August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Jack is gonna Die!

by psychomonster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello again

I've finished the Game "Jack is gonna Die!". Yeah. It was hard and more then 70% of the cool planed game features has been killed in the early hours. Now I've created the game only with the core features for the theme "10 seconds!"
Its the second time at LudumDare for me. It was really fun again. Love you!

The Idea:
Jack has been contaminated by radioactivity... he has only 10 seconds left to life. He want to see his family for a last time. There are pills that can help him. Get them. Every pill will refill his 10 seconds lifetime battery... Guard him home...

how to play:
left arrow key = go left
right arrow key = go right
up arrow key = jump
alt = puke (that radioactive puke kills enemys)
space bar = swallow a pill

WARNING: There is no visiual indicator for the time that is left... only a "ping"... you have to count seconds and swallow the pill at the right moment. If you are Dead... you have to restart at the starting position ;)

Canceled Features:
More then one level
More animations
Better controlls for platfomer (glitches)
Teleporter
More enemys
better sounds
cool selfmade music

Bugs:
Glitches while jumping against solid walls sometimes
some animations are invisible :(
Maybe a view more... I'm tired... have to sleep for a while.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#314Humor2.69
#427Graphics3.09
#440Theme3.29
#745Mood2.49
#841Overall2.76
#844Audio1.87
#895Innovation2.49
#929Fun2.44

Comments

Supernours says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 9:30am

There is a bug with the time counter ? I do not see it ^^"

Pierrec says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:03am

I don't know if the absence of timer is on purpose or not, but this is what I enjoyed the most, counting the seconds myself. "Was it 8 or 9" ? Haa, let's take a pill anyway!"
I think it would be better if there were less pills in the level. I never fell shortage.

(Why does he puke ? ^^)

DaanVanYperen says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:25am

One point in Mood for 'love you' :D Didn't pick up on the pill mechanic, death animation would help you figure out what killed you.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:16pm

It is part of the gameplay that the counter is not visible... you have to count by your self :) I thought I wrote it to the instrzctions :)

Feysoura says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:17pm

There are some collision problems. Other than that, pretty decent game!

BradleySmith says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Love the pixel art style.. the character is neat.

otresnjak says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:22pm

There really should be a time counter. Trying to count to myself while playing the game isn't really fun. Other than that, cool game.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Love the puke-attack, especially coming from this mild-mannered, glasses & turtleneck wearing dude! I couldn't figure out why I was dying sometimes, I thought I was taking my pills?

realtutsgml says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Nice clean cut platformer! Love the puking, Some background music would be nice though. Good Job!

Mandraw says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Really good , it really catch the theme , you really cannot forget the 10 seconds , if you do , it's sure death...
fun to play , the only "problem" is that sound could make it a lot better... maybe after the end of the votes you can make a refined version ?

noom says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Was a bit tough, the lack of the timer complicated things, I kept getting stuck in walls and had a lot of trouble jumping to clear obstacles. The whole "you instantly die" when touching the drips from the ceiling confused me at first, I though I must have missed a pill or something as I never even saw the drips that were killing me! Not a bad game overall, would be cool to see the concept expanded on.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Nice, but I'm never gonna die.

psychomonster says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Hey Jack ^^

Yeah I see that Sound is a big fail at this... but there was no time left to do :.(

My thoughts was, that to count by your self will take some brain capacity, so that simple commands like jump left or puke this enemy will take some more extra brain power ^^

will work at the game after jam... because i want to see it run better ^^

thanks for so much feedback till now :D

Tork says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 11:31pm

I couldn't find out which was the counter, your GUI moves faster than the player.
Loved your art thought.

pedroka says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:00am

Good game. Some bugs, nice graphics, etc...

frankbsad says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:22am

Nice game, but some of the platforming elements felt a bit cheap to me.

Ossi says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:23am

Love the pings as a timer that you have to keep track yourself. Perhaps your character could be a bit shorter, I felt like it clashes with the size of the tiles and the enemies. I like the story you setup for this character as well, great job!

Lissar says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:49am

I really liked the design of the main character, but other artwork was hit or miss. Had some difficulty managing the controls (felt jump was a bit weird, but that may have just been the lack of animation for it?) but maybe it's just me!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 12:59am

I found it tough to remember to press the space bar every 9ish seconds, just as some people who take medications find it difficult to remember to take their pills. Very good mechanic with a very real real-life meaning behind it. Whether you meant it or not, this is a problem a lot of people deal with, and I understand how terrifying it can be if they forget to take their medication on time.

