict resolutions the same way - cool game!

TobiasW says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Oh, I just played the second level - disregard what I said about the screen-turning, you use if for puzzles there. Good job!

ddionisio says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Thanks guys for the comments!

@recursor Hm, more than one bomb may not be an actually bad idea! It might be a funny way to solve a puzzle too, like sacrificing one 'life'. :P

@TobiasW Yeah, I think there should be a way to double jump after wall-jump. I'm pretty sure I removed it because it's giving the player too much vertical movement :P Though maybe I'll have it so that you can jump->wall jump->jump, but not jump->double jump->wall jump->jump.

I've been researching wall jumping by playing games that use them :D The best implementation I found is Meat Boy's, I think the newest version will have a more enjoyable wall-jumping experience. Stay tune!

I'm also considering if checkpoint is a good idea or just make the level shorter, we'll see. But I definitely need to remove the gameover screen so you can continue in-game much faster!

Beardbotnik says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 1:59am

Fun game, the wall jump could be a little weird, but it was really fun overall. Awesome job! I absolutely love the music, reminds me a lot of the music from the Disgaea series.

zillix says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:22am

today I learned that I've been using git wrong the whole time. thanks, gitgirl!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 7:17am

Nice interesting mechanics! Well done!

lcarpentier says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Impresive compo entry!

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Well this is an amazing entry. hands down really funny for anyone using git and been in conflict hell.

Thanks for making this. I love the idea, the art and the music.

ratalaika says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

good job

psychomonster says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 6:01am

Nice character. Level design is super... after a short time of orientation the double jump and wall jump worked fine for me. Enjoyed to learn about how to resolve a conflict in a git ^^

xndr says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 8:55am

very cool! good job.

Codexus says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 9:39pm

I love the title. Nice graphics, especially the title screen and such. The game itself was nice but the controls could have been better.

ENDESGA says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 3:58am

kinda difficult imh :P
great game nonetheless

UnixXNova says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 5:36am

controls felt unresponsive but other than that it was a nice game i liked the wall jumping

Sep 2, 2013 @ 7:49am

Solid platformer! Level-design is pretty hard though.

FlashRocks says ...
Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:09pm

An awesome but challenging game. My only complaint is that wall jumping was a bit glitchy.

Capro says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 11:46am

Great concept and great game! Keep working on it, make more levels. :)

DaggerHog says ...
Sep 3, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Nice game. Could be a little faster, and the wall-jumping took some time to get used to. I liked the graphics and music, though it's a shame you weren't able to finish more levels in time.

RoyBatty says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Great entry! Really liked the rotating world mechanic, solid platforming, rockin' music- thank you. :-)

-thatwhichis, team RoyBatty

Sep 4, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Loved the background! I would have expected to be able to jump again after a wall jump if I had only jumped once previous to the wall collision but it made for some interesting gravity flipping platforming.

fferro234 says ...
Sep 5, 2013 @ 3:42am

Great game. The double jump and wall jump and rotating world worked really well. I was sad that there were only two levels. Great job.

Atmospherium says ...
Sep 6, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Great premise and fun gameplay. Controls could be polished a bunch, but the core of the game definitely works. The graphics and music really worked well together.

ChrisGaudino says ...
Sep 7, 2013 @ 8:55pm

I agree with the others that have said the gameplay is a little on the slow side. Other than that I think this is great.

Sep 15, 2013 @ 9:06pm

dd, out of the 200 entries I have judged this is easily in the top 10, thank you for making such a beautiful experience! 5 stars in all... I would love to see this game developed further with more levels. A restart button would also be nice as sometimes you really cant get to the bomb with crazy shifts in gravity. One to remember this LD for sure.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]