August 23rd-26th 2013 :: Theme: 10 Seconds

Ludum Dare 27 — August 23rd-26th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2213 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

10 seconds to Dehydration

by Dissing - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You find yourself in a strange and hot cave
If you do not touch water atleast every 10 second you die
Stay away from the red hot lava pools!
Use your weapon to sling yourself across the map!

Controls:
WASD or arrow keys to move
Space to jump
Aim and shoot with the mouse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#631Theme3.10
#633Innovation2.85
#820Fun2.61
#878Overall2.71
#893Audio1.67
#900Mood2.25
#1135Graphics1.79

Comments

coreym1988 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:36am

I really like the concept. However, the walls seem too jagged to be a lot of fun. I kept getting stuck in them in places I should have had no trouble navigating.

Aug 26, 2013 @ 8:48am

I quite like the idea and the visual aesthetics. Reminds me of Escape From the Underworld. Also, the concept of using your weapon to enhance your movement is nice. There seems to be a lot of substance here - complex levels (with nice layout), checkpoint mechanics, enemy behaviour etc.
However, I found it a little frustrating for several reasons. Firstly, since it runs in window mode, I always kept clicking outside of the window by accident which is highly distracting. Secondly, the collision detection is very unforgiving. And finally - the checkpoint (i.e. water) placement seemed to be pretty fair most of the time, but I got to a point in the second level, where you have to execute this very long jump to the left side, where it was a bit off. I needed around 20 attempts for the jump alone, only to find myself in a situation even harder, so after trying a few more times I gave up eventually.
Anyway, very nice concept and, for the most part, execution. :)

BerdiNerdi says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Very interesting concept :) There's a lot of potential in this game I think, I had fun playing it. The whole dehydration concept works very nicely as a game mechanic, and so does using your own weapon as movement enchancement. Unfortunately, like what ShellfishGames said, it can be frustrating when you accidentally click outside the window since the game is running in windowed mode. All in all though, very nice demonstration of the concept.

Mjiig says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Fantastic concept, well built as well. I ended up quite invested in the game. My only real complaint was that sometimes the shape of the cave walls caught me and led to really annoying deaths where I couldn't get away.

sam1373 says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Fun game, but I couln't get past the long lava pool.

neekobus says ...
Aug 26, 2013 @ 1:29pm

Interesting, but almost unplayable on a laptop !
Can we see the source ?

Dissing says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 6:22am

Ups, forgot it. Source up now.

Twistedsnail says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:33am

Haha that was pretty challenging, it took me a while to figure out you could shoot your clones!

Kragnir says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:43am

Like the concept, the mobs are a bit too avoidable and they seem permanently gone after you kill them. At some places you can jump on walls don't know if that is intentional.

The jump where you have to make one long left jump then jump up and then jump right is much much harder than the rest of the game.

Aug 28, 2013 @ 8:39am

Actually a pretty cool mechanic, and some challenging, varied stretches in there. I played with a touchpad, which I think made it a bit too hard and I got stuck, but it was fun anyway :D

Erifdex says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 7:53pm

One of my favourite games so far - great job! I did not expect the platforming controls to be as tight as they are, and the idea fits perfectly with the theme.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 28, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Really fine use of theme. Thanks for making each water pool a checkpoint also.

Meep says ...
Aug 29, 2013 @ 9:49am

Very nice use of the theme! I honestly didn't expect to get so engage based on seeing the screenshots beforehand. Great work! :)

rincewind_cz says ...
Aug 30, 2013 @ 3:50pm

Reminds me TeeWorlds with Race or DDRace mode just without a rope :-) Controls are nice, movement would be great if the walls didn't 'lag' actually. It's pity that you probably didn't had enough time for more enjoyable graphics/audio. Good job!

Sep 1, 2013 @ 4:51am

Nice effort, but needs more work, currently. Would keep working on it as it's a cool idea. The level was just too hard. Should start with much simpler obstacles.

Arrow-x says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:05pm

like the Idea ... but need a a lot of work

Integershift says ...
Sep 1, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Interesting game really creative idea!

Sep 2, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Interesting concept, but I cannot really put my finger on what was holding it back... Hope to see you expand on it further down the line!

Sep 15, 2013 @ 12:48pm

The controls made this far too hard for me. I gave up when I got to the long lava pool on the second level. Other than that, it's pretty fun and addictive in an "I'm gonna make it through this game if it kills me" way. The graphics are very minimal, but the use of colours is nice. The gravity gun mechanics are well done, but jumping is a bit floaty (which can be good in some circumstances, bad in others).

It's a bit easy to snag on the walls, but then I guess that's realistic for rough stone surfaces. Again, snagging could mean survival at some occasions and death at others.

In short, pretty fun, but frustratingly difficult.

Sep 16, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Good concept, but I also had issues with the control. I also could not record the game and was not able to add it to my LD27 compilation video :/

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]