If you wanted to add something to it, I think overdosing could be an interesting mechanic (like if you take it within 6 seconds of your last pill, you collapse for three seconds, or something).

The platforming control was a bit iffy, and I wish there was a bit more variety in the gameplay, but I enjoyed the concept and got my own meaning out of it :)

Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:44am

I couldn't stop playing til I beat it! Pretty fun, simple game. Interesting idea with making the timer invisible.

hbocao says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 2:47am

It took me a while to understand when I was supposed to take the pill and then I loved it. I really didn't like the buttons configurations. :( alt+space it's not a good combination.

murilo says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:02am

Nice pixel art! I got stuck on some walls and couldn't understand why I always died even after grabbing the pills!

Gus says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 3:57am

Didn't beat it, but at least I know the ending by the screenshots
Well, didn't like this one so much, but I found the lack of a timer thing interesting, it gives an unique tension that makes you getting pills not matter what time do you have, this would've been frustrating in a long game, but in this one, it works nice.
Some more animation and sense would help.

LittleThor says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 8:16am

Interesting game but some issues with hitboxes make this game very hard (especialy with yellow-idontknowwhat-drops). Nice character design.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2013 @ 9:04am

Very nice sprite! Too bad it have so little animations.. Love the idea of puking instead of shooting, didn't liked the lack of visual timer and some lifes (i don't want to be killed at first hit with some yellow liquid)

Cool idea, keep going!

Aug 27, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Nice work on the graphics. I liked not knowing how long was left too, made it kind of worrying.

jay griffin says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 1:43am

Cool game. I like the idea of mentally having to keep track of your remaining time. Just a shame you couldn't get more of the planned features implemented in time, maybe you can expand it a little in future. Good job!

ratalaika says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 4:59pm

good job

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Nice game but controls are a bit hard to master.

Aug 29, 2013 @ 12:21am

Nice art!

Aug 29, 2013 @ 6:09am

poor steven.. i mean jack.. it'll be our little secret =).. enjoyed it, even having to count myself =)

psychomonster says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 11:47am

@futuristteletex :D It's no secret... yeah Jack is heavily inspired by the pixelart galerie http://www.andysowards.com/blog/2011/100-8-bit-design-inspiration-%E2%80%93-illustration-pixel-art-web-design-more-retro-nostalgia/ ... but there is no copy and paste... I did it myself ;) with diffrent hair, beard and glases :) Animation too :D

Aug 29, 2013 @ 5:15pm

I'm glad you didn't include a timer, having to track the 10 seconds yourself is a good take on the theme. Makes it challenging.

ddionisio says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:23am

Hehe, charming take on the theme! I like the character design.

It's a good thing he doesn't overdose on those pills! He also seems to have an endless amount of puke, that's quite the symptom!

My only complaint is, as you mentioned, the character getting snagged on walls.

d__adee says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 3:20pm

THIS GAME IS AWESOME!
I like how you not put a counter! I have to count mentally to 8 or 9 before pressing space. Also by counting mentally, the game made me confused with controls. Like pressing space instead of alt, by which I have to count back from one again, before I know it, that slime got me. Have to redo a lot and finally made it to the finish line.

It's nice, I like everything... take all my stars!
:D

psychomonster says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:46pm

@ d__adee :D

Sep 1, 2013 @ 3:00am

Good entry for 48 hours. I don't know why, but the guy reminded me of Steve Jobs :) On a Mac, the alt key caused problems. Should map to another key to avoid stuff like that. Very hard game :) I liked that you could collect pills and choose when to use them.

psychomonster says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 2:05pm

@GeorgeBroussard ohh well the alt key is problematic... i see.. damn. and yeah the main character is definitely based on a 8bit pixelart of steven jobs ... but I created diffrent haistyle, diffrent looking glasses and another beard :D There is a link to the original artwork above --> http://www.andysowards.com/blog/2011/100-8-bit-design-inspiration-%E2%80%93-illustration-pixel-art-web-design-more-retro-nostalgia/

Sep 2, 2013 @ 6:46pm

A bit strange. I dislike how avatar's jump.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 4, 2013 @ 3:44am

great theme -- needed a timer and the controls were hard -- nice effort

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]